This club is genuinely cursed

Do you think rather than the Carey curse the issue was not taking the Gold Coast Deal? Since then I can’t think of many favours from the AFL. As footy has become more and more professional the poorest club financially just can’t compete. I would imagine our payroll is a 1/5 of what the pies, blues, * spend. Pay peanuts get monkeys. this coupled with an inability to make any member driven changes at board level has allowed the club to merely exist but never to thrive

Well the curse of employing the wrong people is I suppose a curse .

As much as Archers and Steven were wonderful ambassadors for our club. They should never have been in the roles that they had.

Both are not overly bright fyi.
Agree, the Paul Roos consultancy was the high water mark of our incompetence.

I still believe Clarko and VIney are the right blokes for the job at the moment but people seriously underestimate just how bad a predicament we got to. we wont be competitive til we het another KPF and KPB and 50 more games into our midfiels core, back of the envelope math, thats 2 MORE YEARS! and thats assuming we dont keep stuffing up.

Am I allowed to laugh?
I had to because it was going to be this…
boy crying interview GIF

Do you think rather than the Carey curse the issue was not taking the Gold Coast Deal? Since then I can’t think of many favours from the AFL. As footy has become more and more professional the poorest club financially just can’t compete. I would imagine our payroll is a 1/5 of what the pies, blues, * spend. Pay peanuts get monkeys. this coupled with an inability to make any member driven changes at board level has allowed the club to merely exist but never to thrive
Perhaps the lesson the AFL learnt from that scenario is that you need to win over the members first.

How do you win over the members?

Years of uncompetitive drivel until even the grass roots see a relocation or merger as the only way out.

Strange that nobody in the media is suggesting that at the moment, but it might not be too far away. The whole club has a defeated stink about it like the last years of Fitzroy

Perhaps the lesson the AFL learnt from that scenario is that you need to win over the members first.

Years of uncompetitive drivel until even the grass roots see a relocation or merger as the only way out.

Strange that nobody in the media is suggesting that at the moment, but it might not be too far away. The whole club has a defeated stink about it like the last years of Fitzroy

The wagons are on the track

It’s the tin foil hat theory but is it that hard to believe? Sadly we no longer have the administrators smart enough to fight city hall. The little club that punched above its weight is gone. You can do that in a semi professional competition. When things got real we just couldn’t compete. It’s why they never wanted to bottom out. They knew. The pies, blues, *, hawks constantly have board level fights and replacement of leaders. It’s because they are big clubs with smart and affluent supporters (also know as flogs). But ultimately it creates accountability. When was the last time we had a board member position challenged? Can we even do that? When was the last time members had any say in how the club is run? The AFL won’t step in. They want us out.

And that last bit is the most pertinent to it all “They want us out”…!

Bollocks to this thread.

Most of what's gone wrong is completely self inflicted.
I think you're missing the point of the thread.

The point wasnt whether it was in or out of our control its the fact that things continue to go wrong when they very easily could have gone right. But they didnt.

Clarko being investigated and seemingly destroyed by the Hawthorn racism "process" had zero to do with us.
Cunners getting cancer had nothing to do with us.
Tarryn becoming an absolute POS human being not only was not self inflicted but we did litteraly everything in our power to stop.
Carey's affair had nothing to do with us

Honestly i could just rehash most of this thread to provide the evidence but to simply say its self inflicted ignores the mountains of scenarios where its not self inflicted.

Jesus, other clubs have had players and coaches die tragically. They pull together and get on with it. We are not cursed, we’ve had some bad luck like most clubs do and we’ve made some poor decisions. Turning it around is also in our control, but it will take time.

Also lol at prelims don’t count as good years.

I think you're missing the point of the thread.

The point wasnt whether it was in or out of our control its the fact that things continue to go wrong when they very easily could have gone right. But they didnt.

Clarko being investigated and seemingly destroyed by the Hawthorn racism "process" had zero to do with us.
Cunners getting cancer had nothing to do with us.
Tarryn becoming an absolute POS human being not only was not self inflicted but we did litteraly everything in our power to stop.
Carey's affair had nothing to do with us

Honestly i could just rehash most of this thread to provide the evidence but to simply say its self inflicted ignores the mountains of scenarios where its not self inflicted.

