Viaduct
QF Tavern on Queen Street
Eden Park (for rugby)
K-Road (strippers and nightclubs)
Mount Eden summit
The guy who plays the saxophone most nights on the corner of Queen Street and Victoria Street is awesome

Although, as someone sad, Auckland is pretty quiet most of the time. Never seen a CBD so deserted after dark. It's a very Australian-like sprawling major city mostly made up of outer-lying suburbia. Parnell, Ponsonby, Three Kings and Mt Eden are some cool inner suburbs. But NZ's best times are to be found in Wellington and Dunedin.

As for ATMs and shit, if you're with ANZ or Westpac, you're set. Commonwealth own the ASB over there, but still charge you $2 for a withdrawal.
Yeah we will be doing the Summit. Heaps of parks and walking trails as well I see which will be great.

Although, as someone sad, Auckland is pretty quiet most of the time. Never seen a CBD so deserted after dark. It's a very Australian-like sprawling major city mostly made up of outer-lying suburbia. Parnell, Ponsonby, Three Kings and Mt Eden are some cool inner suburbs. But NZ's best times are to be found in Wellington and Dunedin.
and that ****ing hill right through the middle of town.... lugging bags up there is a nightmare.

Why are gym memberships so expensive?

Because it's gonna take a few years to shed those kilos, tubby!!!!!!!!!!!!

LOL

No but if I remember correctly, Gyms have to pay a whole heap for insurance because of the likelihood of some newbie Zyzz-wannabe injuring themselves on their premises.

That sounds fair enough, though surely you'd sign some kind of form when signing up saying that they aren't responsible for any injuries that you sustain etc. And from when I've been to FitnessFirst doing a free gym membership thing, they made us go through an induction first up to explain how to use the different pieces of equipment.

to be fair the costs of running a gum would be very high.

- equipment is expensive, sometimes super expensive
- you need lots of space so rent is high
- most (all?) staff are qualified so cost more. can't imagine there are too many gym staff on 19 bucks an hour.
- as mentioned above insurances would be high

that being said some completely gouge out their customers.

So I accidentally washed my down vest and its lost all its fluffiness and the feathers have clumped together. Is there anyway to fix this and get it back to normal or have I completely f***ed it up?

I know someone that did this too, there was not a positive outcome.

Can someone tell me what kind of freak convention was going on in Melb this weekend? Was in Maccas near Parliament station on Sat arvo and there was bunch of weirdo's dressed up in something similar to superhero costumes but different, then today I was on the tram heading past the Museum and there was more of them everywhere. Looked like they were all headed to the old exhibition building near Carlton.

Comic-Con

Comic-Con
Do we have a comic-con in Melbourne? I know we do have something along the lines of it, but is it called something else?

Comic-Con was on just this weekend at the Carlton Museum. There's also Manifest at the showgrounds later in the year which I do not recommend attending.

Ah yeah, Manifest is the one I've heard of.

Does Comic-Con here usually get any decent celebrity guests?