The Magpie Post Match Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter betchsta

Brisbane lost to West Coast by 70 Points @ Home in 2003 so I can assume they buckled and missed the finals or something that Year?

Anyone refresh my memory...

Beat me to it mate.

Leigh Matthews said something last week about this being the wrong time to be playing your best football, that you want it to come in the leadup to the finals. I reckon he might know a thing or two about coaching...

Not sure if it has been mentioned but we had a couple of tough games coming into the dreamteam game, then we had 10 or so of our best 18 in the dreamteam game (which was effectively a by for Collingwood), and then we played last week in the most miserable conditions for some time. We had a short break as opposed to Collingwood's 7 day break. We had really nothing to prove, Collingwood's season was on the line. A couple of their players were probably at a cross roads in their careers - if Rocca had failed again last night he could well have found himself doing a Gehrig. And several of our players were clearly unfit (Ling and Dog noticeably) and probably shouldn't have played.

Collingwood barely made a serious error all night in executing their game plan. Our guys just couldn't put a foot right, and weren't helped by the occasional dodgy umpiring decision.

You don't have to win every game to win the flag. You don't have to finish on top of the ladder. You can even get the odd belting. Look at the absolute shellacking we gave the Eagles late in 2005 - they went on to lose the GF by a kick.

Re: I hate to say it.....

So according to your "logic" Scarlett, Hunt, Milburn, Egan, Enright etc. would all have been passengers last year because we were winning and the ball never got into our back half?

No. But simply, when we are down , Harley is always bad. He has trouble beating his opponent and is far more productive when he can leave his opponent and compete as the 3rd man. A good forward will usually beat Harley in one on one contests... being the reason he rarely gets quality forwards.

To add yo your garbage above... even when we were dominating, the players you specified damaged the opposition with great set-up work out of defense with quality disposal... Harley is slow and has VERY average disposal. If he doesn't take the best forwards, why is he there? Egan takes Pavlich / Reiwoldt etc and still sets up the play much MUCH better.

You can tap dance around it all you like in an effort to prove yourself right but all you're doing is compounding your mistakes, whatever "reasons" you come up with to try explaining it away, Harley had an outstanding year in 07, beat quality opponents and led by example, why is it so hard for you [ and your mate ] to acknowledge that simple fact?

Watch the game harder idiot... watch individual performances a little closer and you'll understand my perspective.

Re: I hate to say it

Are you a cat or a pussy?

Ok so I've been waiting to reply for a while now and untill my account was modded I couldn't. But here goes.

Marty K, my oh my, your arrogance only highlights your ignorance. It's quite an immautire view you have on who should be captain. It's funny how you think that to be captain you have to be a rockstar. Being a captain is like being the manager of a business or a sergent in the military. It doesn't matter how much you sell or how many men you may kill. What matters is how good you are at leading and the respect your team gives you. I could imagine by the way you talk that you are not so much a team player...More that you like to play with...I mean by yourself. More of a "solo" sportsman are you? If you had any idea you would probably realise that there's alot more that goes on behind the scenes that makes a captain a captain. You're view is very very shallow. I can assure you that when you ask any of the players who they want as the captain they'd say Harley and I know all the players have a real respect for him. When he talks they listen. Strength runs deep mate, this is something I know you musn't understand as the speed at which you jumped ship show's you have next to no inner strength.

I would like to also say to all those out there that bagged the team after this loss, you share the same weakness. I was totally amazed to see that actually the people that gave geelong the most support in this whole situation was those form other teams. I am ashamed that you call yourself "supporters" that word couldn't be a more ironic way of describing yourselves.

Support is about helping people when they are down. If you're partner is down you support them, if your mate's having a hard time, you support them. Support isn't about being a fairweather friend, support is about being there when times are tough, and the only disgraceful part of last nights game was those supporters that were so quickly to stab the team with the sharpest knife they had. Everyone has a bad day at the office, god know's I've wasted hours staring at a blank screen at my desk getting nothing done.

I'm with th cats all the way, I'm not going to be a pussy and run away. And I especially support Harley, he plays well when the chips are down, and he knows hoe to hold the team together. A coach doesn't do that, a captain does.

May I also remind everyone who's slagging off, this team lead you "supporters" (i use the term loosely) to a flag last year, 2 losses in how many games? and 8 -1 this season.

I'm proud to call myself a cat, martyk, you sir are a pussy.

Ok so I've been waiting to reply for a while now and untill my account was modded I couldn't. But here goes.

Marty K, my oh my, your arrogance only highlights your ignorance. It's quite an immautire view you have on who should be captain. It's funny how you think that to be captain you have to be a rockstar. Being a captain is like being the manager of a business or a sergent in the military. It doesn't matter how much you sell or how many men you may kill. What matters is how good you are at leading and the respect your team gives you. I could imagine by the way you talk that you are not so much a team player...More that you like to play with...I mean by yourself. More of a "solo" sportsman are you? If you had any idea you would probably realise that there's alot more that goes on behind the scenes that makes a captain a captain. You're view is very very shallow. I can assure you that when you ask any of the players who they want as the captain they'd say Harley and I know all the players have a real respect for him. When he talks they listen. Strength runs deep mate, this is something I know you musn't understand as the speed at which you jumped ship show's you have next to no inner strength.

Jumped ship, WTF? So what if Harley is a good leader. He doesn't set a good enough example on the ground so let him be an assistant coach then. Does a rock star's manager perform with the rock star on stage? NO! Get back in your box you little $hit.

Support is about helping people when they are down. If you're partner is down you support them, if your mate's having a hard time, you support them.

Support? I pay their salaries sunshine, I'll criticise all I like. Harley is most likely on $350k ish... while we're discussing this he is in his big house (just up the road from me by the way) playing his guitar, getting a hard on over his account balance... These guys are professionals you fool. Comparing a footy team to your partner is ludicrous. Get a life.... they get payed the big bucks for a reason.

Go get a box of kleenex Mr. Sensitive. I have no inner strength?? Pfft.. funniest thing I've heard for a long time you powder puff...

I would like to also say to all those out there that bagged the team after this loss, you share the same weakness. I was totally amazed to see that actually the people that gave geelong the most support in this whole situation was those form other teams. I am ashamed that you call yourself "supporters" that word couldn't be a more ironic way of describing yourselves.

Support is about helping people when they are down. If you're partner is down you support them, if your mate's having a hard time, you support them. Support isn't about being a fairweather friend, support is about being there when times are tough, and the only disgraceful part of last nights game was those supporters that were so quickly to stab the team with the sharpest knife they had. Everyone has a bad day at the office, god know's I've wasted hours staring at a blank screen at my desk getting nothing done.

I'm with th cats all the way, I'm not going to be a pussy and run away. And I especially support Harley, he plays well when the chips are down, and he knows hoe to hold the team together. A coach doesn't do that, a captain does.

May I also remind everyone who's slagging off, this team lead you "supporters" (i use the term loosely) to a flag last year, 2 losses in how many games? and 8 -1 this season.

FINALLY SOME SENSE instead of the "oh no the season's over" crap
It's ROUND 9 FFS WE WILL BOUNCE BACK AND WE WILL HIT OUR STRAPS

Support? I pay their salaries sunshine, I'll criticise all I like. Harley is most likely on $350k ish... while we're discussing this he is in his big house (just up the road from me by the way) playing his guitar, getting a hard on over his account balance... These guys are professionals you fool. Comparing a footy team to your partner is ludicrous. Get a life.... they get payed the big bucks for a reason.

If you aren't happy with your investment you can take it elsewhere. I think you'd find though that most Cats shareholders are more than happy with Harley. Bomber obviously is too, and given I suspect - no, I KNOW - he knows more about footy than you or I, I think I'll take his opinion over yours.

Haha, way to raise here bar there marty k, and thank you for clarifying my intial assessment of you.

Support isn't about how much money you do or don't give them, and how in anyway does that give you the right to critisize. If that's the case, mate I'll give you 2 bucks so I can keep having a shot at your idiotic responses.

I can assure you that's not how Harley behaves or thinks in his spare time. He works bloody hard mate, and lives and breathes the game.

You basically have no idea what you're talking about.

Jumped ship, WTF? So what if Harley is a good leader. He doesn't set a good enough example on the ground so let him be an assistant coach then. Does a rock star's manager perform with the rock star on stage? NO! Get back in your box you little $hit.

Support? I pay their salaries sunshine, I'll criticise all I like. Harley is most likely on $350k ish... while we're discussing this he is in his big house (just up the road from me by the way) playing his guitar, getting a hard on over his account balance... These guys are professionals you fool. Comparing a footy team to your partner is ludicrous. Get a life.... they get payed the big bucks for a reason....

How the hell do you do that? Paying for membership, and actually contributing 300k for Harley is another thing.

Just because you have a membership doesn't give you the license to be a tool. Does anyone do this to you in your job everytime you go out for a smoke or slacken off?

Being disappointed is fair, but whether you can rise above that and display positive behaviour is what leadership and being professional is all about. I bet the team will come out next week and be that.

Making irrelevant comments which are seen as dribble won't change the team, nor you. Start looking at the game with a glass half full approach.

The worst thing the playing group and coaching staff can do is fall into the trap of thinking 'well we got pumped oh well we'll be better for it'...and everyone saying 'brisbane and port got pumped in their premiership yrs and they were fine'. the players have to be prepared to get back to basics, going in hard and low, playing for each other and maintaining discipline, if we do that...no one can touch us.

You too are correct mate:thumbsu:
good post

Completely agree.

If I overreacted it's because I expect our team to treat a match against the club that's purported to be the "biggest" in the Victoria as if it were a final.

For mine a win over colonwood is equal to that of four victories over most other sides, it is that much sweeter. I just wish that Bomba drills that into the heads of our players for the next time we play them.

