Vic "The Traveller" is officially dead.

• Thread starter Thread starter Old Skool

If I am 15 years old, how does it feel to know a 15 year old is completely embarrassing you on your utter and complete lack of knowledge on this topic?

And that's without even mentioning how much more entertaining my skillfully written posts are than your tired, conservative whinge.

Hmmm - me thinks my guess about you being 15 has hit the mark.

Your posts strangely remind me of someone but I just can't put my finger on it. I doubt I'll ever figure it out considering you're on what, you're 6th or 7th red card now and a perma ban isn't far away..

No doubt you will come back under another name though.

By the way, I do know Mark Textor in a roundabout way. Would you like his considered view on your non compulsory voting hilarity - ie Labor is favoured.

I would ask you to ask your English or Politics teacher at school but no doubt you would not listen to either.

The arrrogance of youth and all that.

I think I've worked out your problem (the main one at least) DayTripper.

You simply lack any kind of abstract thought. The fact you think it's completely crazy and out there simply for someone to do a few things with their time, shows that you probably lack the ability to see an argument from any stance other than the one you were presented with first (and no doubt, via a news source carefully chosen to be the simplest, most emotive and dumbest).

And that's without even mentioning how much more entertaining my skillfully written posts are than your tired, conservative whinge.

Engaging this person is a pointless exercise. It's a distraction and you will gain nothing from the experience, unless you also wish to engage in pointless, circular, reductionist dicksizing. I recommend you move on.

DayTripper ruining yet another thread about social policy with his standard conservative people-are-too-dumb rhetoric.

And I'm the one that gets carded for calling him a flog?

What a world we live in.

DayTripper ruining yet another thread about social policy with his standard conservative people-are-too-dumb rhetoric.

And I'm the one that gets carded for calling him a flog?

What a world we live in.

What you and your mates need to learn (although you are nowhere near as bad as LK and OS) is that when you start a thread be prepared to have people disagree with you and have legitimate arguments to back you up.

Discussion forums don't exist so simply everyone can agree with your POV - especially when you haven't even bothered to look at the other side of the argument.

For the record, whilst I will miss having a traveller I can understand the reasoning behind the new law.

No I don't see the point to this law when they could be doing a shit load of other things which would be more effective.

The thing is though its cheap as chips to implement (in fact they will probably make money out of it), is media friendly and doesn't negatively impact a great segment of the population.

From that perspective, its a bit of a no brainer really.

Discussion forums don't exist so simply everyone can agree with your POV - especially when you haven't even bothered to look at the other side of the argument.

For the record, whilst I will miss having a traveller I can understand the reasoning behind the new law.

I'll reply to this properly when I'm more sobre. Maybe tomorrow.

:thumbsu:

P.S. I'm walking to the pub in a few minutes. Not driving. Make of that what you will.

crap like this makes me want to move overseas

Brother, Canada is calling me BIG TIME. I hear they're still undergoing evolution over there.

I sort a few things out and I'm outta this backward dump.

I wouldn't do that if I were you.

http://www.austlii.edu.au/au/legis/vic/consol_act/soa1966189/s13.html

8 penalty units = $977.12 in to the public coffers.

Best you stay inside, lock the door and draw the blinds.

Yeah, fair call. They seem okay up here in Brissy though.

During 'Zombie Walk' a couple of months ago, I walked around the Brissy CBD fairly tipsy and happened to walk past some officers who were supervising from the sidelines. In my happy state I decided to go and have a conversation with them, during which I complimented the Brissy force for not being as corrupt or thuggish as the Victorian force of my native Victoria. I might have even let slip that I reckon Vic coppers are a bunch of you-know-whats but these guys were cool as and let me go about my business as a tipsy zombie Jesus, didn't even intimate that I'd had one too many.

The way QLD ought to be in my opinion.

:thumbsu:

Haha a Liberal voter in favour of abolishing mandatory voting in Australia?

