The Toon Army Thread

Hope he ends up on Tyneside, I've just ordered my French national kit with his name and number on it ;)

Nice one Jatz! So you figured out how to order them?

If you can get customised names/numbers on the back, I'd expect you'd have gone for #24 and 'Knockaert' on the back haha.

I think I'll wait to see what happens with Debuchy - if he stays, I'll reward him with getting his shirt. If he goes, I might opt for Cabaye (or possibly copy you and go Cabella if he does indeed join the Toon).

Nice one Jatz! So you figured out how to order them?

If you can get customised names/numbers on the back, I'd expect you'd have gone for #24 and 'Knockaert' on the back haha.

I think I'll wait to see what happens with Debuchy - if he stays, I'll reward him with getting his shirt. If he goes, I might opt for Cabaye (or possibly copy you and go Cabella if he does indeed join the Toon).

Haha yeah, getting one through Cruyff. He's got connections apparently :p

Would have loved to get Knockaert but thought it would be wise to get someone that actually plays for them .

I really wanted Cabaye but I hate the number 6 so Cabella was the next option :p wouldn't have minded Debuchy though!

Haha yeah, getting one through Cruyff. He's got connections apparently :p

Would have loved to get Knockaert but thought it would be wise to get someone that actually plays for them .

I really wanted Cabaye but I hate the number 6 so Cabella was the next option :p wouldn't have minded Debuchy though!

Nice!! Hope you get a nice deal mate! I'll probably get my one after the tournament is done and dusted (maybe it'll be cheaper that way too haha).

In terms of transfers, we've now been getting links to Aubameyang from Dortmund and Pierre-Michel Lasogga from Hertha. If we got both of those guys, our attack would be locked and loaded for the next season!

The club has also reportedly been offered the chance to sign Kreuuuzeurns man, Caulker for $8m. Would love to add him to our squad but I can't see Cashley forking out that kind of money for a CB unless we move on one first. Maybe Taylor plus cash if they were interested?

10415597_10152223665417712_850642594813714073_n.jpg

Love this pic!

Full fixture list

16/08/2014 15:00 Newcastle United v Manchester City

23/08/2014 15:00 Aston Villa v Newcastle United

30/08/2014 15:00 Newcastle United v Crystal Palace

13/09/2014 15:00 Southampton v Newcastle United

20/09/2014 15:00 Newcastle United v Hull City

27/09/2014 15:00 Stoke City v Newcastle United

04/10/2014 15:00 Swansea City v Newcastle United

18/10/2014 15:00 Newcastle United v Leicester City

25/10/2014 15:00 Tottenham Hotspur v Newcastle United

01/11/2014 15:00 Newcastle United v Liverpool

08/11/2014 15:00 West Bromwich Albion v Newcastle United

22/11/2014 15:00 Newcastle United v Queens Park Rangers

29/11/2014 15:00 West Ham United v Newcastle United

02/12/2014 19:45 Burnley v Newcastle United

06/12/2014 15:00 Newcastle United v Chelsea

13/12/2014 15:00 Arsenal v Newcastle United

20/12/2014 15:00 Newcastle United v Sunderland

26/12/2014 15:00 Manchester United v Newcastle United

28/12/2014 15:00 Newcastle United v Everton

01/01/2015 15:00 Newcastle United v Burnley

10/01/2015 15:00 Chelsea v Newcastle United

17/01/2015 15:00 Newcastle United v Southampton

31/01/2015 15:00 Hull City v Newcastle United

07/02/2015 15:00 Newcastle United v Stoke City

10/02/2015 20:00 Crystal Palace v Newcastle United

21/02/2015 15:00 Manchester City v Newcastle United

28/02/2015 15:00 Newcastle United v Aston Villa

04/03/2015 19:45 Newcastle United v Manchester United

14/03/2015 15:00 Everton v Newcastle United

21/03/2015 15:00 Newcastle United v Arsenal

04/04/2015 15:00 Sunderland v Newcastle United

11/04/2015 15:00 Liverpool v Newcastle United

18/04/2015 15:00 Newcastle United v Tottenham Hotspur

25/04/2015 15:00 Newcastle United v Swansea City

02/05/2015 15:00 Leicester City v Newcastle United

09/05/2015 15:00 Newcastle United v West Bromwich Albion

16/05/2015 15:00 Queens Park Rangers v Newcastle United

24/05/2015 15:00 Newcastle United v West Ham United

Not a bad fixture, potentially might be able to pick up some points early (apart from City at home) and if the season turns bad, we at least have a decent run in to try and help any survival attempt!

20/12/2014 and 04/04/15 are the Derby dates - will be nice to ruin the Christmas' of those pesky Mackems a few days early! :D

LOL!

Pard's getting in early with the excuses...apparently our capitulation in the second part of the season was largely due to the WC :drunk:

Speaking to the BBC he said;

“We were affected by the World Cup, there is no doubt about that in my mind.

“We were not as strong then (second half of season) as we were in the first half of the season when we lost Yohan Cabaye and did not replace him, but I am certainly expecting the team to be much stronger (next season).

“That will give our fans some encouragement and optimism, as it all got very negative towards the end.

“The key ingredient is optimism and that is something that we need to give back to our fans.”

Newcastle have only got five players at the World Cup; Debuchy, Sissoko, Krul, Tiote and Shola, while Remy is also in Brazil after spending last season at Newcastle.

http://www.themag.co.uk/the-mag-articles/alan-pardew-excuse-984-last-season-affected-world-cup/

Another day, another mass of rumours!
  • Lasogga apparently walked out on negotiations with the club and has his heart set on Hamburg.
  • Aubameyang getting a lot of interest from Serie A, reportedly preferred destination if he leaves Dortmund.
  • Club looking at Metz's Senegalese striker Diafra Sakho who might be available for $2m.
  • We are one club linked to Victor Moses.
  • Club will not sign players on back of World Cup (so rumours of Ecuador's Valencia being a target might not be true).

More rumours today:
  • Krul has had a $10m fee slapped on him with talk Spurs are keen on him.
  • Sakho apparently not on our radar.

A bit of good news, Ryan Taylor is making steady recovery with his rehab work and hopefully will be fit in time for the season. Has been very unlucky with injuries the last 2 years. Could definitely use his set piece ability!

Few rumours from overnight:
  • Debuchy a target for Arsenal and PSG.
  • Tavernier looks set to join Wigan.
  • Yanga Mbiwa possible loan target for Lens in Ligue 1
  • Bolasie from Palace could be a possible target.

A few more tidbits:
  • Tavernier has joined Wigan for about $500,000 which isn't too bad - hope there is a sell on clause in there though!
  • Payet from Marseille who we've been linked to in the previous month is reportedly keen on a switch to the premier league.
  • PAOK are keen on Abeid and put a $350k bid in which reportedly was rejected. Would rather hold onto him though and give him a chance given our thin our squad is!
  • According to Pardew, we enquired about an 'unproven' England player and were told it would cost $14m - yet the funny thing is we rarely give our kids a proper chance to impress (partly due to not taking the cups seriously). “We recently enquired about an unproven player not in the side at one of our top clubs, and we were asked £14million. He will not be joining. Yet we can pick up players such as Yohan Cabaye, Mathieu Debuchy and Moussa Sissoko for reasonable fees, all of who have been starring for France at the World Cup.”
Our kit sponsor 'Wonga' also made a bit of a 'Wronga' decision (see what I did there?) to try and trick customers into paying their debts faster by sending out letters from fake law agencies and may be fined/charged with criminal offences. Surely, this is a great sponsor to be associated with the club. :confused:

http://www.themag.co.uk/the-mag-art...-sponsor-wonga-may-face-criminal-prosecution/

Like the cut of his jib so to speak but I think even the most optimistic fan would say CL is a stretch with our wafer thin squad.

"I think we're aiming for fourth and trying to be in the Champions League," De Jong told BBC Newcastle.

"I think that is a nice goal, a tough goal, but one we're trying to aim for."

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/28145778

Also we are apparently wanting to add 4 more players - would be nice but with the current administration, that probably also means selling 3-4 players so we are essentially moving deck chairs :D:drunk:

http://www.thejournal.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/newcastle-united-want-four-more-7362767

Though, Cabella, Lacazette, Ings and Richards would be all nice additions (that might mean seeing Debuchy, Sissoko and a few others going out the door).

On Debuchy, apparently has removed all the NUFC references on his twitter account so maybe he is indeed off in the next few days. Richards would be a handy replacement if he could get back to his best but has had a few injury troubles over the last few years. Santon and Ryan Taylor could all play RB which would then mean Haidara and Dummett slugging it out for LB.

