Things you have had stolen

• Thread starter Thread starter Cmarsh

House got broken into a bit less than a year ago but nothing of mine was stolen even though my ps3 and birth certificate were in plain sight. Sister had some jewelry stolen and they also took a broken laptop

Had my phone stolen twice. The first time I was about 13 and it was my first phone. I was filling in for the U/16's cricket team on Friday night and after I cam back out from fielding or batting or something it was gone. It was only a shit one but still I was pretty upset.
The 2nd time I was in Year 9 and I was on yard duty when it got stolen. It probably fell out of my pocket. We traced the IMEI number and it turns out it was with the sister of a guy who was in my year level. The same type of guy that Caesar was talking about. Not too bright and always seemed to hang out with older sketchier looking kids who were a couple years older and had dropped out. I assume it was him who took it/found it. According to my Dad who's a cop his family are just a bunch of petty thieves. Although he was the type of guy you try to stay on the good side of, he didn't seem like that bad a guy tbh

Just reminded me of another. When I was playing cricket, there was one team that was 'promoted' from another league into ours. They had something of a reputation amongst the other teams, where they had to lock their own changerooms, keep stuff in cars, etc.

Every week we used to have a 'valuables bag', but rarely had more than 2-3 things get added. This week, everyone added everything (even bloody lighters/smokes!). The change-room was padlocked, and as captain I kept the key out on the field with me. I took the valuables bag and locked them in my car. (My car key was in my cricket bag, inside the locked changeroom)

We came off the field at lunch, and as I walked towards my car, I noticed the back window was down. As I got closer, I realised it wasn't down, it was missing. The boot was of course open, and the valuables bag was sitting empty. Not one member of our team had their wallet. No-one had cash. There was only one guy with a phone.

I spoke with the other captain, umpires and then their club president (who also ran the canteen). Got nowhere, and abused for even asking the question.

We unlocked the clubrooms, and noticed that the poster on the back wall was loose. Pulling it back revealed a hole (hollywood prison escape style) leading to a toilet block. The only access to the toilet block was from the kitchen. The only access to the kitchen was.....the club president.

We returned to the field sans lunch, and when we finally dismissed them came off the field looking for answers. Coincidentally the president had found all of the phones, wallets, etc. All the cash was gone, as was my watch, a pair of sunnies and the cigarettes. Funny that.

Just reminded me of another. When I was playing cricket, there was one team that was 'promoted' from another league into ours. They had something of a reputation amongst the other teams, where they had to lock their own changerooms, keep stuff in cars, etc.

Every week we used to have a 'valuables bag', but rarely had more than 2-3 things get added. This week, everyone added everything (even bloody lighters/smokes!). The change-room was padlocked, and as captain I kept the key out on the field with me. I took the valuables bag and locked them in my car. (My car key was in my cricket bag, inside the locked changeroom)

We came off the field at lunch, and as I walked towards my car, I noticed the back window was down. As I got closer, I realised it wasn't down, it was missing. The boot was of course open, and the valuables bag was sitting empty. Not one member of our team had their wallet. No-one had cash. There was only one guy with a phone.

I spoke with the other captain, umpires and then their club president (who also ran the canteen). Got nowhere, and abused for even asking the question.

We unlocked the clubrooms, and noticed that the poster on the back wall was loose. Pulling it back revealed a hole (hollywood prison escape style) leading to a toilet block. The only access to the toilet block was from the kitchen. The only access to the kitchen was.....the club president.

We returned to the field sans lunch, and when we finally dismissed them came off the field looking for answers. Coincidentally the president had found all of the phones, wallets, etc. All the cash was gone, as was my watch, a pair of sunnies and the cigarettes. Funny that.
Shieet
What club was this?

Had one of those expensive graphics calculators stolen from my locker in about year 11. Most people never locked their lockers at school until home time or unless you had something valuable. Didn't think someone would steal something we all had.

I also remember in about year prep or 1 I was a massive fan of Goosebumps. I decided one day to bring all my books to school and I had left them in my schoolbag which used to hang on a hook. Anyway, I don't remember what happened exactly, but someone went into my bag and stole some and damaged the remaining ones. Think I recovered a few from somewhere but I don't remember well. Clearly some jealous **** of a kid. I actually think I stopped reading them after that because it reminded me of the whole thing lol.

Probably one time where it was justifiable to follow him home, then go to town on his car a few nights later.

When I used to work at Maccas, someone stole my basketball shoes out of my work bag while I was on shift - this poor arse John. Complained to the manager, as he was the only one who left early from our shift and was told there was no way to prove it, cannot do anything about it, sorry etc. Pretty pissed off with it. Then the idiot decides to come into work a couple of weeks later wearing my shoes, and I was on shift ! Needless to say I stole them back :)

Couple of car stereos, was my own fault for being to lazy to take the face of though. Oh and a pair of Nikes from the car at the beach which was weird because the worn out and about to get thrown out soon anyway.

A mate and his brother got their Doc Martins stolen from their feet when passed out in Bali, but the funniest thing about it was they took their socks as well!

