Norwood
did anyone hear the rumour on 5AA this morning regarding Cheltenham Racecourse being converted into a football stadium and west lakes being sold off to development ?

Won't happen but i think its a great theory Cheltenham has the train lines and near a major road giving the supporters more travel options and maybe allowing the crowds to disperse a tad faster.

I suppose it would be easier to create a rail line to AAMI stadium but the State Goverment seem to be sitting on its hands on that so it can get better contracts for the Buses

But if it was to happen what would be peoples thoughts?

Grolm37 said:
did anyone hear the rumour on 5AA this morning regarding Cheltenham Racecourse being converted into a football stadium and west lakes being sold off to development ?

Won't happen but i think its a great theory Cheltenham has the train lines and near a major road giving the supporters more travel options and maybe allowing the crows to disperse a tad faster.

I suppose it would be easier to create a rail line to AAMI stadium but the State Goverment seem to be sitting on its hands on that so it can get better contracts for the Buses

But if it was to happen what would be peoples thoughts?

I heard it....makes a lot of sense....but can't see it happening.....the economics of demolishing a 54,000 seat stadium for housing - just to build a new one down the road don't add up....I would think the land at Cheltenham would be worth more.

maybe the paps could call Cheltenham home ???....just a thought

The Govt have invested a ********load over the last few years with upgrades and bus terminals etc
wont happen here.........these things only happen in the Eastern states !

Dumb idea. Cheltenham is further from the city than West Lakes isn't it?

If they want to build a new stadium (which will never happen) then it should be at Keswick, close to the city, central, plenty of parkland parking space, has already has train access. But Football Park won't be going anywhere so it's all hypothetical.

What a stupid idea. All the money that's been poured into West Lakes won't be sacrificed.

Anyway, the Crows are putting an elevator in their office block so they won't want to lose that!

**** said:

If they want to build a new stadium (which will never happen) then it should be at Keswick, close to the city, central, plenty of parkland parking space, has already has train access. But Football Park won't be going anywhere so it's all hypothetical.

I remember years ago there was talk about redeveloping the Showgrounds - and playing AFC games out of there.....Show Trust need the money - plenty of parking @ the parklands.......but as you say - theres been too much money invested already at West Lakes to make a change. Didn't little Max make the last mortgage payment on AAMI a couple of years ago - they own it outright !

dont worry i didnt think it would actually happen

but i have to say for a price anything is possible. Especially if they own it out right.

However i wish there was a way we could get better transport out to westlakes even with all the bus terminals it has to be the worst place to go to watch football (in terms of transport). I think AAMI Stadium has become to big for the area.

**** said:

No, Cheltenham is closer. Turn right at crow corner heading west on Port Road (or left on Torrens Road).

It was an interesting idea but I couldn't imagine it happening.

**** said:

Cheltenham is closer to the city by a few km's, is a bigger parcel of land so could have better car parking, has a railway line running next to it & a dedicated station for racedays. The land value would, I think, be less than at West Lakes.

What should happen is that the state government should take over management of the Adelaide Oval, tear it down, build a 21st century stadium seating 55,000 to 60,000 ala docklands (which SA sporting public deserve) on the site with a railway line from Adelaide station & a parking facility on the parade grounds, then compel the AFL clubs play their games there allowing footy park to be redeveloped for housing.

But of course having one modern facility makes too much sense when we can have a 30 year old poorly designed joint 15km from the city centre that is under utilised & a 100 year old joint full of salt damp and wood rot that has inadequate seating for an inadequate sized crowd where you can't get a drink or a pie that is under utilised.

drakeyv2 said:
What should happen is that the state government should take over management of the Adelaide Oval, tear it down

:eek:

drakeyv2 said:
Cheltenham is closer to the city by a few km's, is a bigger parcel of land so could have better car parking, has a railway line running next to it & a dedicated station for racedays. The land value would, I think, be less than at West Lakes.

What should happen is that the state government should take over management of the Adelaide Oval, tear it down, build a 21st century stadium seating 55,000 to 60,000 ala docklands (which SA sporting public deserve) on the site with a railway line from Adelaide station & a parking facility on the parade grounds, then compel the AFL clubs play their games there allowing footy park to be redeveloped for housing.

But of course having one modern facility makes too much sense when we can have a 30 year old poorly designed joint 15km from the city centre that is under utilised & a 100 year old joint full of salt damp and wood rot that has inadequate seating for an inadequate sized crowd where you can't get a drink or a pie that is under utilised.

Yeah who cares about the history and nostalgia involved in the place :rolleyes:
Seriously Adelaide Oval may have its downfalls but I love going to the oval, the atmosphere is great, love the old scoreboard, love the fact I can lay out on the grass. Who wants another concrete stadium when we have the most beautiful stadium in the world?

