Food, Drink & Dining Out The Perth Thread - Part 2

• Thread starter Thread starter Beerfish

Spud Shed fruit and veg needs to be eaten more quickly because it's actually fresh fruit and veg, not treated and frozen for months. No doubt Coles and Woolies fruit and veg looks better but that's not really how it's supposed to look.

I also think it tastes better.

Then again I am not one of those that prefer to pay premiums for free range eggs or organic apples.

People complain about Coles and Woolies but both shop there continually and don't shop smartly when they do. Businesses that are making money don't change their behaviour unless customer behaviour changes. Like people who go to the footy and complain how expensive it is to get food then get food every time they go to the footy. If people keep buying $5 pies, they're gonna keep selling $5 pies...

I went to Woolies the other day and bought about $40-50 worth of stuff and there would've been about $20 worth of savings in that. If you always buy the same brands when they're not on special then Coles and Woolies are going to feel more expensive. If you are one of those people that walks around with a catalogue and does big shops you could save heaps.

spud shed is where I imagine the dirtiest gypsies of europe would shop if there was one in the balkans

Spud Shed is also the informal name for the Carlton Football Club.

I kid I kid :p

I dunno I find the quality of veg (don't eat fruit) at my local Woolies is pretty consistently shit. Capsicums are ghastly.

Yeah it is. I go the grocer next door to Woolies at my local shopping centre for most fruits and veg. More expensive than Aldi but comparable to Woolies and better quality.

Spud Shed fruit and veg needs to be eaten more quickly because it's actually fresh fruit and veg, not treated and frozen for months. No doubt Coles and Woolies fruit and veg looks better but that's not really how it's supposed to look.

I thought it would be the other way around. You get stuff from Coles that has been in cold storage for 9 years and then when you take it home it lasts a day or two at normal temperatures. I've never been to a Spudshed but I get F&V from my local F&V shop and it ticks all the boxes other than being dirt cheap, but it isn't noticeably more than going to Coles/Woolies.

People complain about Coles and Woolies but both shop there continually and don't shop smartly when they do. Businesses that are making money don't change their behaviour unless customer behaviour changes. Like people who go to the footy and complain how expensive it is to get food then get food every time they go to the footy. If people keep buying $5 pies, they're gonna keep selling $5 pies...

I went to Woolies the other day and bought about $40-50 worth of stuff and there would've been about $20 worth of savings in that. If you always buy the same brands when they're not on special then Coles and Woolies are going to feel more expensive. If you are one of those people that walks around with a catalogue and does big shops you could save heaps.
I'm the tight arse with a list, a knowledge of the week's specials and willing to switch between two supermarkets (won't go three, my time has to have some value).

I thought it would be the other way around. You get stuff from Coles that has been in cold storage for 9 years and then when you take it home it lasts a day or two at normal temperatures. I've never been to a Spudshed but I get F&V from my local F&V shop and it ticks all the boxes other than being dirt cheap, but it isn't noticeably more than going to Coles/Woolies.
I recently found out that storing different kinds of fruit and veg together can speed up the decaying process too so it might not always be the old cold storage for 9 years scenario.

https://www.huffingtonpost.com.au/2...u-should-never-be-stored-together_a_21429744/

how many canvas bags do you need for $40 worth of merchandise?

I tend to fridge most of my stuff, but I've got apples and strawberries from Coles or Woolies that look like they are out of a catalogue and don't change for a week. Fruit isn't really supposed to do that.

Don't know about the rest of Perth but in my area we get catalogues from Woolies, Coles and often IGA too every Tuesday night in our letterbox. Bam, shopping done. If you plan it properly you won't ever have to pay full price for anything from those three and still keep the pantry, laundry and fridge reasonably stocked.

Catalogues; the only print media not dying a slow death.

I have a no junk mail sign on the letterbox so don't get these catalogues. The only ones that ignore it are local rags and real estate agents.

how many canvas bags do you need for $40 worth of merchandise?
16axor.jpg

Even if you are a brand loyalist most products cycle on and off special. Boxes of washing powder and dishwasher tablets are $25 one week and $10 the next and last for ages. Who is buying them at full price? The catalogues that make it to my mail box usually make it to the recycling bin before the front door. Except Aldi. Too curious to see what weird shit they are selling that week that I won't buy.

Good to see someone else actually realises this.