The Essendon Hamstring

Sorry guys, not all freo supporters are like gentleman jeff. Lets just say the dockers players themselves arent safe from his useless rants. He loves one player, obviously Jeff Farmer - thinks he can do no wrong. Anyway apologies for his posts.

Hopefully my mates hammy is coming along, I know he cant wait to get back into the seniors... Gumby

John Quinn is the best in the business bar none. Why do you think Carlton offered heaps to get him to move. Your ill informed tripe needs to cease.:thumbsd:

He should have gone. This has gone on for too long at our club under his watch. It ruined our year in '06 when Lloyd went down. Last year we had far too many soft tissues. This year we have been crippled with them.

Not good enough.

omg

how bads it look

i mean if u tear it how long will that be?

mcveigh

He'll have scans today, if its a tear and at his age, 4 -5 weeks maybe.

Its gunna be a massive loss. Rounds 1,3 and last night he was really turning it on.

He should have gone. This has gone on for too long at our club under his watch. It ruined our year in '06 when Lloyd went down. Last year we had far too many soft tissues. This year we have been crippled with them.

Not good enough.

Explain to me how its John Quinn's fault that Lloyd tore the hamstring of the bone???

He'll have scans today, if its a tear and at his age, 4 -5 weeks maybe.

Its gunna be a massive loss. Rounds 1,3 and last night he was really turning it on.

Explain to me how its John Quinn's fault that Lloyd tore the hamstring of the bone???
omg 4-5 weeks?

hes been our gun player for the past few weeks

and by the way can anyone confirm that this was a tear?

i cant confirm it, but he couldnt even walk so i guess he has tore it. at least lonergan limped off. i dont think it looks good for McVeigh:confused:

yeh lookin on the tele. mcveigh looked worst. but yeh they will prob both miss 4. mcveigh would of had some more brownlow votes to. was havin a awesome year

Re: Mcveigh has done a hammy !

Bit precious to red card someone over that isn't it? People have said worse about Freo players before, especially Farmer. It was said in a bit of a goading way I guess..... but yeah, injuries whether we like them or not are interesting to watch... especially going by the replays of the better ones (N Brown, MCguire, Cousins, etc).

I'm not having a go at you in any way, shape or form, but some certain club's mods have infracured me for basically just having a bit of fun with other club's supporters in their board, giving them no abuse or anything...
If other club's mods wanna crack down on a bit of fun & rivalry, which they do, I've got no problem with Merv doing what he did at all...:thumbsu:

You really believe you read everything that is posted on this forum? Not just this Essendon subsection? I've seen every teams supporters at some stage wish some badness to Freo players, I don't take it to heart, and from what I've seen they don't seem to get banned.

In fact I take pleasure that the crowleys or farmers of our team can make other supporters so mad (like maybe you should feel about McVeigh, as I don't like him either, always seems to go too far and get away with it in the games against us).

I just think maybe this could have been handled a bit better, maybe just leave it at hurling insults at him as he deserved some retalliation no doubt, I just think a ban is too far. Though I'm not sure if a red card is a ban or not... The mods pretty much can do whatever they want so you just go with their decisions, but yeah my opinion about how it was handled has been stated.

I'm not having a go at you in any way, shape or form, but some certain club's mods have infracured me for basically just having a bit of fun with other club's supporters in their board, giving them no abuse or anything...
If other club's mods wanna crack down on a bit of fun & rivalry, which they do, I've got no problem with Merv doing what he did at all...:thumbsu:

I agree with GreaT SourcE as in some people around here receive infractures for what appears minor and while I fully understand the need for a process to be in place I suspect some people take things a little too seriously.

I think it's unacceptable for anyone to want someone to obtain an injury just as you should not be making comments that are sexist or rascist in nature therefore a boundary does need to be drawn.

Regarding Fremantle, I will admit I don't normally visit club boards and sure I've read nasty comments about certain players from time to time but I don't recall any Essendon person wanting a Fremantle player to get injuried.

