The venue....

fitzy's_eyes

So Adelaide guys....do you think the final will be played over there?
Was listening to the coverage tonight and they kept bringing up the dismal crowd.....is this a sign it might not be played at home?
Was the crowd really that bad.....the offical figures were somewhere in the 17,000 mark but the commentators tried to say someone else stated it was more like 20,000.
While I would love a Melbourne game (so I could go) I think the players would be better off playing at home.
What factors do you think will come into play?

the official Crowd figure os 17982. Listening to 5aa it appears that AFL is not happy with that and the early signs are it will be played in Melbourne. Collingwood game tonight had 24000 at Telstra Dome with 2 victorian sides playing and we get 18000 with 1 SA side playing. I would think if we get the final in Adelaide we could get somwhre about 35000. I know its only a pre-season but fair dinkum, if we don't get a home final I for one would be pi*sed off. Its a matter of principle.:mad:

Originally posted by fitzy's_eyes
What factors do you think will come into play?

Certainly not commonsense, logic or fairness based on past decisions.

For all of the above reasons, I expect the snivelling CEO of the VFL - oops AFL - to bow to the pressure of Eddie McChins and play the game in Melbourne.

After all, Collingwood have travelled in their last 2 games. From 1 side of the city to the other. And that's more than they'll do for most of their games this year. :rolleyes:

I have a funny feeling that we will be ripped off. Just how important do you think the final will be next week? I want us to win for the sake of beating Collingwood. If my memory serves me right, I think we have lost past 3 against wobbles, including last years prelim. It payback time I reckon.:mad:

I dunno guys.....while I think (to a certain degree) we deserve the Wizz Fizz GF and should get it, I wouldn't mind it being played at the Telstra Dome.

There's something about playing the GF at the home of footy in Melbourne, a large crowd of rabid Pies' fans in attendance....the buildup and the hype will be big....especially if Carey plays.....and I think we'll probably be underdogs if it's played at the Dome, which can only help us. Winning it there would be sweet.

Having said all that, I'd obviously like it the match played at AAMI, it'd be good to be there and see us possibly taking out our first pre-season flag.

Re: Re: The venue....

Originally posted by macca23
Certainly not commonsense, logic or fairness based on past decisions.

For all of the above reasons, I expect the snivelling CEO of the VFL - oops AFL - to bow to the pressure of Eddie McChins and play the game in Melbourne.

After all, Collingwood have travelled in their last 2 games. From 1 side of the city to the other. And that's more than they'll do for most of their games this year. :rolleyes:

LOL
Its been suggested in the media that because we didnt get given a home final last year the AFL wants to reimburse us with a WOKGF. Fair dinkum, theyre a mob o dIc+heads at the AFL.
As if that will appease my friggin anger over last year.:mad:

I think it was always going to be in Melbourne. Trying to blackmail the SA public into going last night to amass a big crowd was to feed the coffers

Don't care where it's played. Would be nice just to win the thing. No need to get too worked up over the venue - it's just the pre-season cup.

Crowd figure in Melbourne was great considering the game is in the middle of the GP here, you do remember the GP don`t you? Most punters going to the GP don`t have the spare $$$$ to spend on two sporting events in one week, so the mainly Pie fans that went last night will double this week. If any of you Crow people are coming over, bring some ear plugs!

Its time to show the Club with the Biggest memership just what the real No:1 club in the AFL can do, step aside we are coming through.

The future is Black and White!

Originally posted by tess
Crowd figure in Melbourne was great considering the game is in the middle of the GP here, you do remember the GP don`t you? Most punters going to the GP don`t have the spare $$$$ to spend on two sporting events in one week, so the mainly Pie fans that went last night will double this week. If any of you Crow people are coming over, bring some ear plugs!

Its time to show the Club with the Biggest memership just what the real No:1 club in the AFL can do, step aside we are coming through.

Of course, you don't have money to spend on the GP and the Wizard. Most of Collingwood supporters get regular Government cheques and have the brain the size of a pea. They need to play it at Telstra to ensure that they can use Government transport to get there.

Originally posted by tess

You've already shown us what you can do. Win 1 premiership in 43 years and walk around beating your chests saying in your pidgin English "We are the greatest!!"

Whether you win a Wizard Wok courtesy of Uncle Wayne from the VFL is irrelevant.

At the end of this year it will be 1 premiership in 44 years.

Stated in Black and White.
:rolleyes: