• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

Hmmmm...yep - touché.
Bad intel there - never again.
If it’s any consolation my shoulders are rooted - getting too old to hand pull pots.
No issues, wasn’t having a go at you. It turned out there was an elbow infection flare up but all pretty minor. Fyfe’s shoulders are flipping massive so reckon he’ll be ok.

Tell ya mate to stick to fishing out Crays 👍🏻

How good is it having a pre season not waiting for bennel or Hogan to break down or implode..
Good call by the bell

Never a truer post on here, just monitor the Former Freo Players thread to get all the latest on Bennel and Hogan. To be fair to both they have been quite so far for the eight days in 2021. But we know it probably won't last unfortunately.

No issues, wasn’t having a go at you. It turned out there was an elbow infection flare up but all pretty minor. Fyfe’s shoulders are flipping massive so reckon he’ll be ok.

Tell ya mate to stick to fishing out Crays 👍🏻
All good, I didn’t take offence - fishing and goss goes hand in hand- should’ve known better.... 🤙🏻

Good mate Sumich stirring up trouble saying we should of traded Fyfe for more picks inside the top 10. The good old "West Coast Australian" just never stops. SO we were supposed to let Fyfe free to win a premiership somewhere else. Did that happen with Matthew Richardson, Nick Reiwoldt, Gary Lyon, etc? And exactly how many more top draft picks are we supposed to have.. nothing like a disgruntled ex coach who cant get another spot in the AFL trying to hold on to being still relevant.

And yet some wonder why there are people such as myself who never want Sumich or any Eagle associated with the club FFS!

Would a club that could afford to pay multiable top 10 draft picks for Fyfe be somewhere Fyfe would be willing to go? A lot of these hypothetical trade scenarios always seem to be playing with imaginary draft picks rather than the reality of the situation.

it’s good to see Sumich showing why so many of us here didn’t want him as coach

Peter Sumich says Fremantle Dockers should have traded superstar Nat Fyfe for bounty of draft picks
Headshot of Braden Quartermaine

Braden QuartermaineThe West Australian
Fremantle should have had the courage to trade superstar skipper Nat Fyfe in November for a draft pick bonanza, according to former Dockers assistant Peter Sumich.

And Sumich believes Fyfe, 29, might be receptive to a move to chase a premiership after five straight years out of the finals at the Dockers.

The West Coast great believes Fremantle are racing the clock to win a breakthrough flag with Fyfe, but trading him out could turbo-charge a future assault.

“I would have sold Nat Fyfe and probably got another two or three picks inside 10,” Sumich said.
“He’s got common sense Nat. He wants to play in a premiership. Whether Fremantle can get that for him in the next five years, I don’t know.

But I think Fremantle can win one from five (years) onwards by getting a lot of young kids in, which I think they’re doing well now.”

Fyfe played in Fremantle’s only grand final, in 2013, as a 22-year-old. His last final was the 2015 preliminary final loss to Hawthorn, which came three days before he won his first Brownlow Medal.

The dual Brownlow medallist is half-way through the six-year mega deal he signed in 2017, which runs until the end of 2023.

Fyfe at training this week.

Fyfe at training this week. Credit: Kelsey Reid/The West Australian
Sumich told 6PR if he was coaching the Dockers he would initiate a discussion with Fyfe about his future.

“I would have maybe went to Nat and said: ‘look Nat, I probably can’t win you one right now. I’ll get you to wherever you want to go to win one. Go and win one son’,” he said.

“And we’ll get another three picks inside 10 and get some quality and we’ll win one in five-plus years onwards.

“That’s me. Fremantle don’t want to do that right now with Nat. That’s fine. That’s only a Peter Sumich call if he was coaching.”

Sumich believes a Fyfe move remains an option for year’s trade period, when he will be 30.

“I think Nat deserves a premiership. I think Matthew Pavlich did and he probably could have left to go to Adelaide and maybe made Adelaide better to win one,” he said.

“I think Nat’s at that stage where he either says ‘alright I’m staying here and wherever it takes me it takes me’. Or ‘look boys, move me on in the next 12 months if I can’t see a premiership and I want to go to such and such a club to win one’.

“That’s what you play for. You don’t play for Brownlows. You don’t play for fairest and bests.

“If you’re doing that, you’re in the wrong game in my opinion. They’re all great things on the side. But you play in a team sport to win premierships.”

Sumich 101 that statement

I think it sucks and downgrades the value of the premiership medal when players are encouraged to opt out of their long term "team" to put a cherry on top of their career highlights..If the big Pav had done that do you really think he would have enjoyed it as much as the real thing?

“I would have maybe went to Nat and said: ‘look Nat, I probably can’t win you one right now. I’ll get you to wherever you want to go to win one. Go and win one son’,” he said.

“And we’ll get another three picks inside 10 and get some quality and we’ll win one in five-plus years onwards.

“That’s me. Fremantle don’t want to do that right now with Nat. That’s fine. That’s only a Peter Sumich call if he was coaching.”

Thank Christ he wasn't appointed. Further proof why anything Sumich or Crumpet face content should be banned from Twitter.

There are a lot elements that would need to fall into place for tip top Suma’s theory to even come into fruition.

Sumich was obsessed with us having a shot at Logan and possibly DGB. He was happy we selected the next best in Chapman.

The premiership window clubs don’t have top 5 picks. Leaving WB out of the equation as they had the academy top 1 pick.

There was Adelaide, North, Sydney, Hawks and GWS. Aside from Sydney the other four clubs look miles off the mark. Sydney I feel will climb a bit but are in a similar boat to Freo. Then Essendon had a bunch of picks and they really needed to hit the draft after trading in heaps over the past few years. By that time we’re out to pick 11/12 with Adelaide and North and similar to the pick 14 we already had.

So yeah North come along and offer two top 12 picks but Fyfe will go no thanks Freo if I’m off I’ll take my chances with Geelong, St Kilda, Richmond or WB. These clubs can only really offer a mid to late first round and a future 1st.

I guess North could package up these picks to a Top 8 Vic Club for another player and then on trade but really seems a very long shot. Also some of these clubs are at the bottom end of the 8 and with a FA and some further new draftees who’s to say we won’t be pushing up to the top 6 in 2022.

He’s not real bright ole tip top.

Thank Christ he wasn't appointed. Further proof why anything Sumich or Crumpet face content should be banned from Twitter.

They're absolute clowns but that's a touch OTT. I prefer to simply laugh at them and move on to more meaningful discussion

The dumb thing about the Sumich article is him saying that Pavlich should have been traded to a SA club for picks so Pav could have got "his" flag and we could have improved our last rebuild.

Well you dumb mulakka he got within 2-and-a-half kicks to a flag with us -- which is closer than either SA club got during the same time period.

I wonder if Deledio is happy he left Richmond to get "his" flag?

It surprises me Suma (who has been around the AFL system a long time has no clue how trading or drafting actually works.

He first said to trade up (after the trade period was done) to get a pick to get Logan McDonald. No consideration that we didn’t have the picks to make that happen and no consideration that the teams with top picks would not want to trade.

Now trade Fyfe to a team in the premiership window 2/3 top ten picks. Teams in premiership windows don’t have 2/3 top ten picks and certainly don’t have a $1m+ laying around to pay a player like Nat Fyfe.

The more hear of him the more he reminds me of Trump. “Just make it happen”

Now I remember Suma said he was going to have a go at a media career. Must be trying shock value to gain relevance.

Peter Sumich says Fremantle Dockers should have traded superstar Nat Fyfe for bounty of draft picks
Headshot of Braden Quartermaine

Braden QuartermaineThe West Australian
Fremantle should have had the courage to trade superstar skipper Nat Fyfe in November for a draft pick bonanza, according to former Dockers assistant Peter Sumich.

And Sumich believes Fyfe, 29, might be receptive to a move to chase a premiership after five straight years out of the finals at the Dockers.

The West Coast great believes Fremantle are racing the clock to win a breakthrough flag with Fyfe, but trading him out could turbo-charge a future assault.

“I would have sold Nat Fyfe and probably got another two or three picks inside 10,” Sumich said.
“He’s got common sense Nat. He wants to play in a premiership. Whether Fremantle can get that for him in the next five years, I don’t know.

But I think Fremantle can win one from five (years) onwards by getting a lot of young kids in, which I think they’re doing well now.”

Fyfe played in Fremantle’s only grand final, in 2013, as a 22-year-old. His last final was the 2015 preliminary final loss to Hawthorn, which came three days before he won his first Brownlow Medal.

The dual Brownlow medallist is half-way through the six-year mega deal he signed in 2017, which runs until the end of 2023.

Fyfe at training this week.

Fyfe at training this week. Credit: Kelsey Reid/The West Australian
Sumich told 6PR if he was coaching the Dockers he would initiate a discussion with Fyfe about his future.

Sumich believes a Fyfe move remains an option for year’s trade period, when he will be 30.

“I think Nat deserves a premiership. I think Matthew Pavlich did and he probably could have left to go to Adelaide and maybe made Adelaide better to win one,” he said.

“I think Nat’s at that stage where he either says ‘alright I’m staying here and wherever it takes me it takes me’. Or ‘look boys, move me on in the next 12 months if I can’t see a premiership and I want to go to such and such a club to win one’.

“That’s what you play for. You don’t play for Brownlows. You don’t play for fairest and bests.

“If you’re doing that, you’re in the wrong game in my opinion. They’re all great things on the side. But you play in a team sport to win premierships.”

I can’t think of a recent opinion I have disliked or disagreed with more.

His comments clearly show he doesn’t think Freo can win GF in the next 5 years. Is this the kind of coach we want? I wouldn’t care if Sumich never steps foot again in FFC facilities.

Thank you, thank you, thank you garlic, bell and co. for hiring JLo. [emoji120]