Pets Things that please me

• Thread starter Thread starter THRILLHO

Starting my final year of uni... tonight. Never had night classes before. Pleases me because I don't have to set any alarms to get out of bed on a Monday morning :thumbsu:

Also planning to make a mini-doco detailing my upcoming trip overseas with a few mates. It's working title? Awkward Flirting Story (Or "ABED", all caps). These thoughts please me. This trip being book-ended by Springsteen shows also pleases me.

Oh, and finally summoning the courage to ditch Internet Explorer and converting to Chrome. Very impressed. Bigfooty had been running at half rat-power for some time, no longer.

Thats like needing courage to breathe...

I'm an unashamed techno-phobe. The thought of having to reorganize my favourites (wtf is this bookmarks shit?) and actually enter passwords for the first time in years scared me deeply. But BF doesn't lag :thumbsu:

Starting my final year of uni... tonight. Never had night classes before. Pleases me because I don't have to set any alarms to get out of bed on a Monday morning :thumbsu:

wait to you start working. monday morning alarm is like your soul is being sucked out of you through your nose.

dude, that should be done by everyone 10 years ago (although IE has improved dramatically in the last few years - it's still a long way behind).

go download these plug ins
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/adblock-plus/cfhdojbkjhnklbpkdaibdccddilifddb?hl=en
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/https-everywhere/gcbommkclmclpchllfjekcdonpmejbdp?hl=en
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/ghostery/mlomiejdfkolichcflejclcbmpeaniij?hl=en (don't forget to go through the configuration and block all the trackers, its easy to skip that part)

enjoy ad free, secure, private browsing :thumbsu:

*should be noted not entirely secure and private. nothing ever will be. but when when you install ghostery, you will be sickened by how many trackers are placed on web-sites sending your browsing habits to all corners of the web (there are five on bigfooty, which isn't really that many, i've been on sites with in excess of 20)...

-snip-

enjoy ad free, secure, private browsing :thumbsu:

-snip-

Fan-*******-tastic. Thank you.

Up until a week ago I had NFI what Chrome even was. Never occurred to me it was a separate browser :oops: Has already improved my life ten-fold.

Edit: Success, all working sweetly. So I'm assuming it's safe to have Chrome remember your passwords and shit? Net banking more secure?

Fan-*******-tastic. Thank you.

Up until a week ago I had NFI what Chrome even was. Never occurred to me it was a separate browser Has already improved my life ten-fold.

Edit: Success, all working sweetly. So I'm assuming it's safe to have Chrome remember your passwords and shit? Net banking more secure?

you can also download a cricinfo extension - https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/espn-cricinfo/ijhlikjoigjegofbedmfmlcfkmhabldh/related - it's handy at work as it just pops up a wicket alert. (you are on the cricket board a fair bit right ?)

as for passwords, i don't have my passwords saved by the browser, but i'm pretty uptight on browser security and i'm very good at remembering different passwords across different sites so i don't need to.

i would recommend something like lastpass (https://lastpass.com/) for storing passwords, rather than the browser. personally haven't had a need to use them, but plenty of people use it.

what a lot of people don't realise is chrome is open source. the open source version is called chromium. chrome is just a stable package of chromium. so any potential exploits should get discovered by the development community very quickly. i imagine the security of passwords is one of the main priorities for any browser development but it's not something i've ever delved into.

firefox is also a good browser but had sadly not gone forwards over the last 18 months. i was always a firefox user until about 12 months ago when i thought chrome went past it, and chrome is now a much superior browser imo. i really like the work the mozilla foundation does but since switching to the rapid release of firefox they don't seem to be doing much with it - it's also very confusing keeping track of the versions given 18 months ago we had firefox version 3 or 4, and we're now upto number 20.

[/nerd talk]

you can also download a cricinfo extension - https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/espn-cricinfo/ijhlikjoigjegofbedmfmlcfkmhabldh/related - it's handy at work as it just pops up a wicket alert. (you are on the cricket board a fair bit right ?)

as for passwords, i don't have my passwords saved by the browser, but i'm pretty uptight on browser security and i'm very good at remembering different passwords across different sites so i don't need to.

i would recommend something like lastpass (https://lastpass.com/) for storing passwords, rather than the browser. personally haven't had a need to use them, but plenty of people use it.

-snip-

[/nerd talk]

Haha, Cricinfo extension was the very first thing I did. :thumbsu:

Lastpass looks interesting, I'll check that out. Not that I have anything sensitive to protect except banking, but I don't have any of that saved to my browser. Plenty of people out there waiting to read all my spam and up my BF post count :eek:

Thanks for the n00b support :oops:

Haha, Cricinfo extension was the very first thing I did.

Lastpass looks interesting, I'll check that out. Not that I have anything sensitive to protect except banking, but I don't have any of that saved to my browser. Plenty of people out there waiting to read all my spam and up my BF post count

Thanks for the n00b support

all good mate. you would be surprised at what people can gather off you through access to your e-mail, facebook etc,. and sometimes even from seemingly obscure accounts.

it is not unheard of (though probably not as common as the technology scare mongers would have you believe) for people to be able to commit identity fraud through getting access to your e-mails. probably the worst thing you could have compromised is your centrelink account (as a uni student i imagine you have one)

Buying blank shells + blades for my car keys off ebay and getting 2 new car keys for the price of 1 at the locksmith, would've been 10% but decided to get one done a a locksmith which was well 10x the price of bunnings, but wanted to hedge my bets to speak since they won't guarantee their cuts of ebay keys...

Also planning to make a mini-doco detailing my upcoming trip overseas with a few mates. It's working title? Awkward Flirting Story (Or "ABED", all caps). These thoughts please me. This trip being book-ended by Springsteen shows also pleases me.

Yeah this. Less than a month till I see five shows in a week. Can't effing waitttttttttttt

IT'S BOSS TIME

150791_10151534146480992_1775860869_n.jpg

If you're using Chrome you need to install Hoverclick. Saves so much time opening links in new tabs and is absolutely essential if you're on Reddit or anything like it. Even handy on FB so you can avoid having to open the picture up in the tab you're browsing.

Hoverzoom? Or these 2 different things?

YouTube recommending me Transformers: The Movie (1986). It's the entire film which means my afternoon is set.:)