The off topic thread 5.0

• Thread starter Thread starter Cruyff14

Has anyone watched The White Lotus. I heard good things so decided to check it out and absolutely burned through season 1 and 2.

It's stupid good. I highly recommend!
Season 1 was excellent. Armond was brilliant, faaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrkkkkkkk.

Tried season 2, wasnt as good. Will probs give it a try again.

We all know teachers

We all know they don't get a full 13 weeks holidays

We also all see them not working on random Tuesdays and Wednesdays mid to late january at the AO when people with 4 weeks annual are working
Yet most tradies I know took an annual leave day last Friday after the public holiday, and will roll that into an RDO tomorrow for a 5 day weekend.

Lots of professions have little perks. You mean to tell me businessmen in the city don’t take long lunches on Friday afternoons, essentially clocking off at 2pm…

Yet most tradies I know took an annual leave day last Friday after the public holiday, and will roll that into an RDO tomorrow for a 5 day weekend.

Lots of professions have little perks. You mean to tell me businessmen in the city don’t take long lunches on Friday afternoons, essentially clocking off at 2pm…
Agree. And anyone who gets 2 weeks off over Chrissy/NYE sucks to us hospo workers.

I also see teachers working weekends to finish marking assignments due, or staying up past midnight writing reports. Not really sure what your AO point means.
So what do they do with their time from 3.30 to 6pm? Reports these days are generic copy and paste. A few times my kids reports had another name on them.

In my day they were handwritten and far more personalised

Comparing taking an annual leave day to get a 5 day weekend with 13 weeks school holidays?

I get all professions have perks. My points that teachers regularly go on and on about the fact they work their 13 weeks of holidays, it's all you ever really hear tbh. Not doubt they work some of it and aren't a 0.8 FTE, they'd be somewhere between 0.85 and 0.95

A lot of my tradie mates work six days a week and some never take 4 weeks off a year. The office Friday 2pm clock offs to the pub are mostly are a thing of the past as well especially last 20-25 years

Season 1 was excellent. Armond was brilliant, faaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrkkkkkkk.

Tried season 2, wasnt as good. Will probs give it a try again.

Actually preferred S2, not quite sure why. Think I liked the theme better.

So what do they do with their time from 3.30 to 6pm? Reports these days are generic copy and paste. A few times my kids reports had another name on them.

In my day they were handwritten and far more personalised

Looks like your kids are at a shit school.

Most teachers don't leave school until 4.30/5pm, a school day for them is usually 8-4 or 9-5 just like everyone else.

A lot of my tradie mates work six days a week and some never take 4 weeks off a year. The office Friday 2pm clock offs to the pub are mostly are a thing of the past as well especially last 20-25 years

Yeah these days everyone just works from home and does a couple of hours of busy work between watching tv.

I know plenty of people who clock off at about 3 on a Friday to go play golf or head to the pub, which is about as much of an authority as your 'all teachers just copy paste report comments because my kids got someone else's comments'.

Every job has perks and shit elements, but I reckon standing up and presenting to a class of 25-30 kids 5-6 times a day, five days a week, even excluding all the other admin they have to do is a pretty tough go. Barely get toilet breaks, and if they're on lunch duty they're inhaling lunch when they get the chance. Even if they did get to just sit on their ass for 10 weeks of holidays I reckon they earn it.

Tradies who take regular smokos, clock off early, **** around on jobs, yeah they have it pretty tough. And then there's other tradies who do work hard. Just like every profession. There's some lazy teachers, and a lot of hard working ones.

Looks like your kids are at a s**t school.

Most teachers don't leave school until 4.30/5pm, a school day for them is usually 8-4 or 9-5 just like everyone else.
Far from it. No need to get shitty.

Another gripe is the teacher development days. Why can’t these be placed during term breaks rather than costing kids days of school? 13 weeks off and they can’t fit a few days of training in?

Far from it. No need to get shitty.

Another gripe is the teacher development days. Why can’t these be placed during term breaks rather than costing kids days of school? 13 weeks off and they can’t fit a few days of training in?

You were the one who said they get copy pasted report comments, if that's happening, that's a shit school.

They are aren't they? My wife was back in at school last week doing development days, with kids not back until next Tuesday. Same with friends in a number of other schools. Which schools do them during term?

Yeah these days everyone just works from home and does a couple of hours of busy work between watching tv.

I know plenty of people who clock off at about 3 on a Friday to go play golf or head to the pub, which is about as much of an authority as your 'all teachers just copy paste report comments because my kids got someone else's comments'.

Every job has perks and s**t elements, but I reckon standing up and presenting to a class of 25-30 kids 5-6 times a day, five days a week, even excluding all the other admin they have to do is a pretty tough go. Barely get toilet breaks, and if they're on lunch duty they're inhaling lunch when they get the chance. Even if they did get to just sit on their ass for 10 weeks of holidays I reckon they earn it.

Tradies who take regular smokos, clock off early, * around on jobs, yeah they have it pretty tough. And then there's other tradies who do work hard. Just like every profession. There's some lazy teachers, and a lot of hard working ones.
Maybe some but the two places I’ve worked at everyone works just as hard at home to get stuff done, projects successfully completed etc

Yep, but you'd be surprised how much more productive people can be when they know they can then just chill out at home. The amount of ****ing around that goes on in an office with coffee breaks, chatting in the kitchen, catching up on people's weekends etc. is all cut out at home. You get your head down, get the work done, and work to your own hours. Teachers don't have that luxury.

