The Kurt Cobain Tribute Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter rdhopkins2

to quote from a popular american tv show:

Grunge died long before kurt cobain did

:)

seriously music has changed so much, theres been so much music come and go, theres no grunge crowd anymore, just like theres no britpop crowd anymore, and i thought britpop was the greatest musical genre to ever come along...

i wonder what will become of the animal collective people in a few years time?

Just on Kurt:

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,25308811-5012974,00.html

KURT Cobain's estate has lost all the money left to his widow Courtney Love and their child, Frances Bean, totalling more than $750m, according to reports.
Investigators, forensic accountants and lawyers hired by Love found that the Nirvana singer's estate had lost more than $45 million cash and up to $705 million in real estate, the New York Post reports.

"I have never seen such greed and moral turpitude. This case is going to make Bernard Madoff look warm and fuzzy," Love's lawyer, Rhonda J. Holmes, of Gordon & Holmes in San Diego, told the paper.

"We will be filing civil cases ... within the next 30 days.

"There are many, many millions missing. We've only been able to track down $US30 million, but there is more.

"And then there is the real estate."

Bank accounts using Cobain, Love and Frances Bean's social security numbers were set up and used to buy and sell real estate across the US, Holmes alleges.

"There is now a web of homes which were bought, flipped and used to launder money - up to $US500 million worth," Holmes said.

"Any of the property we can get back will be donated to people who have lost their homes in foreclosures."

Holmes said that Love only noticed the money was gone when there wasn't any left.

How is that even possible???? $750mil!!

Agree with that.

No. I love both those bands, but the key influence on all of these bands is Husker Du. Zen Arcade was the original combination of Hardcore Punk with layered pop melodies and hooks, and from this comes almost all of the Alternative Rock music of the 1980s, 1990s and 2000s.

This record influenced the likes of the Replacements (who were still in their hardcore roots at this time and would later come out with the classic Let It Be), Sonic Youth (who were still in their No-Wave phase), the Minutemen (would late release Double Nickels On The Dime, influenced by Zen Arcade), The Pixies (Frank Black originally advertised female bassist who liked both Peter, Paul and Mary and Husker Du), Dinosaur Jr, Superchunk, etc.

Kurt Cobain was simply a better looking, more marketable and less talented Bob Mould.

[youtube]v-TccVzt0gU[/youtube]

And Australia's own Scientists pre date them all. Both Mark Arm and Kurt Cobain credit Kim Salmon with inventing grunge.

Yeah, good point. There are plenty of stylistic similarities between The Scientists and some of those Grunge bands, especially Weird Love era. The actual "genre" of Grunge is so diverse, let alone the influences...

Selfish, shit human being.

Imagine being so irresponsible when you're a father ffs. Gutless bloke, no sympathy whatsoever.

Hypocrite too - claimed he hated fame, yet went major label and cashed in on fame when he could have withdrawn from the spotlight.

Handy with a melody, rubbish drug-addled lyrics.

Nirvana were waaaay overrated. Pearl Jam and Soundgarden shat all over.

Way to nail the title of the thread:thumbsu:

Why all the hate in here?

Both bands are great and I am a massive fan of both. Personally I favour Nirvana, but thats just opinion.

RIP Kurt.

Not sure if you've read the thread, but bradrowe was pointing out the release dates of the two albums in support of his opinion that Nirvana didn't pave the way for Pearl Jam - but unfortunately, that argument doesn't have a leg to stand on as Nevermind wasn't Nirvana's debut.

Wow. That was a really bad post. Do you actually have an idea as to what you're talking about?

p.s. I loved your ridiculous comment that Pearl Jam have tried to hide from the spotlight - yet they're an MTV stalwart and regularly appeared at award shows throughout the 90's.

Funny how they haven't been on MTV since about the mid 90's. Every band goes to award shows if they're nominated, stupid statement to list that. How about the lack of music videos, the lack of interviews, the lack of general public appearances (Except for music awards, in which there are probably less than a handful a year they go to).

If you're going to have an opinion, at least know what you're talking about before coming out with such drivel.

Meh, I don't even mind a lot of Pearl Jam's music - but they are largely responsible for the generic rock sound of bands like Nickelback, Creed, Lifehouse, 3 Doors Down etc so I put my PJ hating cap on every once in a while.

No matter what PJ achieve though, they'll never be remembered as fondly as Nirvana and never had that one world changing song like SMTS.

They're fairly different bands in alot of ways. Nirvana were more an extension of bands like The Stone Roses, Janes Addiction and The Pixies, i.e. indie music with a punk sensibility, whereas PJ are a great rock band that were largely defined by their contemporaries and the era they came out in, but would never be out of place in any decade (i.e. they'd be a great band now, but also a great band in teh 60's, 70's etc).