Grolm37 said:
:eek: Blasphemy !!!! :eek: :eek:
Exactly. Adelaide Oval is a great place to watch sport.

Adelaide doesn't need 2 stadiums with 50K capacity at the moment.

Sounds good to me. Can have a pre-match barbecue over at the cemetary with all the rellies.

drakeyv2 said:

Everything you say, IMO is correct.:)

People need to embrace change I guess and this does seem radical I suppose due to the history of the Oval and Heritage.

Thats where the problem would occur IF the Government and the SACA acted on a proposition such as this. The Heritage people would chain themselves to the Victor Richardson Gates.

I think they should let every member of the public sit in the Members for a day to see what the comfort is like. Absolutely shocking!!! Archaic to be honest.

Excellent post drakeyv2. You got people red hot mate!!;)

Kane McGoodwin said:
Exactly. Adelaide Oval is a great place to watch sport.

Adelaide doesn't need 2 stadiums with 50K capacity at the moment.

Read the post. I would get rid of football park.

What we need is 1 stadium, of world class, near the CBD, with decent access to public transport being used 12 months of the year. Not 2 half arsed joints, both out of date & virtually unused 6 months of the year.

rainmage said:
Everything you say, IMO is correct.:)

People need to embrace change I guess and this does seem radical I suppose due to the history of the Oval and Heritage.

Thats where the problem would occur IF the Government and the SACA acted on a proposition such as this. The Heritage people would chain themselves to the Victor Richardson Gates.

I think they should let every member of the public sit in the Members for a day to see what the comfort is like. Absolutely shocking!!! Archaic to be honest.

Excellent post drakeyv2. You got people red hot mate!!;)

Yes!!!!!!!!!

1 down, approx 999,999 to go.

drakeyv2 I've been thinking about it a little bit more now and it is a fantastic idea!!!:cool:

Imagine the city after a Saturday night game where the Crows have just one a game. Imagine the life that it would bring back. A Stadium in the heart of the City is EXACTLY what this State needs.

rainmage said:
drakeyv2 I've been thinking about it a little bit more now and it is a fantastic idea!!!:cool:

Imagine the city after a Saturday night game where the Crows have just one a game. Imagine the life that it would bring back. A Stadium in the heart of the City is EXACTLY what this State needs.

That's why I reckon the West Parklands, or Keswick would be the best place, instead of replacing Adelaide Oval (which will never happen). As close to the city as you could realistically get, plenty of vacant land (although an athletic stadium and netball stadium got in first, we could demolish them ;) ). Transport infrastructure is already there and although transport would need to be improved it wouldn't take anything drastic. Then people can spend the day in the city, go to the footy, and then stay in the city after the game. It'll never happen, but that's the sort of location that Melbourne would build a stadium (and did with Docklands). A stadium on the edge of the city centre - it's nice to dream. A decision like this needed to be made 10 years ago. With all the new developments of Football Park, it will never happen now.

Blue Red and Gold said:
Yeah who cares about the history and nostalgia involved in the place :rolleyes:

What a load of toss this argument is :rolleyes:

It would still be Adelaide Oval. It would still be on the same site. Do you think that that scoreboard has always been there. It was built in 1911 & modified in 1912 & in the 1930's. The ground has had 2 previous scoreboards. Based on your logic, the current scoreboard would not be built because of the "history" of the others. Why did they build the new one? How about progress, providing better facilities to the public. If the old board is so good why have they installed the video screen?

The ground used to have a cycle track around it. Do you want that back? Do you want the steel posts & chains back that they replaced with the pickets?

The Cresswell & Mostyn Evan stands were built in the 20's. Again according to your argument, these would not have been built.

If we wanted to, we could have the best sporting stadium in the world, an arcitectural masterpiece in a magnificent location. Instead we have a bunch of glorified tin sheds, a stand that seats about 50 & provides no shade & a couple school tuck shops with some seats on top covered by old circus tents.

**** said:
That's why I reckon the West Parklands, or Keswick would be the best place, instead of replacing Adelaide Oval (which will never happen). As close to the city as you could realistically get, plenty of vacant land (although an athletic stadium and netball stadium got in first, we could demolish them ;) ). Transport infrastructure is already there and although transport would need to be improved it wouldn't take anything drastic. Then people can spend the day in the city, go to the footy, and then stay in the city after the game. It'll never happen, but that's the sort of location that Melbourne would build a stadium (and did with Docklands). A stadium on the edge of the city centre - it's nice to dream. A decision like this needed to be made 10 years ago. With all the new developments of Football Park, it will never happen now.

Agreed ****.

I still think it COULD work if you knocked Footy Park down. Land is scarce these days and people IMO would line up to buy a piece of Footy Park.

The goalsquares have got to be worth 1 Million a least!!;) :D