Analysis The Kardinia Park Advantage

• Thread starter Thread starter Willo_

I'm a Tiger fan, but this is a joke if it gets moved. Totally unfair to Geelong. If the AFL wants us to play in front of big crowds, then schedule it at the 'G before the season starts. Ridiculous to change it in round 11.

LOL at people saying boycott the game if it's moved to the MCG it would still be a home game but instead of just losing the KP advantage you want to lose revenue as well.I hope it's not moved but if it happens still get there and support the club and players.
I couldn't care less about revenue.

If it got moved I wouldn't go. I pay my money for a reserved seat for 7 games in Geelong.

If the AFL was fair we'd get 11 like every other club not 7 or 8.

I do understand and agree with your point, I have just felt that often we play better again than our expectations for games at home.

It likely is as simple as just suiting our ground, I was wondering if it was mental as well
Yeah I guess there's gotta be something mental in it.
I remember Hawthorn used to play allright at KP and you couldn't get a more different ground to Waverly.
Norf have done allright too.
Maybe some teams have the game penciled in as a loss in there mind before they get there.

If it got moved I wouldn't go. I pay my money for a reserved seat for 7 games in Geelong.

The club'll still get most of the their money anyway cause you've already paid for your seat and membership.
They could lose out big maybe on catering, functions etc, I dunno.

People covered what what I had to say about reasons for the advantage, and very well.

Question time. 2017, stadium as it stands now: if we had earned a home final against GWS or Adelaide (or any interstate team) is there even a 1% chance it could be at KP? Or do we need to hold 40,000 to make such a scenario possible? Was the Freo game in 2013 just a special one off because LOL Freo?

The club'll still get most of the their money anyway cause you've already paid for your seat and membership.
They could lose out big maybe on catering, functions etc, I dunno.
I'd be demanding reimbursement of some sort.

The game will not be moved people.... relax

The AFL confirmed this morning it is not in their plans to move the game.

The whole story was concocted by Luke Darcy I reckon. He had hoped that this would have seeded the idea inside the very small brains of the decision makers down at AFL House to move the game all because he doesn't like driving to Geelong to call games.

Time after time he complains about it on Triple M either on the Saturday arvo radio call and/or Monday morning on the Hot Breakfast.

Put your gloves on sooky boy and suck it up!.

People covered what what I had to say about reasons for the advantage, and very well.

Question time. 2017, stadium as it stands now: if we had earned a home final against GWS or Adelaide (or any interstate team) is there even a 1% chance it could be at KP? Or do we need to hold 40,000 to make such a scenario possible? Was the Freo game in 2013 just a special one off because LOL Freo?
A non prelim against an interstate side would be at KP imo. Prelims or a final against a Melbourne side have the 0% chance of being at KP.

Was the Freo game in 2013 just a special one off because LOL Freo?
If i remember correctly that was because all of the finals that week (finals week 1, 4 games) were in Victoria. The only other solution was a double header at the MCG on the Saturday, which was unlikely.

A non prelim against an interstate side would be at KP imo. Prelims or a final against a Melbourne side have the 0% chance of being at KP.
Fair enough. So in 2013 when we hosted Freo at KP but then had a home semi against Port at the MCG - what was the distinction there? Was it down to there being potentially more Port fans than Freo fans the previous week, or that it was a semi?

Edit: looks like Tyzza may have fielded this one for me.

If i remember correctly that was because all of the finals that week (finals week 1, 4 games) were in Victoria. The only other solution was a double header at the MCG on the Saturday, which was unlikely.
You'd think there would be minimum two interstate finals in week 1 this year (GWS QF then Adelaide, WCE or PA QF/EF) so by that logic I guess it would seem unlikely.

With us recently having played and won 3 games on the trot at home I was wanting to get other peoples thoughts on our home ground, and why we are so good there. Is it mental, physical, learned or all of the above.

I have my theories and thoughts which I will give now, but I am interested it what others think as well, I could be overthinking it, I could be over simplifying it

The Shape of the ground is extremely unique no doubt, and we know how to play the ground very very well, as you can see from the photo here
c3fe40f50563dc44ba67023dcb3502f8

the Moorobool St side has no width at all and is almost squared off, especially when teams are kicking out for the river end we tend to force them down this tight wing, there is less room and we are able to cover off the area and pick the ball off almost at will, you also find that teams when under pressure have a lot of kicks that go out on the full with the normal width available to them simply not there.
We set up and normally have a man or 2 in the middle of the ground and on the Brownlow Stand side wing, the moment we get the ball we fire it inboard and attempt to hit the goal face from front on.
Now if a random fan like me can see what we do, then surely the opposition know what is going to happen as well, yet again and again we see the same things unfold.