It's an excellent promotional opportunity for the club to get one over the fagpies, I don't understand why our players haven't learnt to loathe them like the rest of us and geared themselves up for this match accordingly.

Specially after all the "5 points away from being in Grand Final" crap that gets continuously spout by their supporters. A 100 + point thrashing would've shut'em up for good, alas it wasn't to be. :(

Agreed. No loss is ever good or necessary and 'having a bad night' is also rubbish. There were reasons for last night and they need to be addressed.

No. But simply, when we are down , Harley is always bad. He has trouble beating his opponent and is far more productive when he can leave his opponent and compete as the 3rd man. A good forward will usually beat Harley in one on one contests... being the reason he rarely gets quality forwards.

To add yo your garbage above... even when we were dominating, the players you specified damaged the opposition with great set-up work out of defense with quality disposal... Harley is slow and has VERY average disposal. If he doesn't take the best forwards, why is he there? Egan takes Pavlich / Reiwoldt etc and still sets up the play much MUCH better.

Watch the game harder idiot... watch individual performances a little closer and you'll understand my perspective.

You are entitled to your opinion, but try to remember it is just that hey? Other people on here happen to disagree with you, and when you get uppity and start the name calling it just reflects poorly on your argument.

I happen to think Harley doesn't get beaten in one on ones and in fact is a terrific contested mark. Being third man up is part of the cats defensive game plan, and Harley is the best at it too, as shown by the stats re: marks from opposition kicks. Shows he reads the play well and has the guts to leave his man to help out a team mate. I think Harley also has very good disposal....

Why you feel the need to be abusive is beyond me, and feel free to call me whatever names you like, but your points are purely opinion and not based on any tangible fact other than what you have seen and deduced, I happen to think you are wrong...but as i said, we are all entitled to our opinions.

For me I hope Harley can remain captain for several years to come.

Completely agree.

If I overreacted it's because I expect our team to treat a match against the club that's purported to be the "biggest" in the Victoria as if it were a final.

For mine a win over colonwood is equal to that of four victories over most other sides, it is that much sweeter. I just wish that Bomba drills that into the heads of our players for the next time we play them.

It's an excellent promotional opportunity for the club to get one over the fagpies, I don't understand why our players haven't learnt to loathe them like the rest of us and geared themselves up for this match accordingly.

Specially after all the "5 points away from being in Grand Final" crap that gets continuously spout by their supporters. A 100 + point thrashing would've shut'em up for good, alas it wasn't to be. :(

Nah, that will have to wait until finals time;)

i think we (as supporters) forget this game and hope to god that the players and coaching staff dont, learn from it and get that fire back in the belly to want to win, rather than expect to win.

but all in all i dont care if we lose to the hawks in rnd 17, as long as we beat em in the finals, especially if its the gf. i cant stand those pri*ks over all other teams.

i know this is jumping the gun but id love to see is harley keep franklin to like 1 behind, ling prevent mitchell from getting more than 10 possessions, rooke laying a massive tackle on williams that shakes him from his arrogant "im a god" mindset...etc

its a recurring dream that im quite enjoying

I'll try and keep this simple; Harley is not "always" bad when we're down, I could level the same accusation at Hunt but then I'd be just as guilty of gross exaggeration as yourself, and how exactly does that reflect on his contribution in 07 anyway, had an outstanding year by all parameters and yet you still insist he was a passenger.

And further on that, those other defenders mentioned who you say damage the opposition more then Harley with quality disposal included Corey Enright in case you didn't notice, a player you've repeatedly bagged in the past for having shoddy disposal, guess it suddenly improved when you thought it helped your argument.

"Has trouble beating his opponent" ..... "being the reason he rarely gets quality forwards" ..... I won't bother trotting out the list of players [ again ] that he flogged last year because it doesn't seem to sink into your head, you still keep trotting out the same tired, old, not to mention inaccurate argument.

Why is he there if he doesn't take the best forwards, well that's another brilliant observation you've thrown up, let's see then, Egan takes Pavlich / Reiwoldt, possibly Scarlett takes the next best, and then we don't worry about the rest going by your logic, because if a defender doesn't take the best forward he shouldn't be there, could get a bit messy with three of four opposition forwards running around without an opponent I'd imagine.

I couldn't possibly watch a game, or individual performances, or anything relating to footy hard enough to ever come close to understanding your perspective which is unique to you, and you alone I'm afraid.

of primary concern for me is the clumsiness with basic skills. Collingwood hardly dropped a mark, they nailed their handballs, and importantly they ran to space. We looked slow, fumbling and tired.

I certainly agree with that. What I don't like to see is some people talking about dropping players left right and centre, and others talking about retiring players, on the basis of a single game.

We have lost for the 2nd time in nearly 30 games, and according to our loyal "supporters", now our players are "fools", our captain is an "idiot", and half the side should be dropped? Oh i am so proud to be a Cats supporter these days...:rolleyes: