robertg22
Like a librarian
Very nervous if Lascelles and Dummett are our CBs!

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 7
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Very nervous if Lascelles and Dummett are our CBs!
Lascellas needs to be given time under Mclaren who is normally great young talent. Lascellas was shaky with Forrest last term and wasn't a regular 11, we really do need Mbemba as well as Mitrovic.
On Mitrovic, has there ever been a more drawn out transfer than this? I've read dozens of articles we are hours away from signing him yet zilch. Annoying
If we had a choice of one, would it be Mitrovic or Austin? I am thinking Austin.... proven EPL talent

Could be a double signing (will wait for official confirmation from the club) but Mitrovic looks like a done deal. Mbemba supposedly on his way for a medical as well.
![]()
IMO, we probably still need (assuming Mbemba is finalised) another CB (as Willo is terrible, Colo not much better and Taylor is servicable but spends more time with the physios unfortunately). Lascelles and Mbemba are only 21 and 20 respectively so having a seasoned CB to help would be great. Tomkins from West Ham has been mentioned just about every window the last few years.
Also think we need 1 more striker ideally (with the talk of Cisse being sold), if Mitrovic goes down with injury, we're going to be light on options up front. Austin would be amazing though there's talk Villa may swoop if they sell Benteke. I feel like Austin is more likely to be a player who'd stick around long term than Mitrovic (who, if he hits his potential, will surely itch for a move to a bigger club again sadly). Austin to me (IMO) seems the kind of guy who could become a Toon hero over a number of years.
Think I read Riviere and Cabella are both out for at least the Southampton opener which isn't ideal either.
Exciting times. We've been slow in the window but if the deals are quality, then I can live with that.
Read the interview with Mitrovic.. He had a Newcastle Jersey with his name on it as a kid, he says he was a Newcastle fan! Who knows, he could be full of shit but already he's a huge favourite on the fan boards and pages.
The thing with getting Austin will make it extremely hard to play both in the same 11 as they play very similar.. Keeping Cisse is a must, he seems content to be a super sub which will allow Mitrovic to play the number 9 role without any competition which will suit his personality. We also have Ayoze to support him and worst case Manu if things get desperate. I think the focus needs to be to bring in another CB along with Mbemba, the club is into Abdennour who is probably a pipedream HOWEVER if we are legitamately in the hunt then we could have the best centre back in the PL. Abdennour is an absolute beast of a human, super strong in the air and very organised, never gets caught napping out of position, you'll never see balls in behind him, the guy is a star.
All positives so far, just now for the luck of no injuries... That in it self would be worth 100ml.
Love the Jersey... Hate the Wonga!! He looks built for AFL footy.

I hear that Abeid is being looked at and I think we should get rid of Tiote, so a big strong mid/defensive mid should be on that list too IMO.
Mbemba can play RB too which would help cover Janmaat if required.
Finally (sort of) feel we are on the right track. Let's see how long this feeling lasts!

I'd be happy for us to let Cisse go too if we managed to sign Austin. Austin/Mitrovic/Perez/Riviere (still holding out hope we can some day turn him into something decent...) isn't a bad group.
Removing him and Tiote would free up our wages considerably you'd think.
If Kemen's that good perhaps a loan spell might be better for him..
Not a fan of Anita but I guess he remains in the squad, so we need to make use out of him. Gouffran on the other hand....![]()
How would 1 of Austin or Mitrovic feel as a reserve because it's virtually impossible to play 2 out and out number 9s. I reckon we would get half a dozen games in and one would be sooking, if we keep Cisse as the super sub it'll allow Perez to play of the shoulder of Mitrovic which would be perfect for his development. Could you imagine a free roaming Perez latching onto the crumbs from Alelsandar the great?
Personally id prefer us to spend our last 25m on a central defender and a full back who can cover both flanks. Either way even with Mitrovic/Mbemba and Wiji we have done extremely well, just need 1 more big signing and a nice depth squad member.
You can't knock Cashley this window, we have recruited world class CL calibre players.