I just don't understand the Cobain hate, especially short sighted stuff like calling him selfish for killing himself. Annihalation of the self is about as selfless as it can get.

Neither PJ or Nirvana were my favourite bands of the era (Alice in Chains ftw), but I preferred Nirvana's quiet, loud, quiet pop music to Pearl Jam's solid rock and roll.

Meh, I don't even mind a lot of Pearl Jam's music - but they are largely responsible for the generic rock sound of bands like Nickelback, Creed, Lifehouse, 3 Doors Down etc so I put my PJ hating cap on every once in a while.

No matter what PJ achieve though, they'll never be remembered as fondly as Nirvana and never had that one world changing song like SMTS.

They're fairly different bands in alot of ways. Nirvana were more an extension of bands like The Stone Roses, Janes Addiction and The Pixies, i.e. indie music with a punk sensibility, whereas PJ are a great rock band that were largely defined by their contemporaries and the era they came out in, but would never be out of place in any decade (i.e. they'd be a great band now, but also a great band in teh 60's, 70's etc).

I just don't understand the Cobain hate, especially short sighted stuff like calling him selfish for killing himself. Annihalation of the self is about as selfless as it can get.

Neither PJ or Nirvana were my favourite bands of the era (Alice in Chains ftw), but I preferred Nirvana's quiet, loud, quiet pop music to Pearl Jam's solid rock and roll.

Are you sure you aren't getting selfless confused with brave. A lot of people claim suicide as the weak or easy exit from lifes problems, when taking your own life is one of the bravest things a person can do.

Selfless though? I have to disagree to an extent. The pain inside someone for them to even consider taking their own life is unimaginable and something I hope I never experience, but at the same time I think leaving a family behind (especially one with young children involved) is selfish. But hey, selfish things need to be done sometimes.

Rolling stone has Nirvana in the top 10, then another 4 times in the top 500. Pearl Jam are not listed.

http://www.rollingstone.com/news/coverstory/500songs

Q Mag has Nirvana's Nevermind as THE most influential album from 1980-2004 and SMTS as the second most influential single. Pearl Jam? Not listed.

http://www.rocklistmusic.co.uk/qlistspage3.htm#The Music That Changed The World

Basically, whilst I do enjoy some PJ songs, the only people who think they're really, really good are people whodrive a ute that has Triple M mudflaps.
These are the same sort of lists that will have Sex On Fire as one of the most important and influential songs of this decade in 10 years time. There were at least ten (possibly more) more important and positively influential albums released in that year then Nevermind. To those lists, popularity is more important than anything...

LMAO@ A dead junkie being remembered.:thumbsu:

LMAO@ How tortured and misunderdstood the poor love was.:o

LMAO@ How He finally realised it was Daves band and Dave wrote better lyrics
and melodies.

LMAO@ Anyone who misses him - LMAO@ THAT!

LMAO@ How He finally realised it was Daves band and Dave wrote better lyrics
and melodies.

Dave says he didn't write any songs for Nirvana though. :confused:

You know Dave was the drummer right? Kurt was the frontman. With blonde hair.

Dave says he didn't write any songs for Nirvana though. :confused:

You know Dave was the drummer right? Kurt was the frontman. With blonde hair.

Dave didn't receive/take any credit for his contribution to the arranging of melody,pocket and direction of the,"ideas" li'l kurt brought to rehursal.

Wasn't kurt the illegitimate child of self pity and identity ?

Dave didn't receive/take any credit for his contribution to the arranging of melody,pocket and direction of the,"ideas" li'l kurt brought to rehursal.

Dave got credit for SMTS as did Krist because they both contributed to the writing process (sped it up, rearranged the chrous/verse structure) so I would imagine they'd have gotten credit for any other songs they co-wrote, but Grohl has stated he didn't contribute much to the writing in Nirvana from what I've read.

Haven't met them, couldn't say.

i bow down to the "inside" knowledge you bring to this thread.:rolleyes:
i didn't realise that you knew a lot of what happened behind the scenes that wasn't made common knowledge.
when did your mate "dave" confide in you?
you make as much sense as your namesake when calling the footy "fwooooaaaarr":thumbsu:

Should have known this thread would be taken for a serious ride sometime.

You have the right to have an opinion, and a strong one, but you do not have the right to flat-out abuse another poster (multiple times) for having a different opinion. Poster has been dealt with.

i never really got the hype with nirvana, they just didnt do it for me.