The Hard Part - Changes Vs Kangas.

• Thread starter Thread starter cats2rise

Presuming Wojac, Chapman, Milburn and Scarlett are fit...

Gamble probably picked the worst round to play his worst game this year, while Byrnes played well. Any other time Varcoe would have done enough to keep his spot, while Taylor was outplayed by Hall.

OUT: Taylor, Gamble, Varcoe
IN: Scarlett, Chapman, Milburn (Wojac through VFL) ???

Ideas? Maybe
OUT: Taylor, Prismall, Varcoe
IN: Scarlett, Milburn, Chapman?

Obviously thats presuming all players are fit.

This is going to be very tough for the selectors. I'd hate to see any of Byrnes, Varcoe or Prismall dropped after their respective performances. Taylor was beaten but that's to be expected given he's a first year player - out for Scarlett, while Gamble will go for Chapman unfortunately.

Rooke is the interesting one; he played ok but didn't have much of an impact... i think his leadership and presence are important to the team.

In: Chapman, Milburn, Scarlett

Out: Gamble, Varcoe, Taylor

Wojcinski to come back against WC.

IN : Chappy,Milburn,Scarlett
OUT : Varcoe,Gamble,Rooke

- Gamble picked a bad time to have a quiet night
- Rooke did bugger all
- Wojcinski back via the magoos
- the little twit in #17 [no not Schmitt ;)] will keep his spot

Bit Harsh on Old Maxy there JubJub.... Me and you have got no idea what his job was tonight...either way...He was throwing his body in there like he does most weeks.....i wasnt at the game live....so i have no foot to stand on here....but i rekon he went ok .....

IN : Chappy,Milburn,Scarlett
OUT : Varcoe,Gamble,Rooke

- Gamble picked a bad time to have a quiet night
- Rooke did bugger all
- Wojcinski back via the magoos
- the little twit in #17 [no not Schmitt ;)] will keep his spot

Can't argue with any of that.

Although I'd rather Gamble stay in instead of Byrnes, this looks most likely..

Don't think Varcoe will be dropped after one game because of Bomber's "policy" of not dropping players after one game. Since he persisted with Byrnes (although Milburn didn't come back as expected), he might leave Varcoe in the team too.

If Gamble gets dropped it will be a disgrace. Showed his worth week in and week out and only had one bad game. That said, no one really deserved to be dropped in the end. Varcoe will get dropped, but as good as Byrnes was tonight, Gamble spent a lot of time in the middle and didn't look comfortable. Send him back forward and he will be his old useful self.

Bit Harsh on Old Maxy there JubJub.... Me and you have got no idea what his job was tonight...either way...He was throwing his body in there like he does most weeks.....i wasnt at the game live....so i have no foot to stand on here....but i rekon he went ok .....

Agreed, the television footage had him blocking like a front row forward. His protection of the player getting the ball was key to getting clearances that were hard fought for tonight. I thought he did ok.

Dunno if Taylor should be dropped. Yes, he got spanked by Big Bad Bazza tonight. Never forget it's his first ever season in an AFL senior team, and he's played most of that first year in our 'A' team.

He got towelled, but he'll learn from it. Dunno if he's ever before been one-out on a forward as much as he has been tonight, but he'll be better for it. Good on Bomber Thompson for leaving him there to get the experience:thumbsu:

Don't drop him, I reckon.

I dunno. Its tough. Gamble did nothing but he didnt have much ground time. Rooke is a favourite but he was pretty woeful tonight but shouldnt be dropped on one game. Varcoe was ordinary. Byrnes was great but he doesnt deserve instant selection. Lonergan goes missing for long periods. If gamble had the chances he did i think he would have had a big night.

too hard basket, see who's coming back first

We drop taylor North will load up their forward line with talls just like last time, and just like last time we will struggle to defend. We need Taylor around now and for the Finals. Sure he got massacred by Hall, but Hall happens to be... what ten years his senior and in reasonable form.

In reality, no one deserves to be dropped. Unfortunately its how its going to be. In reality as well, not everyone will come back next week. But gamble will probably be dropped, as well as Prismall, purely because we don't have the room for them (they don't deserve it at all though.) Maybe even Brynes, despite how well he played.

Geelong will not drop Taylor as long as Egan is injured. Just to reinforce that, FULL STOP.

Why the hell would we drop our second tall backman? No matter how badly he plays, he is essential to our backline. It's his first season, he's bound to have a bad one every now and then. Ease up.