Anyway if someone wants to come to the Essendon board and dish us I'm sure we can more than dish back

rotations off bench main factor for hammys.

while i reckon matty knights is doing a good job in a lot of areas.one thing that really irks me and i know a few other fans is the continued interchages going on. it seems that our midfielders only get 4 mins at the most to have a run and then come off the ground for 3 mins then back on for another 4.
i will give you a example from last night.
winders 1st quarter off at 7min mark,back on at 11min,back off at 17 min,back on 23min.
davey in the 3rd quart. on for 7 mins off for 2 mins then back on for 4 mins off for 2 mins.
i reckon this is contributing to our unbelievable amount of hammys (6 at least count) mcveigh,jetta,winders,dempsey,lonergan,gumbleton, thats 5 midfielders.

Re: rotations off bench main factor for hammys.

while i reckon matty knights is doing a good job in a lot of areas.one thing that really irks me and i know a few other fans is the continued interchages going on. it seems that our midfielders only get 4 mins at the most to have a run and then come off the ground for 3 mins then back on for another 4.
winders 1st quarter off at 7min mark,back on at 11min,back off at 17 min,back on 23min.
davey in the 3rd quart. on for 7 mins off for 2 mins then back on for 4 mins off for 2 mins.
i reckon this is contributing to our unbelievable amount of hammys (6 at least count) mcveigh,jetta,winders,dempsey,lonergan,gumbleton, thats 5 midfielders.

why was this thread moved???????????????????????

It is beyond exasperation now. Something has to be done. I was absolutely shattered when I found out there was another two hamstrings torn yesterday. Was at the game and had no idea either was injured. Didnt even register that the dominant McVeigh was nowhere to be seen in that last term. Just thought we'd used to much energy in the 3rd term. Was a good explanation as to why we were completely run off our legs. Knowing that injuries are severely jeapordising our chances of making the 8 hurts oh so much. We are being robbed of any chance to fight for the top 8:(. Footy gods have not been smiling on us this year it seems. Only consolation is that the majority will all be back within a month, but it seems that every game there are new players ripping their hammies which is extremely frustrating. Absolutely devastated:(:(:(:(

Re: Mcveigh has done a hammy !

Look mate I think we can be mature enough to move beyond the Fremantle v Essendon insults.

This thread is about McVeigh, his arrogance, and his hamstring (which is now snapped in half).

Thanks for the heads up re the timing of the injury. I am gonna enjoy this.
Enjoying a players injury? You've obviously had some troubled moments in life and for whatever they were I apologise on behalf of the perpatrator:thumbsd:

Has not been a problem for the Hawks. Clarkson was roasted a fair bit early on for his continual interchange but it works like a well oiled machine now.
I dont think the interchange is the problem and those who are complaining about the interchange it takes time for the player to get used to it so dont expect miracles by round 4 ;)

Has not been a problem for the Hawks. Clarkson was roasted a fair bit early on for his continual interchange but it works like a well oiled machine now.
I dont think the interchange is the problem and those who are complaining about the interchange it takes time for the player to get used to it so dont expect miracles by round 4 ;)

Working well for Collingwood too- one interchange every minute of the game.

Anyway back to the soft tissue problems. I have defended Quinn in the past as i belive a lot of the injuries have simply been a part of footy and we have not been a lot worse than other clubs at various stages.
There is a problem that needs to be looked at as Knights mentioned. They are in the second year of a more intense fitness program which is likely to be causing problems for a few players. From memory Adelaide suffered the same problem for the first couple of year under Neil Craig.
As far as the players currently injured go you should be looking at them individually rather than a group with the same injury.
Winderlich and Lonergan have lower back problems that casue their soft tissue problems. For these two it is extremely hard to get the ballance right as the simplest wrong movement or twist can cause thightness in the groin and hammy as well as the lower back.
Welsh has had hammy tightness on and off ever since we have increased the training workload. he is a case where they have to try and do something different as his body obviously can not handle the work load.
Dempsey has suffered from the problem since he has been on our list. I suspect that he may well be a player that is prone to hammy injuries. It can happen and does at many clubs.
Gumbleton is a concern. He should not be getting repeat injuries like he does. I do wonder about if he had of come off at training when he first felt tightness and not continued on and suffered the first severe strain that he did. Maybe if he had ony suffered a minor strain then he might not be having the problems he is having now. He laso suffered a bit of knee soreness early on which can lead to hammy problems.
Myers is a bit early to say but it is not ideal and question do need to be asked why it has happened to him. At least he has been smart enough to stop training when he has felt tightness and has not had a full blown hammy.
McVeigh, well i think his may well be just bad luck. He is close to the best prepared player at the club. He has never had a history of problems.

