BrizzyBlue

Chelsea
Beyond question, very exciting! ;)

We currently have a total of 43 players in all categories on our list. I suspect that as many as a dozen won’t be at Princes Park in 2008 or 2009 at the worst. A big call you might initially think, however if we are gunna be a top 4 side and a challenger for that elusive 17th flag, then the realities are that the next 2 trading/draft periods are crucial to our ongoing list consolidation.

We all know the quality of our recent draft picks and the difference it has made around the place. We also know that the only thing needed now is time and experience and a bit more depth. If we are patient, there is no doubt that we can surprise the competition by grabbing at least one flag before some of the more fancied Victorian clubs do.

I think that very few of the following list of players will be with us when we do go all the way. Some will go at the end of this season whilst a couple of others may last an extra year or so:

Raso
Young
Koutoufides
Teague
Bannister
Lappin
Saddington
McLaren
Whitnall

That leaves 34 players of the current list to fight for spots. In my view there are another 9 who I think provide depth and might step up to become regulars in the seniors. Some exciting kids on this list:

Hampson...Ruckman - Forward
Anderson...Defender
Benjamin...Midfielder
Flint...Defender
Austin...Defender
Jackson (RL)...Midfielder
A O'hAilpin (RL)...Ruckman - Forward
Jacobs (RL)...Ruckman
Jamieson (RL)...Defender

Now finally to the 25 whom I expect to form the nucleus of this years’ team (without the veterans):

FBacks:....Scotland...S O'hAilpin...Thornton
HBacks:...Walker......Waite...........Bower
Centres:...Simpson...Stevens........Russell
HForws:...Houlihan...Kennedy.......Hartlett
FForws:....Betts.........Fevola..........Fisher
Follows:...Cloke........Bentick.........Murphy
Interch:...Ackland..Carrazzo..Gibbs..Grigg
Emerg:....Blackwell...Edwards.....Wiggins

If that don’t get ya excited, well nothing will.

Onward and upward the mighty Blue Baggers! :cool:

Last year I would've said Blackwell ahead of Russell but Russell has been super impressive playing as a tagger during the NAB cup and we need a player who can take on the oppositions best and keep them quiet.

Whitnall has three or four years in him. I'm not sure if he'll be around for the next premiership, we'll have to wait and see.

Russell will play most, if not all games for us this year.

Blackwell should be in the 22, for sure.

Gibbs won't start on the field immediately.

I agree, Gibbs will come off the bench as an impact player for us this year...

Russell will play a good chunk of the year

All in all, we have possibly the most exciting blend of youth and experience of all the clubs and it is looking good for us.

Other than Russell, Hartlett and Cloke I think you have done a great job.. The test for Cloke is consistent good performances. Russell just lacks something (I cant pin point it yet). Hartlett is a bit of a smokey, but leg speed looks to be a huge concern.

Beyond question, very exciting! ;)

We currently have a total of 43 players in all categories on our list. I suspect that as many as a dozen won’t be at Princes Park in 2008 or 2009 at the worst.

I believe you're turn over will be larger than that, The hawks were in the same position u are in now a few yearsago. We've gone from the oldest list to the youngest list in two years.

If we are patient, there is no doubt that we can surprise the competition by grabbing at least one flag before some of the more fancied Victorian clubs do.

Yep lot's of patiences, i believe whilst carlton are lower than the roos and bombers in terms of last years ladder. I reckon you guys are in much more sound shape to grab a premiership in the near future, compare to those two teams i mentioned.

I think that very few of the following list of players will be with us when we do go all the way. Some will go at the end of this season whilst a couple of others may last an extra year or so:

Raso = To soon to tell, i havent seen enough of him.
Young = Barely heard of him
Koutoufides = Seriously doubt he will see the blues next premiership (injuries are killing him) retire soon!
Teague = Servicable deefender for years to come
Bannister = Fringe player, belive other youngster will take his place
Lappin = wont see the blues next premiership
Saddington = Will be a great steal for the blues. i rate him as a chb.
McLaren = Nothing but a back up ruckman, reckon carlton will replace him soon with a young ruckman from an up coming draft.
Whitnall = Too darn lazy, could really kill a full back if he got fit and attacked the footy.

That leaves 34 players of the current list to fight for spots. In my view there are another 9 who I think provide depth and might step up to become regulars in the seniors. Some exciting kids on this list:

Hampson...Ruckman - Forward
Anderson...Defender
Benjamin...Midfielder
Flint...Defender
Austin...Defender
Jackson (RL)...Midfielder
A O'hAilpin (RL)...Ruckman - Forward
Jacobs (RL)...Ruckman
Jamieson (RL)...Defender

Now finally to the 25 whom I expect to form the nucleus of this years’ team (without the veterans):

FBacks:....Scotland...S O'hAilpin...Thornton
HBacks:...Walker......Waite...........Bower
Centres:...Simpson...Stevens........Russell
HForws:...Houlihan...Kennedy.......Hartlett
FForws:....Betts.........Fevola..........Fisher
Follows:...Cloke........Bentick.........Murphy
Interch:...Ackland..Carrazzo..Gibbs..Grigg
Emerg:....Blackwell...Edwards.....Wiggins

If that don’t get ya excited, well nothing will.

Onward and upward the mighty Blue Baggers! :cool:

As an opposition supporter veiw only, this is who i believe will carry carlton to the next flag!

Ackland = no.1 ruckman, Has done impressive things on the footy feild under the blues.

Betts = Goal sneak unreal little goal sneek. Reckon in season to come will swap in to the midfeild to give relief for 10 minutes or so.

Cloke = reckon he will devlope into a ruckman / defender. Don't believe he got a chance to show his skills.

Fevola = The leader of you're forward line, if he is standing tall so is the rest of the forwards.

Fisher = Ive seen him play a few times and just wait until the man can play a full season. Think he has the special nack of being able to play any where on the ground.

Gibbs = one i wish the hawks had of got, future of you're midfeild and an abslote weapon of mass destruction!

Houlihan = servacable, has the knack of poping up in big games and nailing the important goal.

Kennedy = he absolutley killed my team the hawks, one of the reason you lot beat us. Just runs and runs to recieve the ball. Link up chf, your forward line will be build around this man!

Murphy = what a gun and what a steal from brisbane. well done, bout time they got a bit of their own medicine back!

Russell = under rated midfeilder, killed the hawkas.

Saddington -= reliable rebounding chb

Stevens = would of been who i choose as captain for the blues

Walker = Tallented, just unlucky had complete focus on him until the other start recruit turn up. Now the pressures of think we'll see him shine.

I think you blues have a hell of a lot to look forward to, reckon 2009 will be when you's become a real danger! Good luck guys hope to see you in a tremendous gran final (hawks vs blues) in the near future

Not yet they aren't, however you do want to start giving them opportunities starting next year... especially Aisake.

Last Sunday Hampson certainly showed a lot more then DMac already. The only question would be whether his body could absorb the punishment of playing against your Sandilands and Cox's at the top level.

McLaren was pretty poor on Sunday, and would be lucky to get a game this year, even if Cloke or Ackland did get injured.

I'm just not sure he is up to playing footy at the highest level.

This has to be the year for a number of players though. Guys like Walker, Fisher, Waite, Bentiick, Simpson, Russell, Carazzo simply cannot rely on being young and erratic- these guys MUST PERFORM, EACH AND EVERY WEEK. They simply do not have the excuse of age or experience anymore. That is why a wooden spoon would be the worst thing that could happen, because it would surely mean that at least half of those players simply arent up to it, and must be delisted.

you can take walker and simpson off your list mate.

Russell! Are you kidding!?! This is the problem with some Carlton supporters at the moment. We've got a heap of young blokes, so you're right in that we need them to stand up if we're to go places. But if a 20yo kid who's shown a bit and played what, only 11 games I think, were playing for the Eagles, Swans, Crows etc, do you think their supporters would be writing crap like this. FFS give the boy time to find his feet before talking about delisting him if he doesn't perform EVERY WEEK. Let's wait until he's 22 to see what he's got and if he doesn't cut it by then, I'll start listening.

Got another year on his contract after this one anyway, so he's going nowhere.

you can take walker and simpson off your list mate.
Walker and Simpson should be on that list. Walker still has poor disposal which is unacceptable at this level of football, and needs to find a more useful role rather than the tagging role he has now. Simpson too has been at the club for long enough and while last year was a significant step up, if that is his best, then I would be worried. Both players needs to take the game by the scruff of the neck this year.

Russell! Are you kidding!?! This is the problem with some Carlton supporters at the moment. We've got a heap of young blokes, so you're right in that we need them to stand up if we're to go places. But if a 20yo kid who's shown a bit and played what, only 11 games I think, were playing for the Eagles, Swans, Crows etc, do you think their supporters would be writing crap like this. FFS give the boy time to find his feet before talking about delisting him if he doesn't perform EVERY WEEK. Let's wait until he's 22 to see what he's got and if he doesn't cut by then, I'll start listening.

Got another year on his contract after this one anyway, so he's going nowhere.
Thats where you are wrong. Last year, in the games he did play, he showed us nothing. Different standards for different folks I suppose, but Russell is another that has two full, injury free years under his belt and needs to start increasing his output. If he was playing at one of the clubs you mention there would be reason for him to necessarily be in the side- they are aiming for a flag, not to blood youngsters. If he cant at least make the side ahead of players two or three years his junior, he is simply no good. Sure, I may be a little harsh, and I am definitely one of those ones that see Russell as a bit of a wasted pick, but what I am basically saying is that he can no longer hide in the VFL with mediocre performances there and expect to remain on the list past next year. This year and next year. If he doesnt significantly improve and become a regular senior player with some sort of regular output, he should be gone.

Call it being burnt by having players like Sporn and Prendergast sticking around far too long, but I expect this team to improve THIS YEAR, not next year or the year after as some people are suggesting.

Walker and Simpson should be on that list. Walker still has poor disposal which is unacceptable at this level of football, and needs to find a more useful role rather than the tagging role he has now (1). Simpson too has been at the club for long enough and while last year was a significant step up, if that is his best, then I would be worried (2). Both players needs to take the game by the scruff of the neck this year.

Thats where you are wrong. Last year, in the games he did play, he showed us nothing. Different standards for different folks I suppose, but Russell is another that has two full, injury free years under his belt and needs to start increasing his output. If he was playing at one of the clubs you mention there would be reason for him to necessarily be in the side- they are aiming for a flag, not to blood youngsters. If he cant at least make the side ahead of players two or three years his junior, he is simply no good. Sure, I may be a little harsh, and I am definitely one of those ones that see Russell as a bit of a wasted pick, but what I am basically saying is that he can no longer hide in the VFL with mediocre performances there and expect to remain on the list past next year. This year and next year. If he doesnt significantly improve and become a regular senior player with some sort of regular output, he should be gone.

Call it being burnt by having players like Sporn and Prendergast sticking around far too long, but I expect this team to improve THIS YEAR, not next year or the year after as some people are suggesting.

(1) Mate, he can only play the role he is given week in week out. By the way, did you see his game on Hird the other week. He plays this role for us with aplomb

(2) What a bizarre take on Simmo, i think you will be in the vast minority here

As for the Jordan Russell diatribe, all i can say is thank god you aren't in charge of player development....all blokes progress at the same rate do they :rolleyes: According to that argument I would have cut Ratten back in the day.

Sometimes i think the knockers really need to sit down, take a deep breath and re-read through their posts. :thumbsd:

(1) Mate, he can only play the role he is given week in week out. By the way, did you see his game on Hird the other week. He plays this role for us with aplomb
Okay, lets start with Walker. Sure, he can only play the role is given, but if he is given that role becasue his disposal is shocking, thats no-one fault but his. HE needs to work on that. And sure, he plays the role well, no question, but taggers dont win you games, or flags.

(2) What a bizarre take on Simmo, i think you will be in the vast minority here
What? He averaged 19 disposals, and while that is solid, it by no means reflects the level of talent Kade has. And considering he, and I use this term very tentatively because I really rate Kade, picked most of those possessions up in a relatively cheap manner, I think it would be fair to expect much greater output from Simpson in the years to come.