BWAHAHAHAHAHAH ok mate, go right ahead, be my guest. Watch the Liberal Party fold within 15 years without compulsory voting. It will be ALP vs Greens almost immediately.

p.s. you realise the legislation being discussed in this thread is a Liberal party policy at state level in Victoria right? You are aware Baillieu is behind it, not Gillard, yes?

you really stuffed this up with a whole bunch of assumptions

first of all, I dont think either party is capable of running a country. So whether or not its the libs or labour that suffers is fine by me because it will create a greater improvement in our government system

I do think however the howard government wouldve done a much better job than the current

and I am for the discussed legistlation, not against it. reading comprehension for the win

The current minority government is doing really well though.

You don't "believe" they can run a country, but they are running a country.

It isn't a question of opinion, just a fact.

Your assertion that Rudd won because he went to a strip club, is one of the dumbest points of view that anyone has ever held. And I've read some of DayTripper's posts!

The current minority government is doing really well though.

You don't "believe" they can run a country, but they are running a country.

It isn't a question of opinion, just a fact.

Your assertion that Rudd won because he went to a strip club, is one of the dumbest points of view that anyone has ever held. And I've read some of DayTripper's posts!

Rudd won the election on popularity. Going to a strip club was a key to entertaining the minds of the forced-to-vote bogans who make up majority of the labour electorates

They are running it because they are forced to, they arent running it well. They are running it poorly. They are doing far from well

Speaking of nanny state, I have a friend who's a film/tv producer and if a ladder is going to be used on a set you need someone with a ladder licence to 'operate it'.

And as for politics, the thing that does my head in, and this is purely my opinion, is that what I see is politicians caring for their parties' re-election chances rather than fearlessly making policies for the better of the country as a whole. Anyway catch the 'tax summit' where the issue of negative gearing was brought up? Gillard and Swan just sat stony-faced. Kind of summed it up.

Anyway, back to travellers. I think penalising passengers is ridiculous. As for drivers, I remember years ago when I worked in the bottle we had a tradie who came through everyday and bought 4 cans of Jim Beam black for the drive home. Wouldn't have minded if he got picked up.

The thing is though its cheap as chips to implement (in fact they will probably make money out of it), is media friendly and doesn't negatively impact a great segment of the population.

From that perspective, its a bit of a no brainer really.

****ing bingo!

Now we get to the crux of it......do nothing, just look like you're doing something, make some cash and keep the masses nodding thir heads in agreement.

****ing bingo!

Now we get to the crux of it......do nothing, just look like you're doing something, make some cash and keep the masses nodding thir heads in agreement.

Mate, I can see both sides of the argument but to me its more important to sever the link between alcohol and driving as much as possible and this is just another small step in doing that.

Rudd won the election on popularity. Going to a strip club was a key to entertaining the minds of the forced-to-vote bogans who make up majority of the labour electorates

Please show your evidence for this wildly stupid claim.

They are running it because they are forced to, they arent running it well. They are running it poorly. They are doing far from well

Specifically how are they doing poorly?

Mate, I can see both sides of the argument but to me its more important to sever the link between alcohol and driving as much as possible and this is just another small step in doing that.

I'm pretty sure there are a raft of things which could be addressed which would more effectively address the road toll before this........as you said it costs **** all and will even add to the revenue raising that most of these laws are designed to do.

Kahuna can spout all the emotive bullshit he likes but this is the truth. Making judgments about me and my personal life only made him come off like a dick whether he thinks so or not.

EDIT: In my opinion 0.00 will never do anything either........ask yourself how many people between 0.00 and 0.05 will be involved in potentially fatal accidents. InB4ifjustonelifesaved.

And as for politics, the thing that does my head in, and this is purely my opinion, is that what I see is politicians caring for their parties' re-election chances rather than fearlessly making policies for the better of the country as a whole. Anyway catch the 'tax summit' where the issue of negative gearing was brought up? Gillard and Swan just sat stony-faced. Kind of summed it up.

Of course. When you mandate an election every three years it's very difficult to govern for the long-term. It's still possible though. This government has proven itself very inept at selling its message.

I would've thought it be much more important to educate people aged 16-24 the incredible dangers of drinking to excess, not targeting mature adults who like to enjoy a glass of wine with dinner and then drive home or enjoy a stubby on a Sunday drive.

I'd like to see governments prepared to be voted out rather than minimising their re-election risks.