I heard Huddo make a comment on SEN about us using the footies more in pre season and that is what is causing the problem but you can discount is straight away as having whitnessed most of the last 4 pre seasons i can tell you that the amount of ball work did not vary a hell of a lot. The main difference was the was more effort put into skills rather than just kicking the ball around all over the place.

Yes we do appear to have a problem. Personally i have a couple of question marks over some aspects of our weights program and also about some stories i have heard about our doctors and physio's not always being open to outside ideas. I also have some concerns about the efforts our players put into their preperation at times as i have seen Quinn roasting a few of the players for not doing the correct stretching and warmups before certain training sessions over the last 4 years.
I suspect their are a number of things contributing to what the real problem is and i dont think aiming sole responsabilties on Quinn is the answer as i dont think it is the fitness program alone that is causing the problem.

Anyway back to the soft tissue problems. I have defended Quinn in the past as i belive a lot of the injuries have simply been a part of footy and we have not been a lot worse than other clubs at various stages.
There is a problem that needs to be looked at as Knights mentioned. They are in the second year of a more intense fitness program which is likely to be causing problems for a few players. From memory Adelaide suffered the same problem for the first couple of year under Neil Craig.
As far as the players currently injured go you should be looking at them individually rather than a group with the same injury.
Winderlich and Lonergan have lower back problems that casue their soft tissue problems. For these two it is extremely hard to get the ballance right as the simplest wrong movement or twist can cause thightness in the groin and hammy as well as the lower back.
Welsh has had hammy tightness on and off ever since we have increased the training workload. he is a case where they have to try and do something different as his body obviously can not handle the work load.
Dempsey has suffered from the problem since he has been on our list. I suspect that he may well be a player that is prone to hammy injuries. It can happen and does at many clubs.
Gumbleton is a concern. He should not be getting repeat injuries like he does. I do wonder about if he had of come off at training when he first felt tightness and not continued on and suffered the first severe strain that he did. Maybe if he had ony suffered a minor strain then he might not be having the problems he is having now. He laso suffered a bit of knee soreness early on which can lead to hammy problems.
Myers is a bit early to say but it is not ideal and question do need to be asked why it has happened to him. At least he has been smart enough to stop training when he has felt tightness and has not had a full blown hammy.
McVeigh, well i think his may well be just bad luck. He is close to the best prepared player at the club. He has never had a history of problems.

I heard Huddo make a comment on SEN about us using the footies more in pre season and that is what is causing the problem but you can discount is straight away as having whitnessed most of the last 4 pre seasons i can tell you that the amount of ball work did not vary a hell of a lot. The main difference was the was more effort put into skills rather than just kicking the ball around all over the place.

Yes we do appear to have a problem. Personally i have a couple of question marks over some aspects of our weights program and also about some stories i have heard about our doctors and physio's not always being open to outside ideas. I also have some concerns about the efforts our players put into their preperation at times as i have seen Quinn roasting a few of the players for not doing the correct stretching and warmups before certain training sessions over the last 4 years.
I suspect their are a number of things contributing to what the real problem is and i dont think aiming sole responsabilties on Quinn is the answer as i dont think it is the fitness program alone that is causing the problem.

Well put Ant robus. In brief, there is always room for improvement, and there are complexities in our injuries that EFC may or may not be dealing with correctly.

Are you calling our old physios and medicos pig headed and inflexible , or the new ones ?

And then there's the calf and groin injuries.

And don't forget that over the past 6-7 years all these players have had issues with soft tissue - Hird, Lloyd, Rioli, Rama, Mercuri, Alessio, Soloman, Cole, Hocking, McPhee, Cupido + a few more.

