Society & Culture Things in life you just don't understand - Part 5

I don't understand when a plane lands in Australia we get the past present and emerging leaders spiel, when I see some leadership I will applauad it but apart from Jacinta Price I don't see much

I'm not a car bloke at all - so this might be just one of those things I'll never "get", but...

Why would you ever buy a new car? The only car I've ever owned cost ~$1k and I couldn't imagine ever spending more than a couple of grand on one.

I'm not a car bloke at all - so this might be just one of those things I'll never "get", but...

Why would you ever buy a new car? The only car I've ever owned cost ~$1k and I couldn't imagine ever spending more than a couple of grand on one.
We bought a new car about 9 months ago when my son was born.

TBH to get anything even remotely similar in terms of warranty, quality, safety (for the bub) new or used was going to be about the same price as used.

Im by no means a car person either but having some disposable income and wanting comfort and safety for the family it made sense for us. Not suggesting its something everyone should or will do but i think it has its place.

yeah the car market at the moment is crazy, there's always been cases where it made sense to go new vs used where demand outstripped supply, or where you were getting paid to have the car etc

but currently people are paying above retail to jump the queue on new cars....

yeah the car market at the moment is crazy, there's always been cases where it made sense to go new vs used where demand outstripped supply, or where you were getting paid to have the car etc

but currently people are paying above retail to jump the queue on new cars....
Ours took like 6 months to arrive. Ordered it in March 2021 and arrived early August. Alot of people i know have either bought used or tried to pay to jump the queue.

The car we ended up buying i asked about buying the demo model, expecting it would have a bit knocked off the price, the dealer said he was considering charging more for it cause hed had so much interest.

As a side note, it blew my mind when I found out that you have to get a car passed through roadworthiness whenever you're selling it here in Vic. It explains why you see far less absolute shitboxes here than in Tasmania.

In Sydney you have to get your car roadworthied every time you register it if its over a certain number of years old

Yeah, pretty crazy to learn. When I lived in Tassie you only had to do that if it'd been unregistered for 6 months (or something like that)

I think in SA you only do roadworthy when you purchase?

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app

not even that

" the only time a vehicle will need a roadworthy inspection if a vehicle has been modified, written-off or defected."

My 1993 Ford Laser couldn't open the passenger door after I crashed it and occasionally used to turn off while I was driving it. Good old bus that would not pass road worthiness here in Vic lol

not even that

" the only time a vehicle will need a roadworthy inspection if a vehicle has been modified, written-off or defected."
My first Mini had brakes that you had to pump up repeatedly before they worked, wouldn't change down to second gear and had so much rust water slopped at your feet when you drove in the rain. Got a good couple of years out of it too despite it not belonging anywhere near the road.

My 1993 Ford Laser couldn't open the passenger door after I crashed it and occasionally used to turn off while I was driving it. Good old bus that would not pass road worthiness here in Vic lol
My 96 EL Falcon constantly turned itself off too. Was terrifying cruising around 1 hand on the wheel then bang car turns off and you lose power steering going through a corner.

My first Mini had brakes that you had to pump up repeatedly before they worked, wouldn't change down to second gear and had so much rust water slopped at your feet when you drove in the rain. Got a good couple of years out of it too despite it not belonging anywhere near the road.

i had a Gemini that sounded very similar, i put my foot down on the brakes one day, foot went to the floor and the car skidded to a stop, water would run down into the foot well after some rain, had that wonderful musty smell

Friend of mine had one like that. It had cruise control too some of the time, or at least the choke kept getting suck on.

I brought my car brand new because I am a Ford girl and my car is one of the last manual xr6's ever made.

But if I was to buy a car again I'd buy second hand because I want a SS ute lol

I brought my car brand new because I am a Ford girl and my car is one of the last manual xr6's ever made.

But if I was to buy a car again I'd buy second hand because I want a SS ute lol

good luck finding one, second hand pricing is at new prices

I was thinking of my Gemini too.

Had to pre-empt braking and gear down to slow with the brake.

Drove daily like that for nearly two years. Over 20 years ago.

Oddly enough still drive similar with a good car.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app