Food, Drink & Dining Out The Perth Thread - Part 2

• Thread starter Thread starter Beerfish

Happy hours when they were happy hours were happy hours. 50 cent middies from 4 to 7 on a Friday at Godivas, and you were were allowed to buy 15 middies 1 minute before happy hour finished.

Happy hour in Perth and Australia in general is a joke.

When I was in Vegas I was at a small sports bar watching the football on a Sunday arvo and they had $2 pints of Bud Light (shut up its easy to drink)

In Australia its like "Happy Hour 5-6pm $1 off tap beers"

Budweiser tastes like water yet it's apparently 5%
Kinda dangerous. It's easy to drink about 10 stubbies in an hour. At least Coors is less. America is maybe the greatest example of ultra shit or ultra good beer, almost no in between whereas in Australia most of the market is in between.

Happy hour in Perth and Australia in general is a joke.

When I was in Vegas I was at a small sports bar watching the football on a Sunday arvo and they had $2 pints of Bud Light (shut up its easy to drink)

In Australia its like "Happy Hour 5-6pm $1 off tap beers"
It's the $8 stubbies that make me lol the most. 400%+ markup on a special.

Kinda dangerous. It's easy to drink about 10 stubbies in an hour. At least Coors is less. America is maybe the greatest example of ultra shit or ultra good beer, almost no in between whereas in Australia most of the market is in between.
I've been there re Budweiser. The next morning was not pleasant

DRINK SPECIALS TOMMORROW NIGHT!!!!

$11 Heineken pints
$9 Swan Draught pints.

I saw a newish restaurant in como that does happy hour thurs and fri, half price drinks. $5 pint of heineken is pretty damn good, though the catch being you're in no man's land in some random street in a suburb, not some hotspot where people actually flock to

Yeah I consider anything over $10 for a pint a ripoff rather than a special.

A bit like house prices, pint prices have been high for so long that they've almost caught up to where they should be. Almost.

When I was at uni (started 02) we used to get cartons for $30 and we used to get $5 pints and $8 jugs. Fast forward 15 years and the price of a carton hasn't gone up that much but pub beer has pretty much doubled in price.

If I was a student now earning $20/hr in a part time job (another thing that hasn't gone up much) I'd be less inclined to go out drinking than I was if every pint was $12. Shame, because going out as a student is fun.

Unless their parents or something are paying for most of their essentials so a large chunk the work money can just be used for 'play' I don't know how any student could afford to do it regularly at today's prices.

Surely you couldn't do it living out of home at least.

A bit like house prices, pint prices have been high for so long that they've almost caught up to where they should be. Almost.

When I was at uni (started 02) we used to get cartons for $30 and we used to get $5 pints and $8 jugs. Fast forward 15 years and the price of a carton hasn't gone up that much but pub beer has pretty much doubled in price.

Back in my uni days you could go out for a night drinking at pubs and not spend much more than 50 bucks, now that would get you one round of drinks.

Unless their parents or something are paying for most of their essentials so a large chunk the work money can just be used for 'play' I don't know how any student could afford to do it regularly at today's prices.

Surely you couldn't do it living out of home at least.

Yeah, we used to have a share house that cost $200-something a week between 3 people. These days it's more like $150-200 for a room. My mate had a little 2 bed unit near uni that cost $150/wk then his missus moved in with him and they split it $75 each.

Back in my uni days you could go out for a night drinking at pubs and not spend much more than 50 bucks, now that would get you one round of drinks.

You're a few years older but I remember similar. Go to the pub and get a couple of $8-10 jugs, then maybe go to some shithole like the Paramount and have a couple of $6 pints or cheap spirits. These days you ask for a jug and they either stare at you blankly as if to say 'what's that?' or you hand them a 20 and they break the bad news that it's not enough.

I only go out when there's a sporting event I am attending these days. Mainly the soccer as I have not touched a drop of booze in the last four Freo home games.