Natman
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Port Adelaide
- Other Teams
- No others are worthy
I just had a random thought.

System Upgrade - Search is back! - Post feedback.
PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
Not sure how far we're going back here, but I reckon I'd probably prefer Wayne Mahney, Adrian Settre, Daisy Borlase or Daryl Chynoweth....to Matt ThomasI think modern players generally have to execute under pressure far more often.
I'd also argue that while the best players had skills comparable to what we see today, the 18th most skillful player in a team would be far behind the 18th most skillful player today.

Not sure how far we're going back here, but I reckon I'd probably prefer Wayne Mahney, Adrian Settre, Daisy Borlase or Daryl Chynoweth....to Matt Thomas![]()
Matt Thomas probably would've been a fantastic player once a year in 1980's SANFL.
Just thought id quote the first post in this thread.
All hail gp for creating such a magnificent thread.
efa......
I know the comment is made in fun but Matt Thomas when he plays for Norwood is an exceptional contributor week in week out. His form with Norwood was every bit as good as Nick Lower's and Lower nearly won a Magarey Medal. That neither of them can cement an AFL spot says something about the gap from top level SANFL form to even being an average contributor at AFL
You know me Frodo I never kid around.
SANFL 80's was better and tougher than 00 & 10's SANFL so I might actually be right.... That gap from the 80's is now a gaping chasm.

Thomas is big, strong, tough and surprisingly skilled at SANFL level now, he would have been a very good footballer back then. Funny, this sort of discussion is usually held the other way around.![]()

The national media goes a bit nuts when Melbourne or Sydney get a hot day.
Yes it is
I'm a fan of Thomas as I am of all our players but he just doesn't do enough, often enough for a player of his size, age and experience.
Who would you drop from the 1980, 81, 88 or 89 Premiership sides for him?
You could fnid a spot I'm sure in the 83 or 85 sides but when we were up and about.......
Sure at AFL level he doesn't, but you posted that he would be good once a year at SANFL level. That's clearly not the case and the point I was making.
I'm not going to get into a hypothetical about who he would replace in premiership sides as I find that disrespectful to guys who are Port Adelaide heroes. But I won't over-mythologise the past and suggest he couldn't make those sides. After all in 1980 Jack Cahill pulled Tony Hannan out of the Spencer Gulf Football League to play in a Grand Final in one of the most dominant football sides in SANFL history.
See there you again using facts against my hypotheticals.
Wont win you an argument in this thread Frodo, no way no how.
Eddie Dingle/Tony Hannan 1 Ford Fairlane/Matty Thomas 0.

Wanganeen’s first marriage ended in 2009 and he has two children, Mia, 12, and Tex, nine. “My young boy Tex ran out through the Essendon banner as a mascot,” he says. And he adds, temptingly for Essendon fans: “He qualifies father-son.”
For some reason I was Googling ol' mate Wanganeen and came across this article/interview. It left me fretting.
http://www.theweeklyreview.com.au/well-read-article-display/Baby-Bomber-comes-home/5397
Yeah, he qualifies for both, but only one (Essendon) seems to be doing all it can to ensure he chooses them should the opportunity arise.
Yeah, I knew he was eligible for both, but it's the fact that Gavin mentions him being father-son in an interview about Essendon. If we miss out on Tex, after he grew up in Adelaide and we have so much more access to him, then that's inexcusable.
You'd think Port would have to fold if Essendon were any chance of getting Tex. I'm sure we'll be seeing Tex around the club a lot more if he decides to pick up footy. Seemed quite keen on golf if I'm not mistaken. Then again, he was only 4-5 at the time!
I know the comment is made in fun but Matt Thomas when he plays for Norwood is an exceptional contributor week in week out. His form with Norwood was every bit as good as Nick Lower's and Lower nearly won a Magarey Medal. That neither of them can cement an AFL spot says something about the gap from top level SANFL form to even being an average contributor at AFL