The Wine thread

Bowen estate cab sav would be my suggestion. For an extra few dollars you might even get a vintage release

Vassa is also a good suggestion.

Looking for a bottle of shiraz/cab sav for a wine-enthusiast friend as a graduation present.

I want something pretty good that he can put away for a good ~10years or so.

Budget is flexible $100-$150. Would prefer to be able to get it in the CBD or inner south suburbs. Need it in the next couple of days.

Suggestions welcomed.

Looking for a bottle of shiraz/cab sav for a wine-enthusiast friend as a graduation present.

Budget is flexible $100-$150. Would prefer to be able to get it in the CBD or inner south suburbs. Need it in the next couple of days.

Suggestions welcomed.

For milestones, the d'Arenberg Dead Arm shiraz is always a good bet. It's usually about $60, so you could throw in a decent bottle of white or port or something to go with it.

Thanks for the reply.

I actually went in early this morning and got talked into buying a selection of 3 cheaper wines. Guy said it was only worth paying $150+ for a bottle of wine if you wanted to drink it in the near future.

Here are the wines I got, hopefully they're alright.

(1) Penfolds Bin 407 Cab Sav 2009
(2) Kay Brothers Hillside Shiraz 2008 (sales guy said this was really good and good value for money)
(3) Escarpement Pinot Noir (NZ) 2010

Managed to get all three for under $125 so was pretty happy.

Suggestions welcomed.

Penfolds RWT Shiraz, Killikanoon Oracle Shiraz, Wynns John Riddoch Cab Sauv, Katnook Estate Odyssey Cab Sauv would be my recommendations. All fantastic wines, all capable of long term aging.

Had a bottle of the reserve Shiraz Gibson label on Saturday night which was sensational.

Only about $50 bottle and is the label of the ex Penfolds winemaker. Simply superb.

Can pick it up at Dan Murphy's so if you want to impress, try a bottle.

Also like the Currency Creek wines ATM....

Paid my first visit to Murrumbateman recently. Picked up some nice rieslings from Helm, and some reds from Clonakilla.

Will be back in Canberra in a few weeks. Intend to see a few more of the Murrumbateman wineries. I had heard they were good, but didn't quite realise how good some were.
Clonakilla is fantastic as are a number of other Murrumbateman wines.

Our best friends own a little known label called Kardinia which is good, limited sales though, but they Contract the winery to a couple of guys Nick and Alex who run Collector and Bourke Street labels...these are seriously nice wines.

Try and find a Collector Marked Tree Shiraz...very good!

Had a bottle of the reserve Shiraz Gibson label on Saturday night which was sensational.

Only about $50 bottle and is the label of the ex Penfolds winemaker. Simply superb.

Can pick it up at Dan Murphy's so if you want to impress, try a bottle.

Also like the Currency Creek wines ATM....

gibbos reserve is excellent.

it's a tough life living in the barossa. ;)

gibbos reserve is excellent.

it's a tough life living in the barossa. ;)
Mate of mine is Cellar Manager at Currency creek......Some nice wines there also!

I am attending a wine club tomorrow.

6 guys are nominated to bring a bottle worth about $50 and we all (about 12-14 0f us) get to have a taste and discuss.

We pay a fee each session for some food and at the end of the year, the left over money shall be put towards a premium wine tasting night. i.e. Grange.

My uncle is running it. He used to own a bottle shop and has excellent knowledge of wines.

I am feeling a bit overwhelmed by my lack of genuine knowledge but know most of the guys so it should be a great night.

I think there will be quite a lot of talk about the footy !

Great work Jim. I first got interested in wines about 15 years ago (through my old man), and now have a fairly decent knowledge and half decent cellar built up.

Now I'm a part of 3 unofficial wine groups, and I look forward to catching up with each group as much as I do walking into the 'G for a big game, or standing on the 1st tee at a great course on a perfect morning.

Keeping up with wine releases, trends, labels and winemakers has been addictive, but extremely enjoyable. Just like everything, the more you put into it, the more you'll get out of it.