It's total crap to claim its that just a game style thing. It's been happening for a long long time.

The difference between coming first and second in this game is injuries. We should double the budget on injury management tomorrow morning and get consultants and outside help to come in, review and make suggestions.

In The Age this morning, Peter Brukner put our injuries down to a combination of bad luck and a lack of time to condition players for the new game style. I'm willing to subscribe to this theory.

Sam Lonergan would never have played football at this intensity, and with the nature of the game today, he's had to step in to a big role within our midfield rotations. In the past, even last year, young players were eased into the rotations far more. Leroy Jetta and Courtenay Dempsey, no matter how much pre-season training, are now filling roles far and beyond those that they've ever filled before as well.

It's unclear whether or not those 19-20 year old bodies were ever going to be ready to step into roles with such enormous fitness demands. With so much more extra stress, sensitives muscles like hamstrings and groins are going to be affected.

The Gumbleton and McVeigh injuries I'm willing to put down to bad luck. I'll believe the coaching staff that Gumby was right to go, and as sometimes happens with 19 year old kids, they leap for a ball and it simply goes. They had tapered his training load all pre-season, and it wasn't through excessive work rate in the match. In addition to this, I don't subscribe to the theory that it was a 'flow on' from other injuries, as if I recall correctly, the hamstring, or at least the part of the hamstring, hadn't been torn before. I believe the McVeigh injury was one of those that just happen.

As for David Myers, I think it's a flow on effect from last year. The amount of football that young guys play in their penultimate year of junior football is insane, beyond the amount that AFL players play. The amount of rest a lot of those guys get is minimal, as they constantly strive to catch the eye of recruiters. It's not that uncommon for first year players to have injury concerns such as David's. I wouldn't have said the club rushed him, and the time he's spent out in recent weeks seems to have been precautionary.

The injuries to Andrew Welsh, Matthew Lloyd, Adam McPhee and Heath Hocking are the most disappointing to me. These were guys that weren't managing the training load, and yet were still playing and training at a level incurring stress on their bodies. Lloyd and McPhee were raked in before it was too late, but Welsh and Hocking fell through the cracks and have each suffered in the early part of the season because of this.

In The Age this morning, Peter Brukner put our injuries down to a combination of bad luck and a lack of time to condition players for the new game style. I'm willing to subscribe to this theory.

I think the theory is a load of crap. Maybe Brukner should do a little more research over the past few years. I reckon he's forming an opinion only on current events.

Here's players drafted over the past 3 years with soft tissue problems:

2005 - Dempsey, Neagle, Lonergan
2006 - Gumbleton, Jetta
2007 - Myers

If you compare that to other kids that have been drafted then I think we fair poorly.

2005 - Murphy, Thomas, Pendlebury, Higgins, Jones, Hurn, Birchall, etc, etc
2006 - Gibbs, Luey, Hansen, Boak, Selwood, etc, etc
2007 - Kruezer, Masten, Morton, Palmer, Rioli, Ebert

All these guys have been on the park a lot longer than our players.

If you look at our 2005 draft we've had barely any input from them as they've always been injured. FFS its their third year.

I think the theory is a load of crap. Maybe Brukner should do a little more research over the past few years. I reckon he's forming an opinion only on current events.

Here's players drafted over the past 3 years with soft tissue problems:

2005 - Dempsey, Neagle, Lonergan
2006 - Gumbleton, Jetta
2007 - Myers

If you compare that to other kids that have been drafted then I think we fair poorly.

2005 - Murphy, Thomas, Pendlebury, Higgins, Jones, Hurn, Birchall, etc, etc
2006 - Gibbs, Luey, Hansen, Boak, Selwood, etc, etc
2007 - Kruezer, Masten, Morton, Palmer, Rioli, Ebert

All these guys have been on the park a lot longer than our players.

If you look at our 2005 draft we've had barely any input from them as they've always been injured. FFS its their third year.

This post speaks volumes about the track record of the Medical staff, based on performance alone changes are needed.