Cheers for all the updates NUFC Tiger.There's no doubt de Jong is a good addition if he settles and adjusts to the speed and physicality of the EPL which I reckon he will.However as Ross Lyon is keen to remind anyone who'll listen "a swallow doesn't make a summer".It's a move in the right direction but has to be accompanied by another 3 or 4 quality players or it's just window dressing.If Ben Arfa stays and can be played into regular form and get more defensive bite to his game the two of them might strike up a bit of a combination.If someone can provide de Jong with some chances he doesn't need to be asked too often.
So again we'll wait and see.It's almost like having a junkie child supporting our club with Cashley at the helm;I'll never stop loving them and hoping they come good but phark me they've got some bloody explaining to do!!We've also got absolute crabs like that Obertan on the payroll with about another 3 years on his contract and wouldn't get a game with Sydney United.:mad:Just shoot him,surely he's insured,or just take $2 a kilo and be done with it.:rolleyes:
Need minimum of Cabaye and Remy replacements but I'm already prepared for Pardew declaring that Wimbledon disrupted our summer transfer targets and planning for the new season.
Looks like Siem can belt them as well as Cabaye which can't be a bad thing.
http://www.themag.co.uk/video-replay/newcastle-uniteds-siem-de-jong-video-special/?utm_source=The Mag Newsletter&ut
Here's the latest bunch of fish'nchip wrapping.
http://hereisthecity.com/en-gb/topic/newcastle-united-fc/page/1-2/

Howay the Lads!!

No worries at all Scon!

Agreed, after seeing De Jong's highlights, I'm quite excited to see him in action. Seems to have a great shot on him and has that quality Dutch technical skillset. Has a nice height to him and a great burst of speed/acceleration too which should help him succeed in the EPL!

Definitely need a striker in - Cisse is out until late in the season I believe and that only really leaves young Armstrong (17? I think) and the new Spanish kid Perez (who's only 20ish I think and coming from the Spanish second division).

Hoping for that Cabella or Grenier from Lyon to be the Cabaye replacement. It seems with Debuchy on the way out and rumoured interest in Sissoko, we might be going from a French theme to a Dutch one!

Cashley I believe has had record profits at Sports Direct and the Club made a huge profit last season, its time he started stumping up some of that money - it's very humbling to hear Pardew saying we can't match the financial muscle of clubs like Swansea, Southampton and Stoke - we have the third highest attendances ffs!

Also, a big shout out to our boy Timmy Krul who helped the Dutch win the quarter final match against Costa Rica making 2 saves in the penalty shootout.

Serious talent that Krul boy trash-talking Costa Ricans:thumbsu::thumbsu:
That's the thing that makes people want to murder Cashley;the club is just another cash register...nothing more or less.Hopefully that can change and he can start to stump up as you say and get some serious ambition and pride back on the agenda.
He must realise the long term health and interest of the supporter base is his cash cow.

Serious talent that Krul boy trash-talking Costa Ricans:thumbsu::thumbsu:
That's the thing that makes people want to murder Cashley;the club is just another cash register...nothing more or less.Hopefully that can change and he can start to stump up as you say and get some serious ambition and pride back on the agenda.
He must realise the long term health and interest of the supporter base is his cash cow.

Exactly right mate! From what I've read, there are some concerns season tickets aren't being as highly renewed as they have been in the past. Could we see sub 40k crowds after regularly filling out our 52k stadium?

The club also saying they don't value the cup competitions suggests they don't care about winning anything, just want to collect the TV money from the league. I read somewhere our commercial and matchday revenue were amongst the lowest in the league - hardly surprising when Cashley is plastering Sports Direct logos on everything and doing it for free!

I don't know a great deal about this Janmaat guy but if he is the starting RB for the Dutch side at the WC, he must be a more than handy replacement for Debuchy if he goes! Not bad at all to replace the starting French RB with the Dutch one!

I'm also quietly pleased Scon that Ben Arfa hasn't attracted any interest from other clubs yet. On his day, he is close to our best player and I'd love to have him as he can give us that spark. Very exciting to see him on the ball as something normally happens.

Agreed he's a beauty,like our Michael Walters on his day except Sonson has realised consistency is key.So I side with Pardew on this one although probably for different reasons;Ben Arfa may have an epiphany and get the defensive bite into his game which he needs to play whatever version of a midfield role is allocated to him under a fairly inflexible and unimaginative coaching regime.
It appears de Jong plays the 10 in behind whoever it is we are going to have leading the line up front which means Ben Arfa is most suited to the wide right midfielder.Which again means he has to be fit,firing and willing to work from box to box at relentless pace for 90 mins.There's not a doubt in my mind he could do it but whether that Froggy-I'm-a-bit-of-an-artiste-I-am gets in the road we shall see.The EPL is unforgiving of any player weakness,and opposition coaches are always dead keen to turn a player weakness into a team flaw.
Remember this fella??
Pardew should just tell Ben Arfa "Play like tha' canny lad and thee'l be in wor team!":D:rolleyes:

Robert was a cracker! I think I also saw that today is the anniversary of when we signed Ginola for 2.5m back in the day. Those are 2 great French wingers HBA should aspire to match in a Toon top :D

The Toon Army Thread