The off topic thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Cruyff14

I reckon career guidance at school needs a big improvement. What I thought I wanted to do at school I would be horrified at the thought of doing now.

It's hard because your lifestyle changes so much but I still reckon more could have been done in my era. And from the sounds people still go into the real world not really knowing what they want to do.
I wanted to be Ricky Nixon when I left school :drunk::drunk::drunk::drunk:

Studied Sports Management for 6 months then ****ed that right off

Shit going down in Nice, not good. My girlfriend has a friend who was actually at the scene, got pushed into and locked into a club, and bolted for the back door and managed to get away. Just absolutely awful that this is happening so frequently now and I just don't know what the answer is.
Wow that's horrific, have spent a bit of time there and it's such a wonderful and relaxed city. These attacks are becoming so unpredictable that no one is safe.

Saying whole families have been wiped out.

It's ****ing deplorable. It makes my blood boil - which is unfortunately what these bastards want

So sad. Of all the places I've been in the past 3-4 years Nice is the one place I've always said was the place I would love to go back to / live in

As SM said, where do we go from here? I just don't know, shootings happening everywhere, terrorists attacks in Europe.

Just disgusting that human beings can do such things, we've been blessed with this beautiful world, and get the chance to live a life in it, ONE chance is all everyone gets at life and these bastards want to spend theirs doing this type of shit?????

****ing furious.

Why France?

Huge Muslim populations with a lot of dischord between the Christian and Islamic communities which just stokes extremism.

Did you watch the show on ABC Monday night about a reporter that went undercover with IS? They are absolute nutters most of them. They use secure messaging services which makes them difficult to track. The cell the reporter went undercover with was arrested and the reporter got threatening messages from them. Very scary.

Just disgusting that human beings can do such things, we've been blessed with this beautiful world, and get the chance to live a life in it, ONE chance is all everyone gets at life and these bastards want to spend theirs doing this type of shit?????
Absolutely messed up!

Honestly religion does more harm than good these days which is sad

Did you watch the show on ABC Monday night about a reporter that went undercover with IS? They are absolute nutters most of them. They use secure messaging services which makes them difficult to track. The cell the reporter went undercover with was arrested and the reporter got threatening messages from them. Very scary.

Yep saw that, it's insane. And the issue is these aren't immigrants coming in, they're French nationals. So all this talk of restricting people entering countries is coming too late. It's this hateful language on both sides of the divide that are just accelerating this hatred.

It's this hateful language on both sides of the divide that are just accelerating this hatred.
This hatred would exist anyway. In fact they see the west as weak and our societies as easy targets. They know we are too scared to really do anything against them

Yep saw that, it's insane. And the issue is these aren't immigrants coming in, they're French nationals. So all this talk of restricting people entering countries is coming too late. It's this hateful language on both sides of the divide that are just accelerating this hatred.

They were having meetings in Maccas ffs.

This hatred would exist anyway. In fact they see the west as weak and our societies as easy targets. They know we are too scared to really do anything against them
This began because the west saw them as backwards and tried to change them, they see the west as disrupting and disrespecting their culture. There is intolerance on both sides, but it's past the point of return now.

What a ****ing load of shit

What a ******* load of shit

So how did it start then? Muslim extremists just popped up out of nowhere attacking the West for no reason? Do you understand the concept of Jihad? Jihad is based around the notion of defence of yourself and your people against an oppressive force. That has been warped into this aggressive ideology that now exists, but it's roots are in pushing back against the West.

73 people are dead tonight, because of some nutters interpretation of a fairytale.

I don't want to be discussing this with apologists for these filthy animals at this time if you don't mind. Let's leave it at that

73 people are dead tonight, because of some nutters interpretation of a fairytale.

I don't want to be discussing this with apologists for these filthy animals at this time if you don't mind. Let's leave it at that

Er, I'm not an apologist. Saying both sides are to blame is still saying they're to blame.

You're grossly over-simplifying things if you say it's because they're religious.

Er, I'm not an apologist. Saying both sides are to blame is still saying they're to blame.

You're grossly over-simplifying things if you say it's because they're religious.
SM, if we bent over backwards and gave these jihadists everything they wanted, it would not make one jot of difference. These people only want an Islamic world, they don't wish to live in harmony with anyone but followers of their own warped interpretation of Islam. I am sorry but you sound like a huge apologist - anti west, typical lefty who has no idea on what they are saying or on how to combat this very real and destructive situation. You are not helping at all and your rhetoric is tiresome

Last edited by a moderator:
SM, if we bent over backwards and gave these jihadists everything they wanted, it would not make one jot of difference. These people only want an Islamic world, they don't wish to live in harmony with anyone but followers of their own warped interpretation of Islam. I am sorry but you sound like a huge apologist - anti west, typical lefty who has no idea on what they are saying or on how to combat this very real and destructive situation. You are not helping at all and your rhetoric is tiresome

That's not what I'm saying to do. I understand that you're upset and worked up at the moment, we're all pretty appalled at the situation. No need to have a crack at me though.

It's an incredibly complex situation, and people simplifying it to black and whites causes more issues when entire groups are tarred with the same brush.

Last edited by a moderator:
That's not what I'm saying to do. I understand that you're upset and worked up at the moment, we're all pretty appalled at the situation. No need to have a crack at me though.

It's an incredibly complex situation, and people simplifying it to black and whites causes more issues when entire groups are tarred with the same brush.
No ones tarring everyone with the same brush. Why do you think that?

I'm pretty worked up, the thought of parents taking their kids out for a nights entertainment and being wiped out is too much for me to comprehend. I'm fed up with these things happening again and again, and I am completely sick of people sounding almost sympathetic to the cause when they do.

These people are inhuman, murderous, evil bastards. Whatever the west has or hasn't done, in no way excuses their actions. These extremists do not discriminate who they butcher btw - Muslims and non Muslims alike are all fair game. One thing we should all be sure on though is condemning them in the strongest possible terms for their actions - and not looking for plausible reasons behind them.

I'm sorry mate, but I completely disagree with your stance on this. More than that, I find it hugely distasteful at this moment in time

No ones tarring everyone with the same brush. Why do you think that?

I'm pretty worked up, the thought of parents taking their kids out for a nights entertainment and being wiped out is too much for me to comprehend. I'm fed up with these things happening again and again, and I am completely sick of people sounding almost sympathetic to the cause when they do.

These people are inhuman, murderous, evil bastards. Whatever the west has or hasn't done, in no way excuses their actions. These extremists do not discriminate who they butcher btw - Muslims and non Muslims alike are all fair game. One thing we should all be sure on though is condemning them in the strongest possible terms for their actions - and not looking for plausible reasons behind them.

I'm sorry mate, but I completely disagree with your stance on this. More than that, I find it hugely distasteful at this moment in time

Because people are suggesting this is a Muslim issue, when it's a radicalism issue.

Who is sympathetic to what cause? I'm suggesting that actually knowing what caused these issues is the only way to find the solution. Or they'll just keep happening.

I'm not excusing their actions in the slightest. The fact Muslims are being slaughtered as well is my exact point, that this shouldn't be seen as a Muslim issue.

I'm not sure you're disagreeing with me at all actually.