Mega Thread The Media Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

The clubs that appear on Friday night isn’t all about the AFL administration. It’s also about ratings for Channel 7. I think it is fair to say we don’t increase TV ratings.

We won’t increase ratings until we have more rusted on fans.

We don’t need rusted on fans for ratings. We need to be perceived as playing attractive football. We have been viewed as the opposite for years.

I always dreaded Friday night games because we’d invariably lose them.

First one we ever won was "Looooonnggmmuuuuuuiiirrr. Longmuir's taken a screamer!"

Massive Credit to McPharlin! Who was the real hero in that passage of play? I reckon 51/49 to JLo. :thumbsu:

First one we ever won was "Looooonnggmmuuuuuuiiirrr. Longmuir's taken a screamer!"

Ah man! I totally remember living that moment. Sat in that ground block directly in line with Longy through the goal posts. Perfectly straight! When I got home I taped the 2nd half. I drag this out periodically from time to time lol

On RMX2001 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Ah man! I totally remember living that moment. Sat in that ground block directly in line with Longy through the goal posts. Perfectly straight! When I got home I taped the 2nd half. I drag this out periodically from time to time lol

Me too. I used to sit on the corner of the centre square, Railway Pde side, towards city end, opposite big screen, 5 rows back from the fence. Great viewing. Can't say I was directly behind the kick, but from that spot, it was pretty close. Had the full view of the goals, and watched it sail through from behind. Screamed myself hoarse (and may have even peed myself a little. Or not. But very close. :D ) What a night!

Credit too to Farmer who saw ahead and stopped chasing. He corralled the player leading to McPharlin’s tackle.

Jeff Farmer played it very well too. He laid back rather than pressed on the guy with the ball which enabled Lukey Mac to catch him unawares. Was very clever from The Wiz.

True - these two were also the ones who got the ‘whispers in the sky’ (🙄) frees which got us close enough to take it out. McPharlin and the Wiz - the unsung heroes! 😉

We don’t need rusted on fans for ratings. We need to be perceived as playing attractive football. We have been viewed as the opposite for years.
Very true. But Carlton, for instance, has played some of the most diabolical football we have seen this century and got plenty of marque timeslots during those dark days (for them at least). Its because the TV networks know that there are enough Carlton fans out there that tune in no matter how bad they are.

That's what we need to consistently get the big timeslots. Until then we will always be an off-Broadway team with nothing but cameos on Friday Night Footy when we are having a good run.

At the end of the day success breeds success. It’s shit that we don’t have Friday night games but we win 5/6 to open the season?
We’ll be on Friday night then. We have been long enough in the doldrums and really anything less than finals next season would be a massive disappointment

I think the only way we are on Friday night is if the club asks for it to be an away game as I think they don't want us playing in Perth on a weeknight as it's difficult to get the stadium filled.

If it's an away game and we are playing Saturdays and Sundays, then we have to travel on a short turn around.

But even then we don't rate highly in Victoria. So perhaps our game against the Pies

At the end of the day success breeds success. It’s sh*t that we don’t have Friday night games but we win 5/6 to open the season?
We’ll be on Friday night then. We have been long enough in the doldrums and really anything less than finals next season would be a massive disappointment
Don't think Friday night games are linked to success as Carlton regularly gets Friday night games

Also Friday nights doesn't really work in Perth

MCG Friday night game would be huge for a W.A club

Melbourne Friday night games and Perth Friday night games start more or less at the same time.

Usually around 5:40 Perth time (7:40 Melbourne time). It’s so different tbh.

In Melbourne you finish work, can get dinner in the city and head off to the footy after peak hour. In Perth, unless you work in the city and/or finish well before 5pm there’s no way you’re making it to a 5:40 game.

As the year draws to a close I'd just like to say another big thanks to Dale147 for his media contributions.

For those of us on the East Coast it is a huge help getting to read (most) of the WA media on offer.

If there is a new media thread for 2021 let's make it a crumpet free zone. It's horrible for indigestion.

As the year draws to a close I'd just like to say another big thanks to Dale147 for his media contributions.

For those of us on the East Coast it is a huge help getting to read (most) of the WA media on offer.

If there is a new media thread for 2021 let's make it a crumpet free zone. It's horrible for indigestion.
👍👍

I know it might seem that way IP, given we had diabolical FNF form before that match - but we did win a few games played on Friday nights prior to that.

I'm thinking specifically of Tony Modra's 10 goals at the MCG against the Dees, not to mention the last game we won under Gerard Neesham by 1 point over Adelaide. I believe the famous Andrew Wills aeroplane goal came against North on a Friday night earlier in 1998, a match I think we got up in also...

Hey guys & girls. I hope it's ok I post in here.

In our latest podcast my mate and I do, we kicked off our 2020 club reviews discussing Fremantle.

From the 3.15min we talk about the year the Dockers had.
Give us a listen if you have a spare 15mins. Hope you enjoy it.

FREMANTLE @ 3.15min
- Longmuir best 1st year coach
- Brayshaw, Cerra & Serong finally lessen load on Fyfe & Walters
- Ryan & Cox stand up down back
- Price paid for Hogan costs chance to draft B. King
- Positional changes for Blakely & S. Hill