The Perth Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter BALKAN

And those who buy in the cbd and then complain about rubbish collections and noise from night clubs

Go live in Alkimos
They would hate to live in my area.

At least they get music with the Police sirens.

They would hate to live in my area.

At least they get music with the Police sirens.

Bit rough is it :)
We get constant music and sirens. Funnily enough we only ever hear it when it's pointed out to us by visitors

At the top of our street we have a footy/cricket oval that went unused for years and the council decided that it should be utilised more and it's now a training ground for Subiaco Colts and regularly used for cricket. The uproar from locals over their dogs not being allowed to use it was unbelievable - it wasn't a park it was a bloody sporting ground going to waste. It drives me nuts how an area becomes "mine" once you move in - I wouldn't want to work for local councils - the whinging must be constant

In saying that though - I did recently have a whinge (hypocrite I know), the park at the end of our street is enclosed and is a popular stomping ground for mums groups and birthday parties - my kids park on the verge so they are off the road and recently two cars parked behind them on the road blocking them in. On "complaining" to the council it apparently isn't illegal and the ranger wouldn't come out and my kids had to wait for them to return so they could get out

Bit rough is it :)
We get constant music and sirens. Funnily enough we only ever hear it when it's pointed out to us by visitors

At the top of our street we have a footy/cricket oval that went unused for years and the council decided that it should be utilised more and it's now a training ground for Subiaco Colts and regularly used for cricket. The uproar from locals over their dogs not being allowed to use it was unbelievable - it wasn't a park it was a bloody sporting ground going to waste. It drives me nuts how an area becomes "mine" once you move in - I wouldn't want to work for local councils - the whinging must be constant

In saying that though - I did recently have a whinge (hypocrite I know), the park at the end of our street is enclosed and is a popular stomping ground for mums groups and birthday parties - my kids park on the verge so they are off the road and recently two cars parked behind them on the road blocking them in. On "complaining" to the council it apparently isn't illegal and the ranger wouldn't come out and my kids had to wait for them to return so they could get out
It has its moments.

We've actually just sold and are moving to a nicer area. I think we hit the market at just the right time.

Happy days. Fingers crossed.

I work in recruitment.

I never hated people more. So many useless campaigners.
We get our apprentices from a recruitment agency. EGT.

Lots of rough. So few Diamonds.

I'd be willing to bet anything that the people moving into the new housing development near the airport, will complain about it.

I thought it was interesting that the aviation body was going to test fly some new route over posher areas to "share the noise burden around fairly". I could almost hear the screaming from the Shelly foreshore that they paid extra for that area because it doesn't have aircraft over.

I saw a report on the news re Jacobs ladder being closed indefinitely for "repairs" and there was a suggestion that nearby residents were complaining about the noise

It ******* shits me to tears that people buy into an area and them complain about activities that occur nearby that were there well and truly before they moved there. If you don't like whatever it is do your research beforehand and don't bit there you stupid muppets
Although if trainers running "boot camps" are turning up with megaphones and boom boxes at 5AM then I can sympathise.

Amen Brother. You've seen it just as often as I, I'm sure.

Fair dinkum, they have a guy there just to fill out the paperwork.:rolleyes:

I saw one western power guy catching native birds which he was then selling....all on work time.

I thought it was interesting that the aviation body was going to test fly some new route over posher areas to "share the noise burden around fairly". I could almost hear the screaming from the Shelly foreshore that they paid extra for that area because it doesn't have aircraft over.

Apples and oranges.

If you move next to an airport, stadium etc. and complain about it you're a dick.

If you move to an area and something you couldn't reasonably anticipate occurs then you are right to be annoyed.

I live in an area fairly close to the city and well connected by public transport, and it's mostly zoned R20 I think. Whether it's one, two, 5 or 10 years time it will eventually be re-zoned to a higher density. I'm supportive of this, but if I wasn't I don't think I'd have right to complain. If on the other hand the govt decided my quiet suburban street was the logical place for a nuclear waste facility then that's another matter.