When I used to work at Maccas, someone stole my basketball shoes out of my work bag while I was on shift - this poor arse John. Complained to the manager, as he was the only one who left early from our shift and was told there was no way to prove it, cannot do anything about it, sorry etc. Pretty pissed off with it. Then the idiot decides to come into work a couple of weeks later wearing my shoes, and I was on shift ! Needless to say I stole them back :)

How dumb is that bloke?

Reminds me of when some arseh*le nicked my waterproof jacket I'd left in the changerooms while I was playing rugby and then had the cheek to wear it on the sidelines watching the next game. It was a distinctive looking jacket that I bought in the UK so I knew it was mine. I walked up to the arseh*le, tapped him on the shoulder and said "I think you're wearing my jacket" and he was all sheepish "oh yeah sorry mate I just borrowed it because it was raining" and handed it back to me. Like I'm sure he would've given it back to me if I didn't ask him for it.:rolleyes:

You'd think if you stole someones jacket/shoes you'd have the sense not to wear them near the place you stole them from.

Had some lil bastard come in through my bathroom window and steal our "savings tin" (roughly $700), my childrens coin jars, my GPS, some of my gf's jewellery. Just feel so violated knowing someone's been in your house.

The good news is that we found out who it was and we got everything back bar the savings tin.

Hah, and get this - a couple of months later i receive a letter in the mail from the courts asking me to be in a meeting with the young boy to hear his side of the story :confused:. He also wrote me a letter apologising, as if he even means it.

Some ****ers took all the alcohol out of our outside fridge once. Surprised it only happened once TBH as we did nothing about it.

Also once I had my car window smashed when I left it at the cricket club for a couple of hours on a Sunday arvo (have left it there at least a dozen times overnight and nothing, so that was unexpected), but they took nothing as there was nothing to take in the main part. Lucky they didn't look in the boot, as I had all sorts of stuff in there, including my cricket kit, my footy and my toolbox.

Had some lil bastard come in through my bathroom window and steal our "savings tin" (roughly $700), my childrens coin jars, my GPS, some of my gf's jewellery. Just feel so violated knowing someone's been in your house.

The good news is that we found out who it was and we got everything back bar the savings tin.

Hah, and get this - a couple of months later i receive a letter in the mail from the courts asking me to be in a meeting with the young boy to hear his side of the story :confused:. He also wrote me a letter apologising, as if he even means it.

Nothing screams genuine remorse like a court ordered apology!
Did you go to the meeting?

Oh yes, the old "restorative justice conferencing". I did a subject on this at uni last semester - the most ridiculous, ineffective load of crap I've ever had the misfortune of enduring for a semester. If you had have gone, assuming you didn't, you woud have been treated to 2+ hours of the kid telling a sob story about how his folks don't love him, the parents ark up at the kid, and by the end everyone is having a massive group hug, victim and the present police officer included.

At least that's how it went in the video we watched :confused: The funniest part was that pretty much everything that came out of the mouth of our restorative justice crusader of a teacher was accompanied by a slight disclaimer: "Although there's no actual studies or evidence to suggest it reduces reoffending."

Get a dog people, I haven't locked my doors for over 15 years, they are unlocked 24/7. It's a shame you can't protect your car the same way. :(

What if someone is desperate enough to rob your house that they hurt your dog?

That hasn't happened in over 15 years, the crooks pick an easier target, they don't wan't to go into a place where a dog is making noise & risk being injured.

I will confess something I really regret.

I went out one night and got into it real fast. Probably too fast now I think about it. Anyway. I just started working with a door to door sales company (and quit the first day) and, drunkenly, decide to show a mate how I do my thang.

So I walk up to the nearest house and knock on the door. As soon as I knock on this random door, it opens as it was unlocked. As the door swings open, I see this Macbook sitting right there within reach like it was some kind of miracle...maybe fate. It was like it had an halo effect. So I took it and casually walked out.

Don't call the cops just yet, I ended up returning the next day with a letter (and the Mac) written exactly like this:

Dear To Whom Might Be Pissing Themselves,

I have returned with what rightfully belongs to you and the enemy has been defeated. As long as there is night, I will be it's friend.

And yours.

Batman.

PS: I stole your shit because I was drunk. My bad. I also stole this six pack to give to you as compensation...funny? sorry.

Poor bloke.

I will confess something I really regret.

I went out one night and got into it real fast. Probably too fast now I think about it. Anyway. I just started working with a door to door sales company (and quit the first day) and, drunkenly, decide to show a mate how I do my thang.

So I walk up to the nearest house and knock on the door. As soon as I knock on this random door, it opens as it was unlocked. As the door swings open, I see this Macbook sitting right there within reach like it was some kind of miracle...maybe fate. It was like it had an halo effect. So I took it and casually walked out.

Don't call the cops just yet, I ended up returning the next day with a letter (and the Mac) written exactly like this:

Dear To Whom Might Be Pissing Themselves,

I have returned with what rightfully belongs to you and the enemy has been defeated. As long as there is night, I will be it's friend.

And yours.

Batman.

PS: I stole your shit because I was drunk. My bad. I also stole this six pack to give to you as compensation...funny? sorry.

Poor bloke.

Jesus Christ

I'm staying in a hostel at the moment and the other night some bastard stole all my food. Had it all in a bag with my name on it so they just took the whole thing. I keep finding scraps of the different things in the bin but can't catch the buggers!