The Thread About Nothing - PART 2 OPEN

• Thread starter Thread starter Groupie_

On sen just then the dude covering for Harf just said he was at the 95 Richmond/Bummers semi and it was the loudest roar he'd ever heard when Richmond started to come back and hit the front.

88,000 from memory that day. Probably 50k+ Tigers :cool:

This is the best few hours of radio in Australia by a mile. On RRR.

Skull Cave 'The Ghost who talks" with Stephen Walker Friday 4pm-7pm.

A music show for those with impeccable taste ;)

http://www.rrr.org.au/program/skull-cave/

Possibly...but I reckon Radio National daily at 3pm would give it a run for...
interest...variety and off the beaten track music....

*Are you one of the virtuous PS3 users, or the satanic baby eating X-box scum?

* Assuming you're not a 13 year old piss user.
Own a PS3 and a Wii. Wii's got some quality games, but I mainly use it to play Smash Bros Melee. I use my PC most of all, though.

I tried Gold 104.3 yesterday while in the car. Thought I might like some of the 80s and 70s stuff, but nope. It was awful.
Sounds like you need to get into Pandora. Internet radio, where you can choose a genre of music, and it'll just play. If you don't like a song that it gives you, press the thumbs down icon and it'll learn to not give you songs like that. Similarly, give a thumbs up if you love a song that it picks for you, and it'll learn to keep picking those types of songs.

Does anyone own good quality headphones?
I bought a pair of Bose QC15 while in the States two weeks ago. The difference in sound in these things is incredible. They just came out in blue so I grabbed a pair. Only $285 over there whereas they are $400 here. The noise-cancelling quality in these things is amazing. On the flight home, I had them on, with no music, but just for the noise-cancelling and could not hear the engines of a Boeing 777 at 880km/h.

Yeah, done some work travel in the last few years and the noise-cancelling headphones are great for travelling. Don't use them at home though - for some reason I prefer the ambient noise filtering into my experience when not on a plane.

have to say I don't use the noise cancelling at home either. Great for planes, buses and trains though.

Headphones are on my Xmas list. Whereabouts did you go in the states?

On this trip I went to Portland, Boise, Salt Lake City and Denver. I got the headphones from the Bose store in SLC.

Mate swears by the DrDre ones
Apparantely they are really good as well. I had my heart set on the Bose QC15s though.

Can't go wrong with Sennheiser.
The only thing (and I mean the ONLY thing) I don't like about my new Bose ones are that you have no option with noise-cancelling. If it's not on noise cancel, it doesn't work. Given the battery life is 35 hours, it's not really an issue I suppose, but it would be good to have the option to turn it off, especially if I am out walking and I want to be able to hear at least some outside noise likes cars etc. I will use my small bud TDK ones for that.

The Beats by Dre aren't that good, they are very bass heavy so good with the kids, especially the image they now have, but they aren't great sound reproduction. For the money there is much better available.

My favourite headphones are my Sennheiser HD-25, which are used a lot in broadcasting and by music producers as they have great sound isolation and very accurate flat response, but they aren't brilliant for travel as they don't fold up, despite their light weight. They are built to last though and have individually replaceable components so will last you a lifetime. I've had mine around 10 years and only just have to replace the earmuffs of them now as there is a hole from the thin material finally wearing out.

The Bose QuietComfort 15 are definitely the best noise cancellation headphones you can get
I'd love to get a set of proper custom made in ear headphones also, they can get pretty expensive though.

A great forum for recommendations on headphones is head-fi.org

The Beats by Dre aren't that good, they are very bass heavy so good with the kids, especially the image they now have, but they aren't great sound reproduction.

My favourite headphones are my Sennheiser HD-25, which are used a lot in broadcasting and by music producers as they have great sound isolation and very accurate flat response, but they aren't brilliant for travel, despite their light weight.

The Bose QuietComfort 15 are definitely the best noise cancellation headphones you can get
I'd love to get a set of proper custom made in ear headphones also, they can get pretty expensive though

A great forum for recommendations on headphones is head-fi.org
All good points, and it also depends on the source. Dr Dre are passable on an ipod that has a shitty compressed sound but would be horrid hooked up to a decent amp.

For cheapies (under 150) i would go eithe Koss, Grado or AKG, and TDK often surprise with a cracker here and there. Or you could take out a small loan and get some Stax electrostatics... Drool.

For short bus rides or when I'm catching the train to the footy and I don't want to take my actual headphones as they are a bit big to cart around, I have these. Only $50 and they are not bad:

20519440.jpg

I really don't know how to describe it really. There got girl bands and boy bands ranging up to 3 to 48 members.
They're highly choreographed with mad choreographed dancing skills. I'll post both boys and girls stuff.
The boy bands can dress really weirdly and ranges from preppy schoolboy look to steampunk things.
The girl bands are basically skimpy dress and oozes sex.

Anyway, I have no idea. I'm still wading my way through all the music. It's really good some of the stuff even though I have NFI what they're singing.

I think somebody has Yellow Fever ! Better find a vaccine quick or you'll end up with a mail order like Luetenant Dan in Forest Gump .

I really don't know how to describe it really. There got girl bands and boy bands ranging up to 3 to 48 members.
They're highly choreographed with mad choreographed dancing skills. I'll post both boys and girls stuff.
The boy bands can dress really weirdly and ranges from preppy schoolboy look to steampunk things.
The girl bands are basically skimpy dress and oozes sex.

Anyway, I have no idea. I'm still wading my way through all the music. It's really good some of the stuff even though I have NFI what they're singing.

Cmon man no way.. You trolling us.

Why is sportsbet offering 500-1 the world will end today? Bit silly cause if it does nobody will be around to collect. They should have offered 100,000,000-1 and every man and their dog for the novelty would have put a dollar on. They could have made some money for nothing.

How do they define end of the world? Like does a Walking Dead type zombie apocalypse with some survivors qualify for a payout, or a 2012 like event where the worlds most beautiful or brainiest get tickets onto an Ark (my tickets haven't turned up in the mail yet :oops:)? Or does it have to be a complete wipout? :confused: