The Geelong 'Malaise'

OldStyle2007

I have been reading a few references here and there to Geelong's 'malaise' in 2008. Not being sure of the definition, I found one of the meanings of malaise as "A general sense of depression or unease". I'm trying to think of the reasons why this could be....

I had another post talking about the value of our trading off season.
Accepting the views of the forum that from the pure point of view of putting a team on the park, management have made the right decisions, I'm looking at this another way. I'm forming an idea that maybe the team is a little down because the most popular blokes in the group (Fresh, King and big H) are not around any more

If you think about any team you have been involved with, if you lose a few key people who have kept the 'vibe' of the place up, tasks at hand can seem a little drearier. I'm not really talking about game day, but I'm thinking of all the training and recovery sessions, team meetings, club function etc...

So my question to the forum is: Should the coaching staff have taken any of this into consideration? I know you can't keep everybody, and players need chances elsewhere (Gardiner, Playfair, and Callan all needed to seek greener pastures). But I keep coming back to thinking that maybe trading a bloke like King, who had massive respect amongst the player group, out of the club was a mistake.

Does anyone think any of this might be affecting performances? Anyone??

BTW - I don't think this condition is terminal by any means. The new group will form together and new leaders will emerge. But I'm just trying to put together why the cats footy this year has been so lacklustre at times. Is the group struggling to motivate itself??

PS. I have already prepared some basic answers for myself that I don't want to hear:
1. No
2. You're an idiot - we are 8-1

Not an issue at all. They are all well-paid professionals and they all understand that these days, football is a business.

For what it's worth, King's closest friends around the club were apparently Scarlett and Harley. Scarlett is performing just as well as he was last season (Friday's game excepted) and Harley has been adequate, too.

Our problems up until Friday night revolved around a poor ruck division (bolstered substantially by the return of Ottens), inaccurate goal kicking/unwillingness to kick for goal by our forwards, the slight form slump of some who set exceptionally high standards in 2007 (S. Johnson and Bartel among others) and us reacting slowly when teams came out and physically threatened us from the opening bounce.

Friday night was a whole different kettle of fish.

The team improved so much and played so well last year that it raised the standard expected each week it steps out onto the park in 2008. When you compare it to the team's performance so far this year, even though the winning record is better, they aren't playing as well and hence a 'malaise'.

Been thinking about it too lately and I've come to the conclusion that maybe I shouldn't have watched the GF dvd so much over the off-season cos I expect the boys to come out and play like they did on that day. Most weeks it ain't gonna happen.

Bomber's made some good comments in the past few days that ring true. Firstly, it was always gonna be hard playing as well as last year because of other teams improving. Secondly, this year should be viewed with no connection to last year - we are simply one of many teams vying for the flag.

We are 8-1 with room for significant improvement. Looking forward to the rest of the year.

Go Cats!

I don't think keeping King was an option particularly with how they have recruited and the young ruckmen we have in the team. Although I have read and heard that some in the club weren't too impressed with how they handled Kings exit from the club ie offering him a contract then withdrawing it, then trading him for a nothing pick.

I do think the team lacks some grunt at the moment and I am beginning to think that a few players are carrying injuries that are affecting their form a little.

Fair thoughts, but I don't think they are having an impact.

In hindsight, I think will have needed this kick to get a bit of mongrel back into their game. They've kind of stopped playing basics to some extent and seem to want to back themselves to do too much. Hopefully this will make them like the hunter again.

Trading King was good move, I was keen to keep him but it has proven to be a winner by
1 easing the cap pressure
2 developing the mummy and westy
3 King has had little impact in an under performing team
4 king also has shown his body is still dodgy even after a full preseason

Charlie is at best a bit player in the same team. Can not cement himself in there even though they cant kick goals As for H well Barry hall will be back soon so the insurance policy will go back to playing against teams in country NSW

Think the real reasons we are going but not like last year is that it is not 2007. Bombers comment the other day opened it up a bit by saying ....yes they boys may be a bit tired but we still need to get training into them especially with an 8 day break. I take this as work them hard now if we drop the odd game no problems lighten them up after the break and set them for the Finals. Remember 1st and 2nd make no difference when it comes to home and away. We get a home final either way.

