Mega Thread The "Random" Footy Thoughts Thread

Re: The random "footy" thoughts thread

Hi all,

Quick question on AFL membership.

This is my first first year as an AFL member and I want to scan my ticket in on Sunday for entry. I was told that there are still 3,000 seats for AFL members that were not allocated for pre-purchase.

How quickly will these tickets go? Gates open at 12 so do I need to be there on 12 or even lining up before. I MUST get to this game and don't want to take any chances. Have any AFL members been to other big games at Docklands and had issues with walk up entry?

Cheers... go pies

Hi all,

This is my first first year as an AFL member and I want to scan my ticket in on Sunday for entry. I was told that there are still 3,000 seats for AFL members that were not allocated for pre-purchase.

How quickly will these tickets go? Gates open at 12 so do I need to be there on 12 or even lining up before. I MUST get to this game and don't want to take any chances. Have any AFL members been to other big games at Docklands and had issues with walk up entry?

Cheers... go pies

I'd get there at 12, it will fill up.

I reserved my seat, couldn't be bothered getting there early!

Hi all,

Cheers... go pies

Hey dude, am in the same boat. Am planning to just get there at 12.30 and grab a seat. A mate of mine called the AFL and they said because it is not a fully ticketed game, there is still a heap of general admission seats that will not be taken. They have sold the first 6 (?) rows only so the earlier you get there the better. The worst case scenario is that you miss out on a seat, but you'll still get into the game. (standing room SUCKS at the Dome though) It won't be at full capacity.

Good to know i'm not the only one thats nervous :p

Cept you Mattys, I knew you'd come out confident. Can't remember a game you havn't come out before hand and said we were gonna win :D

Monday night game at Etihad against the Saints was the last time I thought we were going to lose, and we did by a huge margin.

All things being equal, I can't see a reason not to be confident, well, at least being confident of putting up a good showing against a top side.

While if we lose I would be shattered at that moment, I believe this game and how we are judged will be more based on how we play for 4 quarters, more then if we win or lose.

We'll win though, the March champions will be able to console themselves with that useless piece of silverware they got pre season, while we take something way more valuable, 4 points.

Leon Davis best on ground, he loves playing the doggies.

Hi all,

Cheers... go pies

I thought all of the AFL member seats had gone and that there was only general admission left on level 3 (above the prime seating on level 3.
No, did I get this wrong?

I thought all of the AFL member seats had gone and that there was only general admission left on level 3 (above the prime seating on level 3.
No, did I get this wrong?
A few more tickets went on sale for the bottom deck AFL section the other day (with no media release saying so) but that was only a few hundred.

If you are going tomorrow as an AFL member without a reserved seat, swipe your card, do not queue to get a ticket, just swipe the card, walk upstairs and look for the best seat from from row G onwards.:thumbsu:

Gone be a Fun next week,

Morning go to Vic Park to see my 1st Pies Game there Ever and in the Afternoon go and see the Boys make the Dees our B*tch

The VFL Side could beat the Dees

Imagine a Dees vs Tigers game:eek:

I reckon it would be enthralling viewing. A very hard fought and close game.

I'd tip Richmond in a nail biter.

3.6.24 to 2.9.21.

Really though the skill errors of both side are inexcusable.

There's rebuilding and then there is embarrassing.:(

Kosi has to get 3 weeks, and then if he pleads guilty, he can take the 2.

Any less and the AFL review panel is a joke.

CH 10 showed it time and time again at half time, and it was similar to the Lloyd hit on Sewell in round 22 last year, and Llyod got 4.

Has to get 3 weeks, or the system is a joke.

Saints game was a good quality game until the umps decided it needed some farce. Some of the frees they paid were kids standard. God I hope this is not what we have to look forward to.

Yeah, that Riewoldt free for a 'push' and the Goddard 50m penalty were absolutely ridiculous.

True enough, I think the swannies were getting too close for comfort.

I find the sycophancy for Riewoldt sickening TBH.

New thought...seeing the role and incidence of fatigue and cramping in this first round so far, will be extremely interesting to see what role it plays in today's game vs Dogs.

The game will be played at frenetic pace you'd expect...whoever's fitness lasts best may well be the winner.

They have the advantage I believe in having had more full on hit outs preseason, esp NAB finals, but then we did the Arizona thing.

Also, they've had a few players eg Brad J, Mitch who may be underdone fighting injuries.

For those who know the Arizona attendees from those who didn't go, will also be interesting if you see a difference there.

Mega Thread The "Random" Footy Thoughts Thread