Things That Shit Me the Eighteenth

9 times out of 10 it's a rich people problem, when life was all about common sense and thinking for yourself it never seemed to be a problem.

Quoting myself...

Today it's been a pretty much 10 hour onslaught. Time to start making a diary of this shit and make some complaints to the council / police...

I have extended relatives that are the "noise makers" where one (and only one) neighbour keeps calling the council and police for excessive noise pollution (radio, v6 car engines starting, lawn mower, whipper snipper use etc etc). The most recent time the police rolled their eyes due to the waste of time it was (volume not loud at all) and the suggested that my relatives should start playing the violin or drums :P to give the neighbours an actual reason to file a complaint.

Going off topic but I found the process interesting how the council comes around and measures the noise frequencies etc.

I put about 2/3 of a tank of premium into 1/3 tank of diesel by accident. Turbo diesel, work vehicle.

Drove about 300km like that. The only reason I noticed anything was wrong was because the revs kept changing on cruise control, highway driving. Idle was a little rough.

Rang Toyota when we figured it out, had it towed there and they drained the tank. They weren't too bothered, didn't effect engine warranty. No idea what it cost, numbers are someone else's job.

Vehicle has done about 70,000km since then, no issues.
OK, well I guess it could be a lot worse.

A mate reckons don't take it to the dealership because if something does go wrong down the track (and need to actually use the warranty), they will use this as an excuse not to fulfil the warranty.

OK, well I guess it could be a lot worse.

A mate reckons don't take it to the dealership because if something does go wrong down the track (and need to actually use the warranty), they will use this as an excuse not to fulfil the warranty.

There's a mobile service called Wrong Fuel Rescue.

I think people check their emails, even on leave, just out of habit. Can't fully relax.

I don't have Outlook or Teams on my phone, and I don't have any **** and racism apps on my work PC. I think that's fair.

If you take away the 9,000 features on my phone it is fundamentally still a phone. So if you really need to contact me outside business hours all you need to do is call. I think there's a bit of a weird dynamic these days where if you have work apps on your phone it is OK to contact you 24/7 but if you don't then calling you is still seen as contacting you outside work hours - as it should be. That said some people will call you at 5am or 11pm and not see any issue with that.

My company changed VPN setup on work devices. Previously you could just log on and use your computer anywhere, which I did when the Big Bash final that Cooper Connolly went nuts in as an 18 year old was on so I could use my Kayo account. Then they changed it so devices only work within Australia and you need admin privileges or approval etc. to get around that. Now if I go overseas I would have to seek permission to look at work emails. Seriously who the **** is going to do that for a holiday?

With unleaded in diesel, you need to realize immediately and tow it to drain.
I put 5litres of unleaded in a diesel tank accidentally then diluted it with another 50 litres of diesel and it worked a charm.

What threw me off (premium into diesel tank) was the servo was busy, I couldn't pull into my usual side.
So I reversed into the opposite side to usual, where the fuel types are in reverse order.
I look for the black pump. I double and triple check. Then I panic once I'm pumping

Same here, work car is diesel, but we also have some that are ULP, I always look inside the cap and hope it says there!!!

Hardest is ULP at different places trying to notice what colour it is at each location.

Same here, work car is diesel, but we also have some that are ULP, I always look inside the cap and hope it says there!!!

Hardest is ULP at different places trying to notice what colour it is at each location.
I drove 2 different utes at one stage - changeover - and had same issue

Boss jumped in and said oh it needs fuel

Following behind I realised he wouldn't know what fuel

Had to speed and catch up just as he pulled into the wrong pump area

Putting petrol into a diesel car I can get...But isn't the physical size of the diesel pump bigger than the hole in a petrol car?

Even if not noticeable by eye, it physically doesn't fit in the hole. If you don't realise that and still pull that handle to start pumping I am wondering if you should even have a license to begin with.

Pretty much.

Workplace changing my role (and doing it twice more while I was away) confirmed. Legally they are allowed to do so, but they are supposed to consult and inform me of the planned changes BEFORE executing them.

I've voiced my displeasure about it (all I can really do at this point), but I have a few more cards to play that should see them alter my role back to what was originally promised AND signed.

Workplace changing my role (and doing it twice more while I was away) confirmed. Legally they are allowed to do so, but they are supposed to consult and inform me of the planned changes BEFORE executing them.

I've voiced my displeasure about it (all I can really do at this point), but I have a few more cards to play that should see them alter my role back to what was originally promised AND signed.
yugioh-trap-card.gif

This is true, but most of the time it seems to be petrol into diesel which is the smaller nozzle, I think. If you are managing to get diesel into a petrol car probably time to get the bus.

Screenshot 2026-03-10 at 8.26.46 pm.webp

Literally says diesel, which is what I thought I put in. I made a mistake. I am not the first person nor the last to make one.

But thanks for your judgment :thumbsu: