The off topic thread 5.0

• Thread starter Thread starter Cruyff14

For asking for vaccines because we helped the other States? I dunno, what's the issue with asking?

We did a lot of the heavy lifting with international arrivals and not closing borders when other states had issues (including Vic earlier this year), so don't think it's that out of line mate.
Well (without getting into a shitfight), Gladys a month ago said they'd be giving no vaccines to Vic.

Bit rich really IMO.

Well (without getting into a shitfight), Gladys a month ago said they'd be giving no vaccines to Vic.

Bit rich really IMO.

Were Vic in a lockdown a month ago? Not trying to start a back and forth but how is that at all comparable mate? Just think your reaction to the request is a really weird one given the context around it.

Yes a short lockdown in early or mid June when the comment was made by Gladys

Not a fan of giving up our vaccines if hard proper lockdowns and a ring of steel isnt in NSWs plans.

Ironically I'm pretty sure I heard if we implemented a ring of steel then the imported vaccines would be stuck in NSW.

VIC and NSW are taking on the majority international travellers so they should be vaccinated well ahead of other states as the fed govt. botched MIQ puts them at constant risk of outbreaks

Yeah we were as JD mentioned.

Yeah the circuit breaker. This one was meant to be the same but unfortunately it wasn't to be.

Guess my point is that's hardly comparable to a state that has been in lockdown for a month and isn't coming out any time soon, that's all.

At the time we were also still holding an open border (we had a bunch of footy games up here because we didn't close the border), so doing a fair bit for Vic.

Yeah was the short sharp one to get it sorted quickly. She said that another state having a problem wouldn't see her wanting to give up her state's vaccines.....

It's amazing how much things can change in this pandemic, hey. At the time it seemed like Australia was broadly over large outbreaks apart from small spot fires.

Remember when a bloke looking for a BBQ was the biggest issue in NSW? That went away pretty quick.

It's amazing how much things can change in this pandemic, hey. At the time it seemed like Australia was broadly over large outbreaks apart from small spot fires.

Remember when a bloke looking for a BBQ was the biggest issue in NSW? That went away pretty quick.
It's scary too.

Just two months ago the country looked to be out of this, and right now, that seems like a distant memory. Back on a long road out.

I think Sydney won't be semi normal again until at least October.

Changes quick only due to her slow actions.

Yet she was quick to make a comment like that when the shit wasn't on her doorstep. And quick to make comments about her own gold standards when it wasn't there also.

But the minute it is left at her state's doorstep she stalls for a couple of weeks and then cries about it saying she now needs help.

Doesn't mean NSW public dont deserve help.

But its a bit rich coming from her. If she had kept her mouth shut instead of gloating or rubbing noses in it when other states needed support she wouldn't get the backlash

Changes quick only due to her slow actions.

Yet she was quick to make a comment like that when the sh*t wasn't on her doorstep. And quick to make comments about her own gold standards when it wasn't there also.

But the minute it is left at her state's doorstep she stalls for a couple of weeks and then cries about it saying she now needs help.

Doesn't mean NSW public dont deserve help.

But its a bit rich coming from her. If she had kept her mouth shut instead of gloating or rubbing noses in it when other states needed support she wouldn't get the backlash

No changes quick because of the new strain that hit Aus. Taking the old approach was clearly a mistake.

It didn't come from her, it came from Hazzard? Probably on her behalf, but the desperation to bash her for everything on here is pretty gross.

No changes quick because of the new strain that hit Aus. Taking the old approach was clearly a mistake.

It didn't come from her, it came from Hazzard? Probably on her behalf, but the desperation to bash her for everything on here is pretty gross.
If she wasn't a flog she wouldn't cop it.

Came from her minister. Doubt she wouldn't be in agreeance with Hazzard or have directed him to make the comment

I don't think the "we found out the old strategy doesn't work with a more infectious strain" argument holds too well compared to the multiple instances of snap lockdowns working well.

And even then it took a) way too long to put in any restrictions and b) way too long to tighten them.

The state was put under pressure by Morrison's constant praise, so the government tried as hard as they could to not impose restrictions and here we are.

Bit of a childish attitude but you do you.
They (gold standard & no other state should get our vaccines) were flog comments to make a month ago. They were then. And they are now. The egg firmly on her face now is unfortunate for the poor people in her state

I don't think the "we found out the old strategy doesn't work with a more infectious strain" argument holds too well compared to the multiple instances of snap lockdowns working well.

And even then it took a) way too long to put in any restrictions and b) way too long to tighten them.

The state was put under pressure by Morrison's constant praise, so the government tried as hard as they could to not impose restrictions and here we are.

I more meant that NSW's approach had to that point worked. Maybe a little bit of fortune with the geographical nature of the Northern Beaches contributed to hubris, but hard to say too much. Our approach to the start of this was that we could deal with it like the other outbreaks, but the infectiousness of the Delta strain impacted that. I do completely agree the lockdown should have been harder, quicker though.