Most of the things listed in this thread are examples of mismanagement - not bad luck. (trading for Hay, delisting Boomer, close losses in 2013, extending contracts of bad players etc etc etc).

Just this week Freo had their fourth former player die at a young age in a matter of years and whilst they played poorly on Friday night, they still generally maintain a good standard of competitive football. Adelaide had a coach murdered mid-year and went on to play finals in 2015. Melbourne have had multiple tragedies - Stynes, Wight, Broadbridge, Sylvia, Bailey. Sam Docherty missed two seasons with cancer.

The club needs some strong action and supporters need to be restless - not giving them an out and wallowing in 'woe is us'.

Most of the things listed in this thread are examples of mismanagement - not bad luck. (trading for Hay, delisting Boomer, close losses in 2013, extending contracts of bad players etc etc etc).

Just this week Freo had their fourth former player die at a young age in a matter of years and whilst they played poorly on Friday night, they still generally maintain a good standard of competitive football. Adelaide had a coach murdered mid-year and went on to play finals in 2015. Melbourne have had multiple tragedies - Stynes, Wight, Broadbridge, Sylvia, Bailey. Sam Docherty missed two seasons with cancer.

The club needs some strong action and supporters need to be restless - not giving them an out and wallowing in 'woe is us'.
This times a million, a lot of people at the club need to take a big hard look in the mirror, if you ain’t part of the solution you are part of the problem..

Don't forget Logue doing a acl last year, Steveo getting his face sliced in half and Longmire missing 96 grandfinal☹️

People even talk of the JWS Curse. The kid plays 20-odd games. Has 200+ Game A Grader written all over him. He has a dodgy ankle but the club insists he does a preseason Commando Course - Ankle re-injured - career over. Is that bad luck???Not in my book.

Even if it was, it was 2008. Not sure it has anything to do with the CCJ trade, giving Stephens 4 years, hiring an administrator as senior coach etc etc.

Since 2002

• Carey Affair
  • Pagan leaves
  • McCartney blown to the shizen
  • Mick Martyn plays his 300th for Carlton.
  • David Bourke plays a senior game
  • McKernan returns
  • Daniel McConnell trade (look it up)
  • Jon Hay
  • Jade Rawlings
  • grand stand burns down
  • pick 3 L Hansen 4 ahead of Selwood
  • attempt to be shifted off to Gold Coast
  • round 22 vs Port 2008
  • Gavin Urquhart - $1mill for 3 years
  • 4 home games in Tassie
  • 2013 - 8 losses under 2 goals
  • 2016 - 9-0,finish with 12 wins
  • boomer, Petrie and Spud retired
  • Farren Ray recruited
  • Brad Scott contract extended
  • Majak jumps off bolte
  • Brad Scott sacked a year later
  • Rhyce Shaw appointed
  • Polec told to tag Cripps, gets a Brownlow vote and dropped, never plays another good game
  • Dani Laidley arrested
  • David Noble appointed
  • Sell the farm for Callum Coleman Jones
  • JHF refuses to take an ice bath and visits his mum
  • 9 wins in 3 years
  • Clarko signs then held off due to Hawthorn investigation
  • JHF requests trade
  • Clarko gone 9 rounds in, comes back then Ratten leaves
  • won one of last 29 games
  • that win costs North Harley Reid
  • Tarryn Thomas gone
  • Aiden Corr still 2 years to go on contract
  • rising star Jaidyn Stephenson can’t get a kick, literally
  • Simpkin knocked out, comes back can’t get a kick
  • 4 year contact for Dylan Stephens who identifies as a cat and plays like one
  • 12 wins from last 94 games

-Ben Jacobs concussion symptoms
-Vic Labor losing the election costing us Ballarat only for the dogs to steal it 4 years later
-CCJ trade
-Cunners cancer diagnosis cuts him down in his prime
-Dusty and Kelly not coming to the club
-Josh Kelly and Nick Blakey not playing for the club
-Trading our 1st round pick to Melbourne costing us Serong
-Burning a 1st round pick on Polec and drafting Thomas
-Hiring Paul Roos and his leadership company
-Cameron Joyce taking over from Geoff Walsh at the end of 2016
-Rawling and Clayton being in charge of list management
-Hiring Greg Luff
Other than that we have been pretty stable.