Things I Don't Understand...

• Thread starter Thread starter I Rock

I agree with most of what you are saying Cogga, especially pushing Richo back, it was a mistake not to do so and he may have been able to plug a couple of holes but that does not change the fact that the biggest change was in the intensity of the Cats.
As a team our guys are still learning and growing, and I don't think that they had another level to go too when the Cats lifted in the thrid quarter.
They monstered us and we didnt have the physical precence to go with them.
Lets not forget other than Selwood and Hawkins, most of their team is mid 20s upwards.
Like I said in my last post this is not a defence of how we played , more a recognition of how well the Cats played in the third quarter. They had another level to go too and watching the first half we threw everything at them and only lead by 6 points.
We did not have any more in our bag of tricks but in time with bigger bodies and more experience this should become part of this groups armoury within 2-3 years.

yep...understand what you saying re. cats intensity, it was quite evident that they upped the ante, it was quite visible, when they had numbers wherever the ball was. But strategies need to change when blind freddy can see that a team is making its push...IMO anyway. The brains trust should have realised that whatever their plan was, i.e. move Richo here, put x, y , z there, should have changed, in the face of the surge, in an attempt to weather it. Maybe snag a couple on the rebound, and maybe snuff out the surge. Like i said, when you are 5 up in the rain, you can soak up the pressure and preserve the lead. Its all about keeping your nose in front. Any relenting of that surge, and you strike and kill it off. Of course you might say that the cats are unrelenting, but they were that because they could see they were reeling us in quick. You stem the tide and buy time and you never know. For sure and certain that in the heat of battle when they had drawn up to us....and this isnt a bag for Polak, the guy cant kick, but he presented us with the opportunity, but he snags that goal and we keep a buffer and maybe deflate them a bit. He misses and whhhhhhhhhhhooooooooooosh...bye bye charlie.

TW must have been saying you little ____ing beauty when before you knew it, we were 5 kicks up. But he dropped the ball, when he stuck to the pre game plan. I reckon he has pencilled it in for future reference to. And it this aint a bag of TW either. The fact that the plan got us to be 5 up, means that he had it right at that point. But when its wet and the ball is sliding around off packs etc, the structure shit that they keep on talking about means JS, IMO. You need to improvise and get the RESULT.

But then again when the umps are paying ridiculous deliberate OOBs, because the commision agents have poured on the cash for the 5% interest, it makes life difficult;)

How can anyone say it's ok this one got away because we played this team etc. It's a two horse race and regardless of who you are up against if you get in a position to win then you should go on and win the bloody thing.

Yeah, if you get in a position to win, you should win. But please don't use the term two horse race for footy, because if its between say geelong & Melbourne, then thats like a race between Phar Lap & Mr. Ed.

I can't believe how harsh some off you guy's are about your club.
You have unearthed a superstar in one Foley, and a young gun in Cotchin,
you've played the three top teams without getting belted, and you will probably
be in the position my team was in last year, have some faith in your club, it's
amazing how quickly things can change in today's modern game.

Its a sad day when the only words of wisdom come from a Hawthorn supporter.

What is wrong with you people how about the highlights

Cotchin possesions goals and the push off on Scarlett
McGuanes tackle in the first qrtr I think,
Richo, Foley, Deledio, plenty of highlights
The gang tackling we did
We outscored Geelong in 2 of the 4 qrts and in the 2nd there was only 1 point different the 3rd was bad but they were very good

We will win at least 8 games between now and the end of the season add that to our 2.5 and Id say this season will have been a success

Its a sad day when the only words of wisdom come from a Hawthorn supporter.

What is wrong with you people how about the highlights

Cotchin possesions goals and the push off on Scarlett
McGuanes tackle in the first qrtr I think,
Richo, Foley, Deledio, plenty of highlights
The gang tackling we did
We outscored Geelong in 2 of the 4 qrts and in the 2nd there was only 1 point different the 3rd was bad but they were very good

We will win at least 8 games between now and the end of the season add that to our 2.5 and Id say this season will have been a success

Yep and they will all look good on the 2008 highlights package too. Pity though that after 8 rounds the team sit on 2.5 wins when it should be on 5 wins.

I just thought of a joke that could get a red but what the hell; whats the difference between my last missus and the RFC? When she was five up in the wet she wouldn't let the oppurtunity pass by.

The commentators keep saying that Geelong is winning despite not playing well. That is crap. Geelong's 3rd quarter was the best quarter of footy I have seen a team play in those type of conditions. Ever. The way they were handling and moving the ball was unbelievable. In large that was because we took the foot of the peddle - that much is true. But it is very very hard for a side to maintain the sort of intensity we had in the first half for an entire game, especially for a young developing side like ours.

The first half was probably the best footy we have played this year. The 3rd quarter we were slaughtered. The 4th, when both sides were knackered, we came back and matched them for play and slightly outscored them. We have to keep working on playing out 4 quarters, but I still think there was a fair few positives out of this game. Especially when some players who had been improving in form, such as Moore and Tambling had poor games, and others like Reiwoldt struggled with the conditions. Thursfield, who has been one of our pillars down back, also played poorly and Browny had been crook all week before the game. We matched the top team for 3 quarters and bettered them in parts despite having a few players down on form.

IMO the loss against the Saints was far more disappointing. Before that game I expected us to win by 5 goals and we won enough of the ball to win it by ten. But poor skills let us down in that one. Our skills in the wet against Geelong were better than in the dry against the Saints until we fatigued in the second half.

Maybe a few other things could have been tried. King kept Ablett to 2 Brownlow votes last time we played whereas he'll get a certain 3 this time around against Hyde, so maybe that could have been tried. Richo had his fingers down his throat at one stage, so I'm guessing that the reason he was sitting up forward was because he was too spent to keep running up and back. What is the point of running him entirely into the ground against Geelong when there is another game in 7 days?

Maybe a few other things could have been tried. King kept Ablett to 2 Brownlow votes last time we played whereas he'll get a certain 3 this time around against Hyde, so maybe that could have been tried.

Really?!!??!Kept him to only 2 votes last time you say? That's ____in' awesome!!!!What a legend!!!Jeez, we coulda won this time!!!:eek:

Shit, only 2 votes....:o

mate turned to me and hit the nail on the head.
He says, you know what i dont understand? Why when Richo is kicking butt, across HB, we are 4 kicks up in the rain with a chance to go 5 up, does TW take Richo from where he is the unpenetrable wall, and puts him in the FL. And like clockwork, we are 1 kick up and looking over our shoulders.
Get with the program TW, its not all about working to a formula dude, its all about knowing when to change it when you have to. Keep Richo in the BL and soak up the pressure from the cats push to reel us in, snag a major on the rebound, and keep the ____ing lead to 4 kicks.....FFS, to easy..;)

So, Richo out on his feet has to stay in the backline where the ball is continually being kicked to.

Your mate must be ******ed or something ;)