We are working hard we have not got the best team in yet. I truly think Nathan is a bit more of a miss than we care to admit and Ego as well. (Mind you I think they can cover both well enough to go Back to Back.

REMEMBER IT IS A NEW MENTALITY DOWN THERE WE SHIPPED THE OLD OUT IN SEPTEMBER 07

I asked this in the other tread but nobody seemed to know the answer. Did the club consider offering King a job as our ruck coach? Would he have accepted it? His acceptance would have kept him at the club and relieved salary cap pressure. Without arguing if Blake is better etc. I did feel that the club could have handled the whole thing better.

He wanted to keep playing which is fair enough. Coaching wouldn't have been enough for him if he thought he had games left in him. I think he would have stayed if they had of said they wouldn't guarantee him a game but would play him if he was the form ruckman behind ottens

But I don't want to turn this into a Kingy thread. My general point is the cats might have let go of more than they first thought (the whole synergistic thing where the whole is greater than total parts etc...)

Think you might be reading a bit too much into that. There are fourty odd blokes around the place and I wouldn't think losing a couple of mates would create that kind of atmosphere - particularly among a group of professionals who would be used to some sense of transience among the playing group.

I think it's a number of factors mostly related to fitness, a few players being generally down or niggly/injured, and the intensity of the opposition getting to us a bit.

First off, this aint gospel, just what I've noticed. From boundary riders and commentary chit-chat during the last few matches I've noted that those who are playing injured are;

James Bartel
Paul Chapman
Steve Johnson
Cameron Ling
Max Rooke (maybe)

Bartel has slowed a bit recently. Might be carrying a niggling injury.
Chappy had the night off against the Pies after recapturing some form in the game against the Tiges.
Johnson baulked well one way when trying to evade Collingwood players last Friday, but looked to have difficulty turning his body the other way. Has been quiet the last few games.
Cameron Ling sprained his ankle at the start of the season, and looks to have aggrevated it again recently.
Max Rooke's form has been up and down. Up against the Tiges, but was dropped (injured?) for the Pies game.

The carrying injury business i don't buy. If they are then that doesn't make it an excuse because every single other club will have the same problem. And we carried injuries in the finals last year, and still didn't have Egan.

The whole team has been getting by from half game efforts and we all know that. The next few weeks are very important, we can't go the rest of the season with 2 key forwards not getting the job done. Ottens i don't think is 100% and has been stuck at 90% for the last 5 weeks but they've given up and just decided to play him.

After round 13 we will really have an idea of whats going on and what our capabilities are. I don't really care about playing Hawthorn anymore.

I don't think King would have made any difference so far this year, 8 wins and one smashing.

Good blokes don't win you premierships.
Having a laugh at training doesn't win you a premiership.

We've had a preseason built for the team to be at it's best when it counts. The injuries that players are carrying aren't high risk injuries, if they were they wouldn't play. Many players will be carrying niggles at the moment, the difference for GFC players is that the other teams won't let those injuries stop them from chasing at 100%, tackling at 100%, running to support a team mate at 100% to do everything they can to knock off last years premiers. Having H, Charlie, Fresh or King isn't going to change what is happening on or off the field, 22 blokes dedicated to doing all they can for the jumper will make the difference, we just may not see that other than in patches until a little later this year.

It would be a number of things, but I think part of it is habit. Early on we managed to get away with playing only for a quarter or two, so the boys just fell into that habit and always managed to pull out of it until the Collingwood game.

I never thought the King/Blake thing was a real issue, but having talked to someone in the know, it has definitely created a lot of tension.

Unfortunate really, and my respect for Blake has decreased.

Care to name your source or are you getting your info from the back of a cereal box? Not sure if Blake loves a girl with big thighs or not but he can ruck as well as one skivvy-wearing-blue-faded-jeans bloke I know.

If they wanted Vibe, they should bring in Daniel Lowther and David Loates.