As for the Jordan Russell diatribe, all i can say is thank god you aren't in charge of player development....all blokes progress at the same rate do they :rolleyes: According to that argument I would have cut Ratten back in the day.
I really dont understand people steadfast defence of Russell. Sure he was taken at pick 9, sure he has talent, yadda yadda. We know. But at least, he doesnt even look CLOSE to being a week in-week out AFL player. He doesnt even look comfortable in the VFL, and that is a real worry. If he had been injured, like Hartlett, I could at least understand, but he hasnt, and hast even come close to it. All I am saying, is that considering he has shown very little thus far, he needs to start showing something this year, given all the opportunities he has been presented with.

Ratten is a very poor analogy. Ratten was always willing to work hard at his game and become the champion he was later as a result. I just dont see that in Russell, and I think he absolutely needs to learn some hard yakka this year.

Sometimes i think the knockers really need to sit down, take a deep breath and re-read through their posts. :thumbsd:

I know exactly what I am saying, this comment is just stupid. You may be willing to give these boys excuse after excuse to play well once a month, but I just dont tolerate third and fourth year players with that kind of attitude.:thumbsd:

Thats where you are wrong. Last year, in the games he did play, he showed us nothing. Different standards for different folks I suppose, but Russell is another that has two full, injury free years under his belt and needs to start increasing his output. If he was playing at one of the clubs you mention there would be reason for him to necessarily be in the side- they are aiming for a flag, not to blood youngsters. If he cant at least make the side ahead of players two or three years his junior, he is simply no good. Sure, I may be a little harsh, and I am definitely one of those ones that see Russell as a bit of a wasted pick, but what I am basically saying is that he can no longer hide in the VFL with mediocre performances there and expect to remain on the list past next year.

To me, what Russell showed was good skills and pace and that he needs some time to develop the deficient areas in his game. He's not going to a super star, but given time and development IMHO he could be a more than handy player for the Blues.

It doesn't matter if you're aiming for a flag or not. My point was that the oppostition is still the same and despite our reliance on our young kids to guide us out of dark times, what we expect from our youngsters when playing other sides should differ little from the top sides. We've just got to be patient, develop them properly and watch for the result.

Discounting injuries, Russell should make the side regularly this year.

I agree with Gilly
all i can say is thank god you aren't in charge of player development

Okay, lets start with Walker. Sure, he can only play the role is given, but if he is given that role becasue his disposal is shocking, thats no-one fault but his. HE needs to work on that. And sure, he plays the role well, no question, but taggers dont win you games, or flags.

What? He averaged 19 disposals, and while that is solid, it by no means reflects the level of talent Kade has. And considering he, and I use this term very tentatively because I really rate Kade, picked most of those possessions up in a relatively cheap manner, I think it would be fair to expect much greater output from Simpson in the years to come.

I really dont understand people steadfast defence of Russell. Sure he was taken at pick 9, sure he has talent, yadda yadda. We know. But at least, he doesnt even look CLOSE to being a week in-week out AFL player. He doesnt even look comfortable in the VFL, and that is a real worry. If he had been injured, like Hartlett, I could at least understand, but he hasnt, and hast even come close to it. All I am saying, is that considering he has shown very little thus far, he needs to start showing something this year, given all the opportunities he has been presented with.

Ratten is a very poor analogy. Ratten was always willing to work hard at his game and become the champion he was later as a result. I just dont see that in Russell, and I think he absolutely needs to learn some hard yakka this year.

I know exactly what I am saying, this comment is just stupid. You may be willing to give these boys excuse after excuse to play well once a month, but I just dont tolerate third and fourth year players with that kind of attitude.:thumbsd:

I'm glad you said if, however making this comment is still misleading. You have no evidence of causality. In fact i put forward a more plausible argument is that he is given that role because he is bloody good at it.

19 possessions a game in a reasonably even midfield is nothing to scoff at. He and Walks are the two of our players most likely to take off with the ball, break the lines and take blokes on. Simmo's first instinct is to run. IMO if he does this 19 times a game it is far more valuable than racking up an extra 8 cheap possesions with give and go handballs or stuffing around with the ball laterally across half back.

If you know exactly what you are saying then it i'm afraid it makes your comments even harder to digest. :p