Corrosion

Arsenal, Barnsley
I've been a loyal Carlton fan, since I was 3 (1990), but I've been really disappointed this season. The same thing keeps happening. We always come close, but due to our poor kicking skills, and poor accuracy, we always come out on the losing side. Yeah, you can throw the cliche's around, such as...we are being competitive.

However, I don't care about our competitiveness. It's not getting results. I just don't care about our competitiveness if we keep falling short, it's heartbreaking. We could easily be 4-1, instead of 1-4, but we deserve to be 1-4. It's just so frustrating. We are better than this, yet, we can't achieve anything, our disposal and accuracy are absolutely killing us.

Collingwood next week. We must win, but I don't have high hopes. Too many close losses are going to have a profound affect on the boys. It's really, really frustrating.

Brace yourself for our 3rd spoon ...if we can't beat a Ricmond rabble like was on the park tonight , then who will we beat ????? far too many passengers and our skill levels are non existent ...if we had of played a half decent side we would have lost by over 100 points

no chance of beating the Pies next week

The skills are poor as is the DECISION MAKING. And you wanna know something, I'm blaming that on the coach. Pagan's set play is freaking the kids out and they can't play their natural game. ALSO, he's not utilising their lack of skills, nor the players who are more skilled better.

THORNTON is terrible. We must face that. SCOLTAND and HOULA have TERRIBLE disposal. SIMPSON freaks out whenever he gets the ball, and don't start me with DELUCA.

I f***ing hate football. I had an assignment, a test and two radio shows to do this week and I got through it all with the anticipation of tonight.

Insipid effort. Disgraceful umpiring. Terrible Skills.

A few thoughts on players...

Koutoufides: He's done... He really is. 29 touches that mostly meant nothing.
Whitnall: Why'd he go back?
Simpson: Wow is the back half not his position.
Russell: Set new standards... in time on ground/free kicks against ratio.
Carrazzo: Pretty good, he usually is.
Waite: Lairising.
Fevola: 2.4... :thumbsd:
French: Not a big fan of playing in front tonight
Scotland: He screwed up anything meaningful.
Stevens: All the impact of a feather duster.
Walker: Best on Ground for Blues.
Thornton: Gee those hissy fits are getting old.
Bannister: Kick a bit flatter son.
McLaren: Good defensive game
Fisher: Didn't know he was playing until the last quarter.
Betts: Is getting a bit tired doing all the chasing
Houlihan: good game again. Slick hands.
Lappin: Good early missing when it counted.
Murphy: Struggled a bit with the pace at time but did alright.
Deluca: Well atleast we can drop him now...
Saddington: Unsighted really.

ShlomoGlickstein said:
The skills are poor as is the DECISION MAKING. And you wanna know something, I'm blaming that on the coach. Pagan's set play is freaking the kids out and they can't play their natural game. ALSO, he's not utilising their lack of skills, nor the players who are more skilled better.

THORNTON is terrible. We must face that. SCOLTAND and HOULA have TERRIBLE disposal. SIMPSON freaks out whenever he gets the ball, and don't start me with DELUCA.
WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM WITH HOULA! Get over yourself, he's playing good football and has been right up in our best this season, give him some credit.
(yeh, I'm angry we lost).

I agree about it being frustraitng but i think you guys are bieng a bit harsh......just a little more patience, there are lots of good signs, namely 1AW, murph and Simpson (good tonight in a role he shouldn't be playing). Houlihan deserves a lot of credit for the iprovement he has shown over last year. All we really need is a top key defender and somebody with Luke Hodge composure and ball winning ability down back and then a midfield of Murph, Simpson and 1AW with bentick in and under would be an exciting prospect. I agree that Betts got lead to the ball far too often and some of our senior guys weren't damaging enough when it mattered. It isn't going to happen overnight, the signs are mostly good.....unfortunatley/forttunately it looks like we will be set for another injection of talent in this years draft and next year we could win 10-12 games next year.... one more year isn't too much to ask.

Gilly1972 said:
I agree about it being frustraitng but i think you guys are bieng a bit harsh......just a little more patience, there are lots of good signs, namely 1AW, murph and Simpson (good tonight in a role he shouldn't be playing). Houlihan deserves a lot of credit for the iprovement he has shown over last year. All we really need is a top key defender and somebody with Luke Hodge composure and ball winning ability down back and then a midfield of Murph, Simpson and 1AW with bentick in and under would be an exciting prospect. I agree that Betts got lead to the ball far too often and some of our senior guys weren't damaging enough when it mattered. It isn't going to happen overnight, the signs are mostly good.....unfortunatley/forttunately it looks like we will be set for another injection of talent in this years draft and next year we could win 10-12 games next year.... one more year isn't too much to ask.

Flatmate is asleep so it's the only way to vent my frustration ;) Tough night.

my only consolation was watching 1AW and murph run around....it's nice to have some footballers to get exxcited about watching, and it was nice to see 1AW freed up to play a more attacking role.....i really don't see what people are talking about his kicking, bar one or two poor kicks his disposal running at full pace looks pretty good to me.

Gilly1972 said:
vent away, i've run out of grog and hit the $8 Penfolds Club Port :thumbsd:
What year's that 2008?

On the upside, I reckon we're an even money bet to get Lachlan Hansen, Mitch Thorp or Riewoldt.

We've got a heap of guys who are going to get better. The most frustrating bit is our senior guys leaving the real work to the kids.

ha ha all you bloody experts. get over yourselves,you rap up players and then shoot them down. look at the coaching staff, then you will see where the problems lie.mitchell does not deal well with the young ones, not enough faith in them have alook at what he has done with smith,jackson,batson etc its a joke,playing them in the twos,at what benifit is it to anyone. smith will get his forty possys get back inthe ones, and then spend half the game on the bench.bloody pathetic as far as develop[ment goes, no wonder when the young ones go up a level, they struggle. wake up pagan and co. give them a fair go and they might just respond. too manysofties playing in the one team,its total bull

it's actually a 2003 vintage club port as i hadn't reached the depths of desperation and existential angst to lower myself to drink it until now :eek:

Hansen and Collard running around with the likes of Murphy, Bower and 1AW in a couple of years might almost be enough consolation.....almost. wins, still want wins.

good work kick, intelligent well thought out, eloquent response, can you say i m b e c i l e ??

kickgoals said:
ha ha all you bloody experts. get over yourselves,you rap up players and then shoot them down. look at the coaching staff, then you will see where the problems lie.mitchell does not deal well with the young ones, not enough faith in them have alook at what he has done with smith,jackson,batson etc its a joke,playing them in the twos,at what benifit is it to anyone. smith will get his forty possys get back inthe ones, and then spend half the game on the bench.bloody pathetic as far as develop[ment goes, no wonder when the young ones go up a level, they struggle. wake up pagan and co. give them a fair go and they might just respond. too manysofties playing in the one team,its total bull

dont believe i bagged a single player..(could have)

cause on the bombers board....................

TheBlueblood said:
Walkers prob in the top 5 in our b&f..

once again outcoached!!

simmo should never be in the back 50?????????
Pagan time to go mate.

Pagan seems to like having his quick dasher across half back....problem at the moment is that Russell hasn't quite developed enough yet to play that role.....can see how much more valuable 1AW is when he is freed up to play an attacking midfield role, but now he seems to have thrown simpson back there instead...i have to give him a lot of credit though, some of those dashes along the wing tonight were great. Walker and simpson need to both play on the wing and just have a license to take on blokes and run and deliver the ball quickly into the fwd50

kickgoals said:

What valuable insight.

If only you could get a handle on the english language, then I'd know what you're talking about.

You've actually got some good points in there... I think.

OZBomb said:
Walker: Best on Ground for Blues.
Lappin: Good early missing when it counted.

These two guys were your worst user's of the ball. Lappin was simply lazy with his disposal, out of bounds on the full, shank after shank, missed targets.

Walker overkicked just about every single lead the whole night. Yeah, he got a bit of it on the half back line, kicked one good goal and had a trot, but so did Joel Bowden and he was utterly disgraceful (towled by Lance and should have been towled by Waite).

ShlomoGlickstein said:
Seriously, Houla would be more valuable if he kicked a goal or two every second game.

It wouldn't hurt.

But he's our cleanest user of the football and he's generally feeding our half forwards as a defensive midfielder this year

Collingwoodrow said:
These two guys were your worst user's of the ball. Lappin was simply lazy with his disposal, out of bounds on the full, shank after shank, missed targets.

Walker overkicked just about every single lead the whole night. Yeah, he got a bit of it on the half back line, kicked one good goal and had a trot, but so did Joel Bowden and he was utterly disgraceful (towled by Lance and should have been towled by Waite).

Ya reckon he was rapped when lance got moved (???????????????????????????????????????????????) and then Waite couldnt get a grip on the pill hehe

great coaching once again...pagan MUST GO

i must be watching a different walker to most, his disposal looks fine to me....he seems to cop a lot of unfair criticism IMO, i dont remember him overkicking a lot of targets...i do recall him doing that once, but it is easier to pick out these instances rather than the good ones.....the goal he slotted on the run from the right forward pocket hasn't been mentioned for example

kickgoals said:

Pagan was thoroughly out coached.

Last week, we had no-one in our forward line so he comes up with a master stroke and slots Fisher in the backline. Thats they way to win confuse them about which end their meant to be kicking to.

This week its put the fattest bloke in league footy on the fittest full forward in the league. Way to go mate. Fully sick.

Put kade in the back line to help him out.

How about this Pagan stop being such a total wimp and have a crack. So our back line is utter crap and yes there are OCCASIONS when Lance works well in the back. But its not an automatic response. As soon as the other team goes anywhere near the backline you crap yourself and send Lance down there like he's Peter Dean, Southby, SOS or Macca. Get over it he is not an athlete. if our back line is 60/100 and sending Lance down there makes it 65/100 whats the point. If our forward line is operating at 110% with Lance running amok a centre half forward with kouta feed it to fev, waite, fish etc all the midfield have to do is get it forward and something is going to happen.

Stop constantly flooding, have some faith in the younger kids, and let Lance go forward.

Oh yeah, and about time you started making the senior group accountable. I want to hear you say their names in public.

You've been a good coach in the past pagan but boy have you turned soft.

End of rant.

Collingwoodrow said:

It was a rubbish game all 'round as far as disposal. If I made a note of that, it'd be on each player almost.