'Malaise' is not the issue I feel. I think a lot of other clubs spent the summer watching lots and lits of video of the way Geelong played footy in '07 and put together plans to prevent that signiture free flowing footy through the corridor. This year the Cat's run out of defence has been targeted by the opposition and there are nearly always 'zoning' players in the centre of the ground to prevent a quick transfer through the corridor.

These tactics have prevented the ball moving with the ease it did last year (the Essendon game excluded). However the Cats are still 8 and 1. They are still an exciting unit. They are now the team that is to hunted and sabotaged. Best get used to that fact. I think this is the big difference, not a 'malaise'.

This year the Cat's run out of defence has been targeted by the opposition and there are nearly always 'zoning' players in the centre of the ground to prevent a quick transfer through the corridor.

These tactics have prevented the ball moving with the ease it did last year (the Essendon game excluded). However the Cats are still 8 and 1. They are still an exciting unit. They are now the team that is to hunted and sabotaged. Best get used to that fact. I think this is the big difference, not a 'malaise'.

Thing is, Bomber's an extremely 'static' coach (he dosen't make on-the-fly changes during matches unless he's forced to by injuries), and one of the commentators in the Collingwood match said as much, though not in those words. Week after week our players line up in the same positions and stick to the same gameplan. It's worked a beauty, but now that teams have started to work this out and counter it, what do we do?

Kevin Sheedy was famous for throwing players around in different positions. Bomber would do well to maybe take a leaf or two out of his former coach's playbook. If Mooney's not finding touch in the forward line, or getting flogged, stick him in at centre half back. No shame in it, and the Moondog did play as a defender for a while.

Make changes. Keep the opposition on their toes. Dictate play.

Thing is, Bomber's an extremely 'static' coach (he dosen't make on-the-fly changes during matches unless he's forced to by injuries), and one of the commentators in the Collingwood match said as much, though not in those words. Week after week our players line up in the same positions and stick to the same gameplan. It's worked a beauty, but now that teams have started to work this out and counter it, what do we do?

Kevin Sheedy was famous for throwing players around in different positions. Bomber would do well to maybe take a leaf or two out of his former coach's playbook. If Mooney's not finding touch in the forward line, or getting flogged, stick him in at centre half back. No shame in it, and the Moondog did play as a defender for a while.

Make changes. Keep the opposition on their toes. Dictate play.

There were a lot of people talking like this in 2006 and early 2007, and blaming Bomber's faith in the players and the plan for our lack of success. Funnily enough those people have seemed a lot quieter since Round 5 last year.

The fact is that you've got to find a balance between throwing players around and keeping the faith. Yes, Sheedy tended to make a lot of moves, but it didn't work as often as people seem to give him credit for. When it did work it was spectacular and got a lot of attention, but very, very often it failed dismally.

On Friday night Bomber did make a few moves - eg. Milburn onto Cloke, West to FF, and I saw each of Ling, Corey, Enright and Bartel on Swan at different times - but we got so comprehensively towelled up all over the ground that it made little difference.

He also said this week that they very seriously considered putting the Moondog on the ball but decided against it in the end, and that he may have a run in the middle this week. You got to remember though that if you do that with Chappy out and Johnno and Hawkins down, you severely limit your forward options.

EDIT: One final thing - I don't know if anyone else has noticed this, but Bomber has talked a lot of player empowerment during our rise to superteam status, not only off the field but on it. He has said a heap of times that the players need to stand up on the field when things aren't going to plan and work out ways to combat opposition tactics themselves. I think thats part of the reason he doesn't move players around a lot - leave them in the poo for a while and see how they respond. This may sound a bit arrogant, and maybe it is, but I for one think its not a bad approach in May when you're 8-0. Don't hold their hands too much now, and they'll learn more and be that much better when the finals come around.

I think part of the issue is to do with being worked so hard on the training track in order to build fitness for later in the season.
I reckon they're turning up pretty fatigued to games, which perhaps explains the slow starts. When they get warmed up and cohesive as a team, they've responded.
Last Friday night however, Collingwood applied finals-like pressure (record number of tackles I think), which our players' fitness and bodies were simply not ready for.

If teams come with that kind of pressure in September, we'll be ready for it then.