I hope you keep your job for some time Borry.
Yeah I kept that job for a while till I decided to move on.

Working as a recruiter is not often a good world to be in. Under pressure to meet KPIs while dealing with clients who are understandbly high on standards for candidates.

Yeah I kept that job for a while till I decided to move on.

Working as a recruiter is not often a good world to be in. Under pressure to meet KPIs while dealing with clients who are understandbly high on standards for candidates.
Happy to hear that Borry.

Plus not all people who sit in front of the recruiter like yourself are decent people.

That can be equally tough for the interviewer.

What is your general feeling about employment in Perth at the moment?

I reckon the traffic is not as bad as it what 18 months ago if that is any indication and an
electrician, a few days ago, was available within 2 days when I rang.

Never was the case 3 years ago.

The electrician turned up too!

sh (2).jpg

Happy to hear that Borry.

Plus not all people who sit in front of the recruiter like yourself are decent people.

That can be equally tough for the interviewer.

What is your general feeling about employment in Perth at the moment?

I reckon the traffic is not as bad as it what 18 months ago if that is any indication and an
electrician, a few days ago, was available within 2 days when I rang.

Never was the case 3 years ago.

The electrician turned up too!

View attachment 217878
Well due to not b3ing able to find career work for two years in Perth (environmental engineering) I decided to move up to Darwin to give that place a go.

Perth is pretty tough at present, especially for uni grads and professionals due to mining decline.

I did some warehouse work whilst out of career work in Perth.

Perth is in a similar job market situation to Brisbane at present.

I'm not hugely knowledgeable with regards to trades, probably easy to find trade work than engineering/science work but it's likely to have slowed a little.

Well due to not b3ing able to find career work for two years in Perth (environmental engineering) I decided to move up to Darwin to give that place a go.

Perth is pretty tough at present, especially for uni grads and professionals due to mining decline.

I did some warehouse work whilst out of career work in Perth.

Perth is in a similar job market situation to Brisbane at present.

I'm not hugely knowledgeable with regards to trades, probably easy to find trade work than engineering/science work but it's likely to have slowed a little.
Good onya.

Oh to be young and working in Darwin.

I assume you are young anyway.

It is a pity the fabulous old Darwin Hotel was criminally demolished.

Glorious old boozer.

Ask some of the old timers about it.

Nursing is nearly impossible thanks to a state wide government freeze and thousands of grads all struggling for employment not to mention all the people from os on temporary work visas.

I remember your post from when you suddenly quit your last job Perth Gal.

Do you reckon you need a break from what you were doing...ie doing something mindless for a while so you can return to
your profession?

By the way... Govt's of any stripe are poo employers and don't give an eff until the next writs are served .

Become a gardener or bouncer or something!

_88322590_weeds_tumble.jpg

Attachments

• grass e(2).jpg
    grass e(2).jpg
    8.4 KB · Views: 4
I remember your post from when you suddenly quit your last job Perth Gal.

Do you reckon you need a break from what you were doing...ie doing something mindless for a while so you can return to
your profession?

By the way... Govt's of any stripe are poo employers and don't give an eff until the next writs are served .

Become a gardener or bouncer or something!

View attachment 217891
Got an appointment with a career counselor next week. But will have to get back into nursing just in the interim to pay the bills. But hopefully onwards and upwards.

With your skills, surely you could attend to the West Coast mob?

nurse.jpg

Your input may push then over the line.:p

Good onya.

Oh to be young and working in Darwin.

I assume you are young anyway.

It is a pity the fabulous old Darwin Hotel was criminally demolished.

Glorious old boozer.

Ask some of the old timers about it.
Still looking for career work in Darwin but will be here for a while.

Mitchell St nights are always interesting.

I may have to see a career counsellor and investigate alternative options for career if it doesnt work out. Some jobs are great as fill in roles but not as long term career roles.