Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

HiD9D2H.jpg
fosters_oilcan__large.jpg

I don't have a problem with Turnbull's speech last night. It was aimed more at his internal nemeses than other parties. He's pissed off and making a statement.

I also think this (non)result is exactly what was needed right now.

The LNP were running with a mandate which was driven by the far right but they only won in 2013 because the electorate had had enough of the shambolic Rudd/Gillard/Rudd govt. They were heading in a direction that the electorate didn't like and have been reigned back in.

It's also worth noting that Turnbull didn't lose an election that Abbott would have won, he kept them in it. A far right leaning coalition with Abbott as its face would have been slaughtered. Even long time Lib voters didn't want Abbott.

Highlights for me:
The ousting of the toxic Mirabella
The elevation of Linda Burney
The finale of the poster boy for The Peter Principle, Jamie Briggs
The melts from Bolt, Jones, Credlin.
Doing my civic duty via Postal Vote and seeing all the butthurts on social media about lining up for an hour.

IMO, whoever gets in, should immediately legalise same sex marriage. Fix it, get it out of the way, deal with the blowback from the conservative religious nutters by reminding them of the separation of Church and State. They don't 'own' the institution of marriage and have no right to use their power base to control it. If a cynical atheist like me can access the privilege of being married, without any involvement from any religious authority, why the hell can't Adam & Steve/Adele & Eve?

Even if you wanted to look at it from a clinical strategy perspective, it would also put a large dent in the growing Green support. (applicable to both ALP and LNP)

It's so mind-numbingly simple.

I reckon its a great result. Malcolm goes on how we have to embrace digital disruption and pushing people to low wage, low skilled jobs, like packing boxes for Amazon and Apples web orders, so why doesn't he embrace the disruption the voters put onto him and his government and the whole parliament.

Just like Malcolm talks about taking advantage of the opportunity disruption produces, lets see how good Malcolm is at taking advantage of this disruption. We will be back at another election in 6 to 10 months time because, Turnbull wont have the ability/courage to make this work. He will be disrupted by his own party as well as parliament. He will look for a dissolution / election and that's why we will go back for a normal election with half the senate as per my last post scenario.

Highlights for me:
The ousting of the toxic Mirabella

Yes that was a beauty. I watched a bit of the Drum after the ABC's coverage, and I'm not a big fan of Dee Madighan I did laugh at how much satisfaction sh got out of Mirabella losing. Brought up 3 or 4 ways she received delight from this failure.

Yeah it looks like 73 to 72 + 5 or 72 all with Xenophon's Andrea Broadfoot winning Grey. We wont know for another 10 days I reckon. Nick might finally get his national pokies reform.
Bringing it back to football I'd be happy with that. Port doesn't rely on them anywhere near the degree Victorian clubs do, so it'd boost our comparative financial strength. And without Pokies the SANFL clubs are toast. That alone would be a good outcome of the election (outside pokies shouldn't be outside Casinos in my opinion anyway).

Hawthorn made something like 11 million from pokies last year.

If the seats in doubt stay with the same parties in the lead it's 73 Coalition, 72 ALP and 5 others. Others been Katter, McGowan and Xenophon leaning Right and Wilkie and Bandt to the Left. I'd expect both parties would offer independents the Speaker role and hope one takes. The ALP especially would go nowhere with their own Speaker if that count is accurate. They'd need all five independents to agree.....

Last night after the coverage and watching the Drum, I thought the only thing that could make the result even better would be Bob Katter being made the Speaker. Question time would almost become compulsory viewing to watch his rulings. He'd be laughing to himself before he pronnounced them. He might ask the Sargent at Arms to replace the Mace with a machine gun!! Maybe he might use the Mace himself on those that piss him off, if he can't et a gun inside the chambers. Gotta start getting this trending on twitter.

#BobKatterforSpeaker

The Mace
mace.jpg

The media has started to use the term 'Mediscare'

If the Libs had come up with that as a counter during the campaign, I reckon it would have worked well.

LOST SHULZY ARMY SCARF.
I was lucky enough to meet a couple of the Outer Army at the Richmond. Bought a beautuful Shultzy scarf that I'll never be able to replace. Me being me i somehow found a way to lose it getting home after the game. If anyone found a loose scarf gone astray. Or if any of you cheer squad guys have a spare, id love to have another. It looks like this and i want it back.
:(

20160701_171426.jpeg

If the Libs had come up with that as a counter during the campaign, I reckon it would have worked well.

Libs are too dormant in the imagination sector to be that clever

I'm surprised that no one thought of that in the first 5 minutes of the campaign

Not enough ex-journalism in the Libs ranks obviously

Even Howard had the balls to lie outright 20 years ago.

Either that or a cunning mad scientist type and wanting another election in 6 to 10 months time ie with a half senate going up for re-election and over half those extra senators will be eliminated because 6% can turn into a 7.7% in a double dissolution for a quota but not a 14.8% for a half senate quota under the new voting preference rules. The first 6 senators elected in each state get to serve 2 terms ie max of 6 years, and the second lot of 6 would have to stand for relection. Apart from a few of the greens and Xenephon, the rest of the minor party senators around Oz would have to run again. So you probably end up with Xenephon + 1 in new election, Hanson in Qld and maybe Lambie in Tassie. I don't reckon Hinch would get back in. The Greens probably would end up with 1 less senator based on last night's figures and the 2 main parties securing more senators.
Of all your posts that have hurt my head that takes the cake.

LOST SHULZY ARMY SCARF.
I was lucky enough to meet a couple of the Outer Army at the Richmond. Bought a beautuful Shultzy scarf that I'll never be able to replace. Me being me i somehow found a way to lose it getting home after the game. If anyone found a loose scarf gone astray. Or if any of you cheer squad guys have a spare, id love to have another. It looks like this and i want it back.
:(

View attachment 262915
Ok where can you get your own scafes made?

Penny wong in the same room as Hanson. I can't wait.
That feel when you take your first opportunity to vote seriously then you read some guy you know from the internet voted Pauline Hansen in 'for a laugh'.

Feels good man.