On tips, we had a cool climate shiraz night with the work crew last week. Whilst the expectations of the aged 2002 Craiglee and 2006 Shaw and Smith Shiraz were easily met, the highlight was the latest 2010 Mike Press shiraz that one of the guys brought for a quick look. Whilst not as bold and robust as most of the others, the clarity and balance of the wine was amazing, with enough acidity to give it plenty of life. A steal at around $13 a bottle!

The Mike Press wines are fantastic value. The latest Cabernet is excellent. Can normally get them from winestar for $120 a dozen.

Enjoy the wine club Jim. As Harvey said, they are great fun.

Its a great industry to be involved in. Best move Ive made was to get involved in the wine industry.

Grosset has just opened for his 6 weeks of the year so ill be heading there this week. From a number of external reports, the 2012 Polish Hill is the best ever.

I have, for a long time wanted to go on a wine appreciation course, but never seem to find the time for it.

This wine club will be a good start. Having said that, I think I know a good wine when I taste one.

Had a bottle of this in the cellar for 4 years. Wanting a special occasion to crack it. 40th in November may be the go

It's my 40th in two weeks.

Going to Maris in Malvern for dinner.

Here's our wine list for the night....

1997 Petaluma Riesling
1998 John Riddoch Cab Sav
1998 Petaluma Coonawarra
2005 Crawford River Reserve Riesling

And the cruncher.....

1972 Penfolds Grange :D

It's my 40th in two weeks.

Going to Maris in Malvern for dinner.

Here's our wine list for the night....

1997 Petaluma Riesling
1998 John Riddoch Cab Sav
1998 Petaluma Coonawarra
2005 Crawford River Reserve Riesling

And the cruncher.....

1972 Penfolds Grange :D

Might be worth dropping that bottle of Grange into Maris the day before on in the morning so they can decant and aerate it for you. Was lucky enough to have a bottle of the 1971 come through work the other day and it needed a few hours before you could really appreciate it. That being said check with a sommelier or wine expert who might know exactly how to prepare that Grange so it's perfect for drinking

Yeah i'm thinking of dropping it off there the night before.

I'm just worried it's going to go missing in the interim.

I've had Grange before so I know how to get it ready. Decant through muslin, leave it for a while, then put it back in the bottle.

Just dropped in to say the Grange was ****ing unbelievable.

Got a bottle of 2010 Wirra Wirra church block given to me. I know nothing about wines and dont drink them often. any notes for a beginner?

Just dropped in to say the Grange was ******* unbelievable.

I've had Grange a few times - most recently a '78 at Christmas 2010. It helped they were all cellared properly (IE, not a cardboard box in the bottom of the wardrobe).

If you are a bit of a wine drinker, is an astonishing experience. You realise 'THIS is what all the wine-w***ery is about!'. It's a totally different experience to a $30-40 bottle from Dan's. It shifts your perspectives.

Fortunately, I haven't had to pay for a bottle - yet. I'm not sure I can justify the price for even a single bottle. But if you are an Aussie wine buff, you SHOULD save up and go the Grange at least once.

I'll be drinking at least one bottle of Grange every year for the rest of my life I can tell you.

If you get them from an auction house, you know they are properly cellared, and they are a darn sight cheaper than retail.

I'll get back on later and describe the experience in a bit more detail, and tell a funny story about some wine snobs who dissed us on the night lol

Got a bottle of 2010 Wirra Wirra church block given to me. I know nothing about wines and dont drink them often. any notes for a beginner?
One of my favourite regulars, my local bottle-o regularly does 2-for-1 specials and it's a steal at the price. Really nice, solid red that you can drink off the shelf or cellar if you'd rather. Great BBQ wine, pretty robust flavour. Sort of thing I like to drink with a nice bloody steak.

Wirra Church Block is great. Always reliable, always good, always on special. Its always a very very drinkable wine.

For aged Grange, if you dont mind a little bit of label damage, then Cellarit is the best place ive found. You can get 20-30 year old bottles very cheap.

Here's an etiquette question. If someone brings a bottle to dinner, is the host under an obligation to open it that evening?

My feeling is only if it's a particularly special bottle. But I'm not 100% sure.