The SEN Thread 2

How come Doran made a half-assed effort to warn people before saying the Superbowl scores during the game, but now its finished, keeps blurting out the result and scores?

Because if anyone is fair dinkum about wanting to watch the game tonight without knowing the result, then they shouldn't be listening to any media outlet.

How come Doran made a half-assed effort to warn people before saying the Superbowl scores during the game, but now its finished, keeps blurting out the result and scores?

Bit much to expect a sports radio station not to announce the scores presumably until the replays finish at 11pm tonight.

If they didn't announce the scores people would complain that SEN is once again only looking at local sports.

Some kid smsed in saying he just got home from school and if they can tell him who won the superbowl. Mark Doran says "no I can't tell you".

What the hell? Not like they've kept the result secret so some of us can watch it home.

WTF?

Driving home tonight, they talked about the superbowl almost the whole way.

If I was trying not to find out the result, I reckon I wouldn't listen to a 24/7 sports radio station.

Did anyone just hear Andrew, Tim and Billy(sorry I left you off the email but I didn't hear ya) interview Ron Walker about the GP. Andrew was a revelation as he went in hard and was amazing when he got Walker by the throat, Walker just got bitchy.

We will NEVER hear 3AW go in hard like that about the GP.
great radio,maher showed some balls having a go at that slimebag walker,when he asked him does he make any money out of the grand prick,he changed subject.a fack is that walkers son cameron ownes UMS which has a massive contract doing all sorts of work at albert park and the island.
what a lot of people forget is that there is a lot of sports clubs in albert park that carn't use their grounds for up to 2 months! this includes a lot of juniors as well.
if they want it in melbourne build a track for full time motor sport,what about the old laverton air base,put lights in and run it at night.

Some kid smsed in saying he just got home from school and if they can tell him who won the superbowl. Mark Doran says "no I can't tell you".

What the hell? Not like they've kept the result secret so some of us can watch it home.

They had their Sports Wrap at about 2:15 right after it finished and they were playing clips from the presentations? :confused::confused:

I couldnt car much about the gridiron but you are right this afternoon Mark Doran told listeners to stop listening while he was about to do a score on that superbowl and then a couple of mins later the sports central update was talking about it for a five mins.

How long has Tony Shibekky been the MCG announcer I have been to many AFL and cricket matches and never even realised even though i have heard him on SEN as well doing the sports news.
But when he arrived they said late for the show after the cricket because he was working at the MCG I thought they meant the sport updates or something like that.
When he came on and they said he was late because he was the announcer at the MCG i realised i recognised his voice, how long has he been doing that job as well as SEN ?

Late for the Show because he was working at the MCG at his other job.
Oh I forgot this Mark Johnston has people tell him whan they want to work , how long they want to work for and now you say if they happen to be late because they are 'working their other job'
This Mark Johnston he runs a really tight ship doesnt he
People seem to come and go as they please , do as they like or please .
Leadership starts at the top obviously SEN doesnt have any from our friend Johnston

Oh I forgot this Mark Johnston has people tell him whan they want to work , how long they want to work for and now you say if they happen to be late because they are 'working their other job'
Leadership starts at the top obviously SEN doesnt have any from our friend Johnston

mark johnston would have absolutely squat self-esteem left if he read some of the stuff about him in this thread.
do we know if he is responsible for all the stuff that goes wrong or are we just going on a name that someone plucked out (crannypeter)?
the on-air presenters always go on about how barry quick is the boss and that they answer to him. i've never heard mark johnston mentioned on-air before.
surely the buck stops with barry quick?

Hey you do realise Tony would be coming in unpaid. He would be on a full time salary but it would not be expected of him to do the gladiators of sport on a friday night.
The rest of the gladiators would be unpaid too.

-Ben

Anyone listening now? Who's this Pommy naff in the studio?

Sounds like a girl, gives the impression it's a guy.

She is doing some production work for the show while Rossco Payne takes a bit of a sabatical.

Talking to her before I went on air last night, she said she did a bit of work with Brett at AO Radio and for a minute thought it was Charlotte James pretending to be someone else.

What's her story?

I went to sleep after I called in.

The more I listened to her, the more I thought she was ok.

Was thrown at first cos for a while there I thought it was some weird guy.

Hey you do realise Tony would be coming in unpaid. He would be on a full time salary but it would not be expected of him to do the gladiators of sport on a friday night.
The rest of the gladiators would be unpaid too.

-Ben

Whats the story?? Why the hell are all these people at SEN not being paid???.....If this is true, it would have to be the most UNprofessional station around surely. Nothing more than a community radio station..Its either that, or some people on here are real mischief makers, and out to destroy SEN with their claims of some not being paid, and others backstabbing each other......If it was so bad, you would have to ask yourself why the likes of Brownless, Watson, Bartlett stay there........these guys are all guys of integrity IMO, and wouldn't hang around if things were shonky....

treeman did actually say that Tony was on a full time salary.

Yes, I realise that.......he also said gladiators are unpaid....hence, my comments..

When BP was doing his interviews with the SEN staff, his interview with Tony revealed that when Gladiators 1st started, he was the only one being paid. Tony now goes in on a Friday night (for free, he is not expected to do so under his full time contract) to repay the faith shown in him by Stephen J Peake and Howard.

treeman did actually say that Tony was on a full time salary.

Somebody from SEN has come onto this forum and said that Tony is on a full time salary. As far as i'm aware he has never actually said it on air. But when he did those AFL season highlights overnights during the christmas new year period someone from sen said on here that Tony is on a full time salary or something and it was cheap for SEN just to make him do those highlights packages for their midnight to dawn shows.

I also made the assumption in regards to the rest of the gladiators as Tony said a fair few times on his show in previous years when they were doing it from 12-2 that his guests were coming in volunteer.

It could be different now as they start before 11 but i'm not completely sure. At best they might get 1 wage for all 4 of them and then they might decide to use that money for before the program on meals or drinks or parties later in the year.

They are all educated guesses.

-Ben

When BP was doing his interviews with the SEN staff, his interview with Tony revealed that when Gladiators 1st started, he was the only one being paid. Tony now goes in on a Friday night (for free, he is not expected to do so under his full time contract) to repay the faith shown in him by Stephen J Peake and Howard.

Thanks for that. I wish i heard some of those inside SEN interviews.

So i take it i might be right with my above post, that the rest do get paid but probably 1 wage between them or something?

-Ben

Good to hear Dr Turf back on KB's show. He has had me in tears this morning.

He said he was at the races over there, but didn't eat the Beaten Favorite Vindaloo.