The red mist - what's your limit?

Disappointing, but far from out of the blue that we read about a supporter, supposedly Hawthorn, hanging one on a Carlton supporter after the game and causing serious injury to the gent - a 12 month ban ensues.

What do you reckon is in the tent, and what is outside the tent?

As a player?

As a supporter?

What are your limits?

I don't taunt opposition supporters. I try to keep my emotions well in check when dealing with crows or port fans, as I'm generally heavily outnumbered.

I won't take my family to the football, as too many people do not appear to be blessed with the consideration for others after they've had a few (or their team has lost).

Disappointing, but far from out of the blue that we read about a supporter, supposedly Hawthorn, hanging one on a Carlton supporter after the game and causing serious injury to the gent - a 12 month ban ensues.

What do you reckon is in the tent, and what is outside the tent?

As a player?

As a supporter?

What are your limits?

My son was reported in the under 9s the other day. Got off mind you after the player punched him, junior proceeded to bodyslam the guy.

But I digress.

I've never got close to being in a fight at the footy. My ol' man, however, is a different matter. Has white line fever. I've seen him drive opposition supporters demented with anger, on one notable occasion we got a police escort out of the MCG for our own safety.

Dunno, I'm of the walk away variety, but as someone posted earlier, if my family was threatened or hurt it would be a different matter.

I'm probably going to get king hit by an opposition supporter at the footy one day.

Not interested in fighting, it's pointless, unfair for those who are with and around me, plus I wouldn't want to get chucked out.

It's just the little things that get under their skin. I tend to celebrate a goal loudly after we've got a free kick when they're booing and complaining. Really annoys them. For example, just recently at the Collingwood game after Roughy was awarded a soft free in a ruck contest against Quinten Lynch.

As he was lining up, all these Collingwood flogs were whinging and going on how "it's the only way he gets them'', etc... So after he kicked the goal, I got up and cheered and screamed "Well done Roughy! Too good for that West Coast reject!"

They hated it. They looked like :mad:

:D

So mostly it's just things like that. And I only really do it when opposition supporters around me are irritating.

I actually enjoy going to the footy and watching the game. Don't tend to get involved to much in what goes on around me. I like the SMS idea of reporting idiots. It helps avoid confrontation and leaves it to people paid to deal with it.

I don't like to interact aggresively with opposition supporters so I usually stay clear of slanging matches. However, it's my right to go to the footy and cheer on my team so I won't shy away from that. Once we were playing St Kilda and a large, burly St Kilda supporter decided he just didn't like me so he began taunting me. I gave him a few snide remarks back, pointing out the limited success of his team over 100 years and then he threatened to hit me (after he looked me up and down and figured I was easy pickings). I gave him a vicious look and said bring it on. He didn't really expect that and backed down faster than George Bush at a Taliban meeting. I hate bullies and love nothing more than putting them in their place. It's something I don't normally do at the footy but this was one time I was happy to come out of my shell and give a bit back. This 'alpha male' syndrome gives me the shits so I like to combat it wherever I see it, even when sometimes it's directed straight at me.

During the game I can get quite feral with my barracking, even my mates have moved seats on occasion when we are losing. But its all verbal, nothing physical.

Once the siren sounds thats it, game over, think about next week, next season, I dont taunt or bag anyone (except in Bay 13 :) ).

In the Schwab era I couldn't handle the weak efforts we used to put in. But since the line in the sand game I stopped giving it to the players.
The only games I can't keep my lid on is when we lose to the Cats and Bombers! I won't give it to any player but I will just maybe yell some naughty words and storm out like a little cry baby!!!

The only two times I've seriously lost it at the football:

Round 2, 2012 after Hawkins kicked that goal to seal the game after the siren. A cats supporter came and got in my face about how we 'couldn't beat them' and he received an absolute spray in return.

Round 22, 2009 when Lloyd flattened Sewell. I have never before or since yelled so much abuse at a player as I did when that incident occurred.

Generally though I've found the footy to be a pretty laid-back environment, even sitting chatting about the game with opposition supporters I've never really experienced any aggression either way.

My main limit is if anyone is being racist. If I hear this I'll tend to go postal. I hate seeing bad behaviour it really gives me the s#&T's. Otherwise I'm pretty laid back at the footy :)

I don't usually pipe up all that much but when someone has a go at certain players in the team I will have a go back.

I'm in MCC so you can't get too out of hand there. Having said that, if I have had a few brews and there are no kids around I might throw a few one liners out. I draw the line at swearing and kids though. Kids should be allowed to come to the footy and not have to listen to gutter talk.

When I started following the Hawks, there wasn't much you could say. We were usually so far behind it was better to keep ones mouth shut. That changed some during the 70s and 80 though.
Times have changed and I remember as a kid at Windy Hill one day what one Hawthorn supporter was calling the bombers. In today's environment it was racial abuse at its worst, and if I repeated it here I would probably be red carded for life!

I've been king hit by a Hawks fan before. Got absolutely cleaned out by a few of them.

I keep my nut down now.

My son was reported in the under 9s the other day. Got off mind you after the player punched him, junior proceeded to bodyslam the guy.

But I digress.

I've never got close to being in a fight at the footy. My ol' man, however, is a different matter. Has white line fever. I've seen him drive opposition supporters demented with anger, on one notable occasion we got a police escort out of the MCG for our own safety.

Dunno, I'm of the walk away variety, but as someone posted earlier, if my family was threatened or hurt it would be a different matter.

Grizz, I think I’m a bit like your old man only I call it turnstile fever. Before I enter the turnstile I am a normal human being, well kinda’. When I hear the click click of the turnstile and come out the other side I am a fruit cake. Having said that I rarely taunt the opposition fruit cakes instead I prefer a tit for tat rapport. I reserve my anger for the umpires.

However, I am now in a position where I can be much more aggressive towards opposition loud mouths.You see, it is a little embarrassing for a 110kg hero offering to take a 60kg centenarian outside. Also, I think they are a bit wary of the baseball bat I use as a walking stick.

There are advantages with old age.;)

I don't fight
I'll walk away unless they're attacking a friend or family

I however, often get abused at the footy
thankfully the majority of ALL fans defend me, as all I do is barracks for my team

I actually enjoy going to the footy and watching the game. Don't tend to get involved to much in what goes on around me. I like the SMS idea of reporting idiots. It helps avoid confrontation and leaves it to people paid to deal with it.

Tend to agree, mind my own business and I can't get into trouble.
Mind you, from hearing recent news reports the SMS system at the MCG is not too flash.
Slow or no reaction from security or police is what I have been hearing.
It sort makes the whole system a bit pointless.

I am the model supporter - until you get in my face. Very unladylike after that and tbh have shocked a few with some of my return volleys. Would never get involved with anything physical though unless, as others have said my kids had been at risk (grown up now).
I can't stand those 'packs' that start to get mouthy after they have been drinking all afternoon and the bravado comes marching out and it's directed at those who have the 'audacity' to barrack for their team.

I'm a big fat loud mouth at the game, but only so far as cheering goes, I'm not one of those dickheads that tries to or wants to get into a fight. I just cheer loudly "BUDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDY" and start chants and so forth. Might abuse an umpire occasionally. I try and for the most part stick to, not getting personal with anyone in the crowd and not swearing. That strategy keeps me in good stead.

That said, I'm reliably informed (I'm still doing my best to repress the whole day) that I was drawing some unwanted attention from our own at the GF when I was trying to implore Hawk fans in my area to cheer louder to get us over the line. Everyone went quiet and it was pissing me right off. I think I may have lost it a little bit and told them they were fair weather followers.

Memorable moments of tension have been at Geelong games.

You know when a player gets injured and as they're being taken off you politely clap as if to say "hope he's okay/damn that must have hurt". Pretty standard fare right? Certainly not in the vain of those North guys cheering on Cyril's hamstring the other day. Anyhow, when Selwood laid himself out in a contest against us last year or the year before and was eventually taken off, everyone (both sides supporters) clapped politely in our area. Then pretty much out of nowhere, this bourbon drenched Geelong fan starts abusing us saying we're gutless applauding the fact he's injured! One of those types that doesn't respond well to reasoning. Anyhow, he ended up getting a spray from my brother and went back in his box pretty quickly. Eventually apologised.

Which leads me to my favorite footy punch up story... End of the '08 GF some young (20's) Geelong blokes were leaving the ground before the game had finished. The old boys of Geelong standing next to us took um-bridge to this and they all ended up in a civil war Cat punch up! All too pissed to really hurt each other so it was more entertaining than anything!

The only two times I've seriously lost it at the football:

Round 2, 2012 after Hawkins kicked that goal to seal the game after the siren. A cats supporter came and got in my face about how we 'couldn't beat them' and he received an absolute spray in return.

Round 22, 2009 when Lloyd flattened Sewell. I have never before or since yelled so much abuse at a player as I did when that incident occurred.

Generally though I've found the footy to be a pretty laid-back environment, even sitting chatting about the game with opposition supporters I've never really experienced any aggression either way.

I lost it after that game and got abused and called a dickhead and actually copped a season ending ban which I negotiated down to one match due to an existing good record. Had to go to the pub to watch the next game.

Jeez, the missus can be tough sometimes....