You were the one who said they get copy pasted report comments, if that's happening, that's a s**t school.

They are aren't they? My wife was back in at school last week doing development days, with kids not back until next Tuesday. Same with friends in a number of other schools. Which schools do them during term?
Ok fair enough. Both primary and secondary schools my kids went to (catholic) took days off during term usually next to other public holidays. I remember a couple of years where they took two days in a row. Ridiculous

I mean it's not really 'days off' if it's training, but agree it's strange that they don't do it at the end of the holidays. Think most schools up here (or at least the schools I know of via friends) do it in the last week of holidays so teachers are back in a few days before the kids.

Agree. And anyone who gets 2 weeks off over Chrissy/NYE sucks to us hospo workers.
Postal network.

I got 26th and 27th (Xmas was weekend) and 1st and 2nd off. Working 5-10 hours over contracted amount from October to new year.

Taking annual leave around Easter. Actually going to that round of footy in Adelaide. Always wanted to go to AO and got a free ticket as a member.

Postal network.

I got 26th and 27th (Xmas was weekend) and 1st and 2nd off. Working 5-10 hours over contracted amount from October to new year.

Taking annual leave around Easter. Actually going to that round of footy in Adelaide. Always wanted to go to AO and got a free ticket as a member.

I'm heading there too, just need to see if I can get the leave approved. Easter break stuffing up our timetable so might need to fly in on the Friday instead of Thursday. Should be good fun.

Comparing taking an annual leave day to get a 5 day weekend with 13 weeks school holidays?

I get all professions have perks. My points that teachers regularly go on and on about the fact they work their 13 weeks of holidays, it's all you ever really hear tbh. Not doubt they work some of it and aren't a 0.8 FTE, they'd be somewhere between 0.85 and 0.95
If I had to spend 40 weeks a year with your (collective, not you specifically) bratty, snotty little children I’d want time off too.

And I think the counter point you’re missing is that the stuff you’re saying is a bit overblown.

That’s not true. Go to most pubs in the city on a Friday and it will be packed with office workers, to the point people knock off even earlier now to get a table. I know because I’m one of them.

You’re right that tradies can often work 6 day weeks, but they are paid well to do it. Add on top of that plenty of them take the day off at the first sign of drizzle. Again I’ve been there done that.

Every job has pros and cons. Looking after 30 kids for over 6 hours a day would want to come with some pretty serious perks. Even then the major perk comes with knowing you’ll pay double if you want to actually travel in your holidays. If it was such a good job we’d all do it.

That’s not true. Go to most pubs in the city on a Friday and it will be packed with office workers, to the point people knock off even earlier now to get a table. I know because I’m one of them.

You’re right that tradies can often work 6 day weeks, but they are paid well to do it. Add on top of that plenty of them take the day off at the first sign of drizzle. Again I’ve been there done that.

Every job has pros and cons. Looking after 30 kids for over 6 hours a day would want to come with some pretty serious perks. Even then the major perk comes with knowing you’ll pay double if you want to actually travel in your holidays. If it was such a good job we’d all do it.

And the pay is miserable so you can't even take advantage of the holiday break lol.

A younger relative of mine is new to the teacher profession and during his last year of his course was virtually out in charge of year 9 class in one of the roughest schools around. A couple of kids who disrupted the class constantly took a particular disliking to him and caused all sorts of trouble including making allegations that proved to be false. Other times he’s been subtly surrounded in corridors and intimidated. To his credit he accepted a full time role. Tough gig at some schools

Live in a two tiered city. Northern suburbs a generational ghetto of neglect. Got a mate who is a teacher out there and he’s part social/youth worker in reality. Lots of kids don’t care about school, live in homes with decades of unemployment. Disruptive in class, bring/sell drugs at school.

Bully the small set of students who actually want to better themselves.

Hard to inspire young minds with what the world has to offer when the area they live in has decades of neglect, and limited opportunities after school.

Live in a two tiered city. Northern suburbs a generational ghetto of neglect. Got a mate who is a teacher out there and he’s part social/youth worker in reality. Lots of kids don’t care about school, live in homes with decades of unemployment. Disruptive in class, bring/sell drugs at school.

Bully the small set of students who actually want to better themselves.

Hard to inspire young minds with what the world has to offer when the area they live in has decades of neglect, and limited opportunities after school.

That's the other killer for teachers, they're expected to do more than just teach, they need to be on the look out for any issues with the kids whether it be depression, autism, ADHD, etc. to alert school staff, they have to be mentors for a lot of these kids and look after their general well being, not just teach them how to do long division.

That’s not true, the average teacher salary is $85k a year which is $17k above the nation average for full time workers.

I'd love to get into the nuances of how many contact hours teachers put in compared to the average full time worker but 99 Problems has gone into it pretty well above so not going to repeat what he's said, but even teachers on 85k for the amount of work they're doing are substantially underpaid. Otherwise as 99 Problems pointed out, if you're correct that they're paid a good wage for good hours and have it easy, there'd be a surplus of teachers not a massive shortage.