So IMO there must be more to it...

I think there is a huge mental aspect as well that we benefit from, to start with other teams know it won't be easy... they walk into the ground knowing they are up against it and that we play the ground well, we have an amazing record here etc etc. Now the trolls will crap on about home town umpiring, every single home team experiences this so it is not worth discussing, umpires are human, they can say they don't.. but they get influenced by the crowd (the exact same way they do in SA, WA and large Pies games)

We have the lions share of support which is to be expected, but i think the simple fact that it is familiar is important as anything else. I have often felt we can overachieve at home, and had a theory that the simple fact that the players are relaxed and comfortable mentally makes a huge difference.

The Younger players are playing somewhere that they are at every day, and with an adoring crowd... there is less nerves there you assume as it is easier for them to treat it as less of an event than say a big game at the G with a rabid Pies game or trip to the West.
I also believe the older players benefit from this, as they start to drop away slowly it is easier for things to impact them that may not have previously, a short trip to the ground instead of an hour in the car, being with the kids longer at home, knowing they can go get a coffee on the way from their favourite place etc etc all help them (IMO) be more relaxed and at ease, and happier... this can then be reflected in how they play.
The older guys also benefit from the ground shape as they have to cover less ground, the younger players as potential mistakes in positioning are easier to cover and may have less impact.

I have left out the stars/middle age bracket as they are likely comfortable in their skins enough that it doesn't impact them negatively being away, but they still also would just walk in feeling better about themselves.

Or perhaps it is just simply one of those things that is the sum of all parts and can't really be explained
and helped by the fact we have had a very good football side for the majority of the last 10 years?
Regardless I am interested on the thoughts of others and the deeper and better thinkers than myself on the topic
Is our advantage at geelong compared to away any different from other clubs home vs away advantage? Need to figure that out first before teying to explain it.

Much ado about nothing in the end. AFL knocked it on the head whilst no one at Channel Seven will call out Maclure for making it up and morons like Darcy and Watson on Talking Footy will continue to fellate him as "the best news breaker in the game" or similar.

The whole story was concocted by Luke Darcy I reckon. He had hoped that this would have seeded the idea inside the very small brains of the decision makers down at AFL House to move the game all because he doesn't like driving to Geelong to call games.

Time after time he complains about it on Triple M either on the Saturday arvo radio call and/or Monday morning on the Hot Breakfast.

Put your gloves on sooky boy and suck it up!.

He was complaining about a slow lift at Geelong on Talking Footy last night. If the lift was too slow, the lazy bugger should've just used the stairs.

Surely it can't be lost on people that much of the time we play on those grounds, we are against good sides? The loss at Manuka was to the Giants, a top 4 side. Sydney are perennially a good side anywhere we play them (they won at KP for starters), we play our bogey side exclusively at the MCG, the Gold Coast is probably the big outlier but from memory the first time they beat us there our side was vastly different from what it is now.

Plus wouldn't the Hawks have a better record against us if the size/shape was such a factor? They've been a powerhouse throughout that period and we've still managed to outdo them. I'm not really convinced.

No chance we'd play Adelaide there. GWS and WCE yes, but Crows fans have historically travelled in large numbers for Victorian finals. Even our last final vs. Port drew 52,000 at the MCG.

To be fair I thought we traditionally requested playing Pies and Hawks at the G. So we lose a few games that way. Not sure if we still ask for that with the new stand etc-do you know?

I think the blueprint was 9 at KP and 2 at the MCG with the Hawks and Collingwood being those two. I can see us playing the Hawks at KP in the next 5 years ... their supporter base is notoriously fickle and likely to drop significantly soon given their impending gloom.

Yep, agree we will definitely play them down at the cattery sooner rather than later. And won't that be sweet. The Hawk fans who sat behind us at the 2014 final- wow-never seen anything like it. So I have some vengeance to reap!
Pies never leave the G so can't see that ever happening. Pity.

No chance we'd play Adelaide there. GWS and WCE yes, but Crows fans have historically travelled in large numbers for Victorian finals. Even our last final vs. Port drew 52,000 at the MCG.
Maybe so. Personally I don't think an extra 16,000 is worth moving our home games following redevelopments, but the AFL is a fickle mistress.

He was complaining about a slow lift at Geelong on Talking Footy last night. If the lift was too slow, the lazy bugger should've just used the stairs.
He complains about something every time he has been down there.

BT was the same but I reckon the AFL or Ch7 or both gave him the tap on the shoulder and told him to can it. Now he seems to love the joint. Even got his shoes off a few weeks ago. Wow Wee.

What's not to love about the place?!. Be close to having the best surface of any AFL ground I have been too as well.