The hot weather

Originally posted by GoEagles
If it gets so hot in Melbourne, why do the Melbourne footy clubs wear ice-vests when they play in Perth when its in the high 20s?

That's a good question-- but that's not so much a matter of the weather and that temperature as much as it is a matter of body temperature, and how that is influenced by the heat and humidity (although moreso the latter than the former).

Also, for as far as I've observed, footy games are generally played in temperatures from 0-16 C during the AFL season, and that's what the players are used to. So hence the need for vests for games anywhere whenever it gets above the mid-20's (mostly a case during the pre-season, however).

That's just my theory on the matter, not to be taken as gospel...

Cheers,
William

Originally posted by GoEagles
If it gets so hot in Melbourne, why do the Melbourne footy clubs wear ice-vests when they play in Perth when its in the high 20s?

It doesn't, Melbourne would have to be the 2nd coldest capital city in Australia behind Hobart.

Originally posted by Zombie
It doesn't, Melbourne would have to be the 2nd coldest capital city in Australia behind Hobart.

It does
On average, 3rd coldest
It's maximums are behind only Adelaide and Perth

Melbourne has warmer summer temps than Sydney city, maybe lower temperatures than Sydney's west though, which on average is usually at least 3 to 5 degrees warmer each day.

From my experience in Melbourne, the temperatures are often hotter but it doesn't seem too bad since it's usually a dry heat and the humidity isn't usually as high as Sydney's. High humidity and high temperature is a bugger (not too bad, if an arvo storm comes along tho), give me high temps and low humidity anyday.

Having said that, I like the heat and like summer, though I wish a southerly change with some decent rainfall would come soon!

I prefer the cold to the heat. If it's cold you can always put a jumper on, but there's nothing you can do when it's as ridiculously hot as it has been lately.

And to have so many hot days in a row, with no relief in sight, is not good at all.:mad: Whatever happened to the southerly buster? (for WA posters, does the Fremantle Doctor still exist?)

We're in the throes of a one in 100 year drought. That's why it's hot.

Yesterday was the hottest day I've ever endured in my lifetime, in Victoria.

So what does muggins do? I umpired cricket all day.

Any accusations of stupidity will not be refuted this weekend.

Yep, Victoria stop telling lies, like anyone is going to believe that it ever gets over 25 degrees even in summer, HA HA spreading propoganda like it got to 40 degrees is a joke, like people saying that Perth gets cold in Winter. :rolleyes:

Originally posted by mantis
Yep, Victoria stop telling lies, like anyone is going to believe that it ever gets over 25 degrees even in summer, HA HA spreading propoganda like it got to 40 degrees is a joke, like people saying that Perth gets cold in Winter. :rolleyes:

and it rains all the time in Melbourne :rolleyes:

Originally posted by Bomber Spirit
for WA posters, does the Fremantle Doctor still exist?

Well yes, although noone ever uses that term for it. Usually described as the sea-breeze, often more like a sea gale. Perth's not one of the windiest cities in the world for nothing.

Of course the really hot days here are because the north easterly is blowing hard.

Originally posted by Falchoon
and it rains all the time in Melbourne :rolleyes:

I wasn't having a go at Melbourne weather, I was actually defending it with a bit of sarcasm. sorry if you miss read it. :confused:

Mr Q I call it the Freo Doctor, well actually I call it the F***ing freezing Freo Doctor. :D

I love the way mainlanders always comment on Hobart's weather. Like it's always cold and it rains all the time, right?
Fact is it hardly ever rains in Hobart. It is the second driest capital city in Australia. And as for always being cold that's crap too.
It's been as hot as anything down here.
I used to get ****ed off because interstaters would knock Melbourne weather, now I get ****ed off because mainlanders talk crap about Tassie.