This is the toughest selection week in the recent history of the GFC.

The player i feel for most is Travis Varcoe.
He worked his arse off last night, doesn't deserve to be dropped, but is likely to go, just like last year.

This game can be incredibly cruel sometimes.

Duskfire and whoknows, I'm don't know whether Taylor will be dropped or not but we did play North in last year's QF and the Kangas tried the same trick of loading up their forward line on that day. I guess it worked earlier in the year because we lost Scarlett early on.

Harsh on Gambles performance here. Yes, he didn't do anything brilliant as we have become accustomed to form him, but everytime I saw him he was working his arse off either trying to get the footy, or chasing down the bloke who had it. The Sydney flood didn't help him either, clogging up his space to lead into.

Taylor should stay in the side. I originally said he should be dropped with the ‘like for like’ theory in mind; Scarlett for Taylor, but we need both come finals.

Duskfire and whoknows, I'm don't know whether Taylor will be dropped or not but we did play North in last year's QF and the Kangas tried the same trick of loading up their forward line on that day. I guess it worked earlier in the year because we lost Scarlett early on.

Not having taylor there puts us on the backburner though. Harley works best when he can float around and generally take alot of marks and cut off play; he isn't so good on the talls anymore. Milburn works bst when he plays on the third tall or a medium-sized forward and recieves heaps of possessions and creates heap of run. Same with Mackie. Having Taylor there means they can still do those roles, as opposed to becoming more defensive minded. And when we become more defensive minded we struggle.

Gamble will have a rest, as all our fringe players have a string of games followed by a rest. Chappy will replace him.

Scarlett in for Prismall, because he is the most expendable.

Milburn in for Varcoe

I was there.....Rooke was terrible. We do not have a clue what his role was, however in a blow out in the 2nd and 3rd quarters you'd expect him to at least get a few touches.....wasn't even near it.

He can throw his body into contests and tackle, however if that is all he is doing is that worthy of a place in the team?

I've said it a few times over the last few weeks that Rooke's output has been well below par. I'm unsure if that is because I expect more out of him, but he hasn't looked the part for about 2 or 3 weeks out of the last 5.

When we have to bring back so many, I can't see keeping Rooke over some guys who have performed. Sure he may not be the same type of player, however if he is being carried more than not, then he shouldn't be kept.

I was there.....Rooke was terrible. We do not have a clue what his role was, however in a blow out in the 2nd and 3rd quarters you'd expect him to at least get a few touches.....wasn't even near it.

He can throw his body into contests and tackle, however if that is all he is doing is that worthy of a place in the team?

I've said it a few times over the last few weeks that Rooke's output has been well below par. I'm unsure if that is because I expect more out of him, but he hasn't looked the part for about 2 or 3 weeks out of the last 5.

When we have to bring back so many, I can't see keeping Rooke over some guys who have performed. Sure he may not be the same type of player, however if he is being carried more than not, then he shouldn't be kept.
I was there too and you are right, a very ordinary game from Rooke. Can see Brynes being dropped - the coaches have shown they want him in the ones before and would like to keep him after a game like last nights but should go if Wojak is fit. Gamble had a poor game although the effect of the Sydney flood was mentioned earlier. Still will probably go if Chappy is fit.

Out Varcoe, Brynes, Gamble and Rooke.

no way byrnes will keep his spot, no way

lets face it the guy played one good game for the first time in yonks and anyway Taylor has been dropped numerous times this year after good games.

Harsh on Gambles performance here. Yes, he didn't do anything brilliant as we have become accustomed to form him, but everytime I saw him he was working his arse off either trying to get the footy, or chasing down the bloke who had it. The Sydney flood didn't help him either, clogging up his space to lead into.

I seem to remember some idiots saying 'Shannon Byrnes had a 75% kicking effeciency which was better than Prismall' a few weeks ago to try and justify why the spud should stay in the team.

Well guess what? Gamble had 100% disposal effeciency against the Swans.

:thumbsu:

I don't know if North will load up forward this week against your very good back line. I don't know how effective doing that will be, as we are finally seeing some balance and consistency in our forward line.

Over the past month or so, we have pretty much had a small forward line with McMahon, Boomer, Campbell, Thomas and Grant circling around Hale who has been playing pretty deep. The other thing is that I would expect Macintosh to return this week, so Petrie will be playing CHF and up the ground.

As great as your backline is, I can't wait to see the duel between Scarlett and Hale-should be a great game.