Society & Culture Things in life you just don't understand - Part 6

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

I don't understand why some moron at the AFL thought it was a good idea to schedule a Thursday night game in Perth (in the first place) the night after State of Origin was played on the same ground. In the space of 5 days there will have been 3 AFL games and a Rugby League game on the surface. Add into that all the rain we have had and are also expecting tomorrow, I feel bloody sorry for the players that will have to play on it.
I feel more for the ground staff who only have a day to change over all the posts and ground signage in crappy weather

Posts aren't that difficult to do and the ground signage is all electronic.

AFL SOO like International Rules will come and go for the same reason it came and went already - the players don't care. And secondary to that no one cares about allies or all stars or any other made up team. WA and SA just want to beat Victoria.

I don't particularly enjoy rugby league, but SOO is an event. There are only two states and the players will risk career ending brain injuries (Head injuries? Most of them aren't exactly Rhodes Scholars to begin with) for their team. AFL SOO was great when Ablett and Lockett and Loewe etc. all wanted to play, but it was done by the mid to late 90s when players starting pulling out and no one turned up to watch.

Tassie Friday night in June, Optus the day after Origin. The AFL are seriously run by idiots
We were in Tassie few years back near lake St Clair maybe around May.
Seen a few cars with carlton scarfs and few north ones.
It was xxxxing freezing woke up and the car was covered in ā„ļø snow.
Even snow in October been I was there last year...
Lovely place.

If the AFL were serious play there earlier in the year...maybe some kind of package so people see some places and footy best of both worlds.

We were in Tassie few years back near lake St Clair maybe around May.
Seen a few cars with carlton scarfs and few north ones.
It was xxxxing freezing woke up and the car was covered in ā„ļø snow.
Even snow in October been I was there last year...
Lovely place.

If the AFL were serious play there earlier in the year...maybe some kind of package so people see some places and footy best of both worlds.
Im pretty confident it was a message that a stadium with a roof is essential down there. Not sure who the message was to though..

Someone else was the captain of Vic.
So they thought gaz might play if they offered the captaincy.
I remember one game v SA (in SA) which was absolutely brilliant. And we lost.

Other than that, SOO was a blur. I went to a couple I cannot remember any specifically.

State of Origin died when the Crows joined the AFL and it became fully national. It's hard to even remember a good game from the 90s.

this was a good one

I remember one game v SA (in SA) which was absolutely brilliant. And we lost.

Other than that, SOO was a blur. I went to a couple I cannot remember any specifically.

I was so brainwashed by anti Essendon hate as a teenager that when I went to my 2nd (and last) State of Origin game in 1998 me and my mate got into trouble sitting in the Ponsford Stand and bagging Matthew Lloyd especially, Mark Mecuri and Scott Lucas.

I regret nothing. That was easily the worst most talentless team to ever represent Victoria in any SOO game BTW

(Leigh Colbert, Justin Peckett, Andrew Thompson, Brad Sholl, Andrew Thompson SMH all scrubbers)

The All Star game is the biggest load of shit in world sport now. :sick:

I like the idea of USA v The World coming into the NBA All Star Game next year.

Society & Culture Things in life you just don't understand - Part 6