Crowked

I was a little suprised to hear we had gone for 4 interstaters in the draft considering the recent departures of Stenglein and Carr from here, but also the apparent increasing trend for players returning to their home states throughout the AFL.

I thought we were going to favour home grown talent when the talent is of similar value, but it seems to me we selected the interstater when the talent was similar.

An example might be Meesen over Wood or Van Berlo over well half a dozen SA boys.

Any thoughts

Mate its pretty subjective about 'similar' talent I reckon. We have obviously gone with the philosophy that the interstaters were clearly better choices than the local lads. If they were very similarly ranked im sure they would have gone the local.

BUT the big positive IMO is that with all the SA boys being drafted this year (and last) it means we have some real bargaining power come trade time over the next few years. Like you said if Waters/Butler want out of the Weagles next year all of a sudden we have potentially a similar sort of player that MAY be used in these dealings - depending on his value potential the Crows forsee - and with Stewart now here I am confident they will be far more aggressive in these sort of dealings going forward.

I feel like Big Kev

I've got no problem with it. Pick the best available player, I say.

Down the track, if these boys wanna return home, then you've still got good trade bargaining material anyway.

It's obviously a non-issue for most clubs...

Interstate players on team lists: Adel 15, Bris 28, Carl 12, Coll 16, Ess 14, Freo 13, Geel 11, Haw 11, Melb 18, Roos 9, Port 19, Rich 16, StK 13, Syd 27, Dogs 23, WCst 13.

No 1 Draft Pick said:
I feel like Big Kev

what? fat and in financial ruin???:p

on a serious note we did the right thing we took the best available player at every pick. i know people are disappointed we overlooked Danyle Pearce but the kid is small and had a poor championships, yes he can run quick but so can Matt Shirvington doesnt mean his going to make an AFL footballer.

If there was a down side to our drafting this year then this is it. The go home factor can not be dismissed out of hand.

Although the no. of South Australians drafted to interstate clubs in the last couple of years suggests we may be able to do a deal if necessary at some later date, it is no garantee.

For what ever reason some SA born players have shown a reluctance to return home (Ottens, Holland, Kernahan, Bradley etc). Also, just the no. of Vic clubs means that we can get screwed if they don't realy care what club they go to.

We need to get them girl friends & have them knock them up ASAP. :D

I lifted this from an article in the herald Sun

"John Meesen, a strapping, kid from Geelong, was viewed as his marquee player.

On Friday, Connors calls Meesen. "One more sleep, mate, and then it's all over," he says.

Meesen, having a meal at a Geelong pub with his father, Paul, sounds apprehensive.

The conversation is speculative because the participants are discussing which club might draft Meesen.

It seems there is a strong chance he will end up at Hawthorn at pick seven.

Fast forward to draft day. Connors arrives for a 9am meeting at Collingwood's Lexus Centre, across the road from the draft venue, with John and Paul Meesen, and John's mother Leanne.

Magpies president Eddie McGuire breezes through the cafe and says hello to everyone. He shouts coffees and teas for all before shaking Meesen's hand and, tongue firmly in cheek, saying, "See you in two years."

The draft moves to the seventh pick. Hawthorn recruiting manager Gary Buckenara reads out the name of Jordan Lewis, a friend of Meesen.

"********," whispers Connors as his papers hit the floor. "Bloody hell. ********."

The reason for Connors' reaction is apparent following the next pick. Meesen is off to Adelaide.

At the break between rounds two and three, Connors rushes to the Meesens. He returns sounding as though the weight of the world has suddenly been lifted from his shoulders.

"They're fine with it," he says. "Paul (Meesen) knows his footy and has been realistic the whole way through."

Let's hope Eddy Everywhere's tongue was planted firmly in his cheek!!!!!!

I think it's an issue the recuitment department have to largely ignore. You HAVE to go for the best possible player. If that player wants to return home, then you should get at least like for like. Unless of course your Port Adelaide, and you expect the world.

I dont have any great problem with the ''go home '' factor as I believe there are 2 scenarios

1. The club is a success and the player stays until they reach success....C Judd/K Johnson

2. The club is struggling and while the player is a star his mental attitude is wavering and he wants to go home or grab some money....N Buckley/B Ottens

Obviously with scenario 1 you hold on as long as you can but when scenario 2 happens you utilise his effectiveness in a trade situation.

And you should always draft the best as it is a national cmpetition deals can be done.

Van Berlo for Pavlich

Meeson for Cooney?????????????? Keep him signed up long long term

Knights for Cooney yes much better

Maric for Monfries

You can always jig it your way.

Crowked said:
I was a little suprised to hear we had gone for 4 interstaters in the draft considering the recent departures of Stenglein and Carr from here, but also the apparent increasing trend for players returning to their home states throughout the AFL.

I thought we were going to favour home grown talent when the talent is of similar value, but it seems to me we selected the interstater when the talent was similar.

An example might be Meesen over Wood or Van Berlo over well half a dozen SA boys.

Any thoughts
I'm quite relieved that we picked Meesen over Wood, as I'm more convinced he will make it (sooner).

We had to for the best talent (including mentally capabilities!) regardless of their home state. If they want to return home, so be it, as it will work both ways (like this year with Thompson & Stinger) & we should get good value.

From a Port perspective De Luca has to be a worry, as he made it public that he wanted to stay in Melbourne. From what I can gather all the other draftess coming to SA seem rapt and are looking forward to getting her.

Stiffy_18 said:
Not concerned one bit. Pick the best available player, which we did. If or when they decide to go back, you trade them and generally you get a fair trade out of it.

Man, just lately I'm making a habit out of agreeing with you mate. :)

Once again I agree totally.

Geez, I'm might have to change my nick to Parrot.

That way I can sit on your shoulder and repeat everything you say without offending others. ;)

Lefty said:
Man, just lately I'm making a habit out of agreeing with you mate.

That way I can sit on your shoulder and repeat everything you say without offending others. ;)

:D

Having seen all these 5 guys on the telly tonight and listening to their reaction at being picked up by the Crows, I genuinely think the go home factor's not going to apply to this group. Certainly their pleasure at being picked up by Adelaide was genuine, and none of them had that terrible look about them that Kane Johnson did the year that he was picked up.

We've had a couple of good players leave us now, and IMO we've done exceptionally well out of both deals - better than fair.

Even if we did p*ss up what we got for Johnson up against the wall. :(

macca23 said:
:D
Certainly their pleasure at being picked up by Adelaide was genuine, and none of them had that terrible look about them that Kane Johnson did the year that he was picked up.
:(

he he...that look of Sugar's was nothing compared to the reaction of young Brent Williams he he. Brent didnt prepare himself well for draft day did he? It was terrible PR for us, but it was great TV though.

Lefty said:
Man, just lately I'm making a habit out of agreeing with you mate.

Welcome to the "Stiffy is always right club" :)

I was one who baulked a bit with our club drafting mostly interstaters due to the go back home factor but now after reading posts from those with more knowledge on recruiting i am quite satisfied with the end result.

Just hope that passing up on Woods does not come back to bite us on the arse.

I'm afraid there is not too much room left on Stiffys shoulders unless your a Skipworth type. ;)

PowerKop said:
From a Port perspective De Luca has to be a worry, as he made it public that he wanted to stay in Melbourne. From what I can gather all the other draftess coming to SA seem rapt and are looking forward to getting her.

He's back and he has that twinkle in his eyes. Hide your pets.

PowerKop said:

How many premierships has Port won?

Now, could you please put your head... :D