Mega Thread The Media Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

Geez bunch of penny pinching whiners in here. If your a Freo fan and love footy, just get a Kayo subscription (and you get heaps more sports too like the Super Bowl this Monday)
Agreed it's not like it is Foxtel prices which used to be the only option in the past...
Go halves with a mate/family member its 12.50 a month.

Geez bunch of penny pinching whiners in here. If your a Freo fan and love footy, just get a Kayo subscription (and you get heaps more sports too like the Super Bowl this Monday)
Careful mate. There's plenty of reasons why a person will not be happy forking over those extra dollars. Lots of them to do with economic reasons and when you see organisations that annually love to increase their profit margins, you can't help but feel gipped at this change that puts more costs onto the viewer.

On RMX2001 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Completely agree. Kayo is bloody brilliant. Nowhere near as expensive as Foxtel Sports but with many more options. Cheaper than Netflix and gets watched far more by me. My Dad (who is sports mad) visited from the UK just before COVID hit last year - still complains about how he can't get something like Kayo in the UK.

Careful mate. There's plenty of reasons why a person will not be happy forking over those extra dollars. Lots of them to do with economic reasons and when you see organisations that annually love to increase their profit margins, you can't help but feel gipped at this change that puts more costs onto the viewer.

On RMX2001 using BigFooty.com mobile app
Sport is a business. If your a business that isn't looking to increase your profit margins year on year then your probably not a business for long..

If your a smoker buy 2 less packs a month = Kayo
5 takeaways coffees a month = Kayo

It's not hard..

I'll echo the Kayo praise.

It's a great product and $12.50 a month for wall-to-wall sport from all around the globe is very reasonably priced. I don't know how any sports fan could look at that and claim it's a rip-off, particularly when it spares you from in-game adverts.

At some point being frugal starts to verge on being unreasonable and entitled.

I emailed the club today and this is not available at the moment given the ongoing negotiations for the broadcast deal :(

There’s no chance I’m paying $245 for the afl subscription, so it’s looking like another season of dodgy streams for me :'(

You would think this would be ironed out by the start of the season. Neither side would want to start the season without an agreement in place. I would wait and see if it becomes an option in March. You can always become a member then!

Superbowl is also on free to air though - not that I'm a fan, although I have picked up enough of the rules of the game now not to think it is complete crap.

Agreed it's not like it is Foxtel prices which used to be the only option in the past...
Go halves with a mate/family member its 12.50 a month.
And with no contract period, sign up on the day before the season starts and cancel at the end of the season, barely 6 months.

I think the situation has certainly improved since the days we got one WAFL game a week on ABC and an hour of AFL on The Winners.

Any chance we've got a bit entitled? :)

I mean, it's fair point to put things in perspective but it's pretty unfair to suggest people are entitled here. Most people are just reacting to the bad faith showed by all parties involved which is a pretty standard thing to have a gripe with

Fair enough, affordable live sports coverage is a basic human right after all.

FFS, I was trying to lighten it up with a bit of nostalgia. I'm grateful for the coverage we get these days, even when it's not free.

I'll echo the Kayo praise.

It's a great product and $12.50 a month for wall-to-wall sport from all around the globe is very reasonably priced. I don't know how any sports fan could look at that and claim it's a rip-off, particularly when it spares you from in-game adverts.

At some point being frugal starts to verge on being unreasonable and entitled.

How can anyone begrudge $12.50 a month ?.

That equals one 12 game Lotto slickpik, or a pint or two of your favour brew.

I think the situation has certainly improved since the days we got one WAFL game a week on ABC and an hour of AFL on The Winners.

Any chance we've got a bit entitled? :)

The Winners was a far better programme, than the one’s produced today.

Over to you, Doug & Drew.

The Winners was a far better programme, than the one’s produced today.

Over to you, Doug & Drew.
And commentators and viewed never seemed to have an issue with differentiating teams in North and Collingwood games. Look at the colour of the shorts people! 😜