Thoughts on the Brisbane Game

Loved the crowd today. 31,000 real fans. The 15,000 no-shows are the swinging voters. Meaningless, substanceless fans whose commitment to the club extends as far as a Crows bumper sticker. That’s why the atmosphere was still good even though the crowd was 25% down on normal. How many people left early today? I counted zero. Give us a sunny day against a Big Four club when we’re flying and the no-shows will be there with bells on (at least until the 20 minute mark of the last quarter anyway), decked out in the finest garments the Crows Merchandise Shop can provide (price tags still on).

Another opinion-dividing game from Myke Cook. I like him but worry that he will be squeezed out for Symes this week. He started well today and took a courageous mark in front of Leuenberger but fell out of it after that. He still doesn’t seem to trust himself at this level. Each time he does take a risk – like that run and bounce in the first quarter – he stuffs it up and plays things safe after that. The club has been pretty patient with him and I’m sure it is because they are waiting for that “penny to drop” moment where a couple of his flair-tinged bits of play come off, he grows in confidence and he starts to blossom as a player. We aren’t there yet but I hope we hang on for a few more weeks.

Great game from Richard Douglas. Others have summed it up well. It is a very tough gig “starting cold” in a game as a small forward. It’s a completely different ball game being involved in the play as a midfielder to warm up and then going forward. As a permanent small forward he is ok… just ok. But as a midfielder pushing forward occasionally… well he could be a player.

It seems that the Armstrong Mystery has been solved. Tyson Edwards is going to be given a back pocket lifeline. Not the worst idea. Other veteran midfielders have played out their days in the backlines. Marcus Aschcroft and Andrew Bews spring to mind. Would we like Edwards lining up on Milne or Schneider next week though? Shudder. McQualter maybe. Still reckon it is a four-way race between Edwards, Doughty, Burton and Hentschel for mid-season retirement honours.

Simon Goodwin played a good game. Had enough of the footy and was hard around the contests. Like Edwards though, has lost kicking penetration. Old man’s disease… we should expect a calf injury soon.

Taylor Walker struggled in the first half for some intensity, especially at ground level. Has a high centre of gravity and got eased off the ball easily by Adcock and then Power which would have had the coaching box fuming. Clearly the time in the SANFL has had no impact on him whatsoever. You get what you pay for though. Yes, you pay the price for a couple of questionable efforts in the first quarter but then you cash in when you need it in the last quarter. With one point the difference he lands a bomb from 65m and follows it up with a left foot kick from fifty off one step. Amazing stuff. Game, set, match Adelaide. There are no other players on our list who could have kicked either of those goals. Maybe Knights the first one but definitely no one on their non-preferred from fifty. This is why he MUST play.

There are times in games when you absolutely NEED a goal, and you can only rely on certain types of players to deliver them. These players aren’t necessarily the ones who are the best at shepherds and smothers either.

Ben Rutten did fine on Fevola when the ball was in the air but a defender’s game doesn’t start and finish with the aerial contest. Fev was brilliant at ground level, opportunistic, slipped forward a couple of times… an outstanding game from a clearly injured player to still impact a game of footy. Too many smarts for Rutten, real poacher’s instincts. I love Fev. A forward’s forward. Rutten got two of the softest frees ever too which saved goals. Could have been very ugly for him. The high praise on here for Rutten’s game is ridiculous.

Still on the umpires, despite Nicholls best efforts to the contrary, that was the best arm chair ride I can ever remember us having from the umpires. Brisbane fans must have been beside themselves. Oh well, tough t***ies.

I’m reading some criticism on here for Chris Schmidt shirking a contest. I must have missed it. Very steady. Schmidt could develop into that Jason Torney-type player in the back half. Unspectacular, unassuming, low maintenance, consistent… the player who just does the right thing all the time. You of course need the fast runners and creative types behind the ball too, but you also need to have a guy to throw at the Milnes, Riolis and Monfries of the world. There’s a niche there for Schmidt to fill if he keeps his form up. It’s rare for anyone to waste a draft pick on a competent small defender type. Key position players and midfielders are of course the ones in high demand… so there’s not going to be a heck of a lot of opposition for his role.

I love when Phil Davis does the kick outs. Is comfortably our best at taking them. Chooses good options and can hit a target outside fifty, making him a unique player on the Crows list. Edwards’ eyes must light up whenever Truck takes one… chip to the back pocket for an easy stat guaranteed.

Dangerfield, van Berlo… both excellent. High level of impact from our two budding leaders. Thompson very patchy early. Got better as it went on. Mackay on the other hand looked short of a run as you’d expect, started well but then fell away. Nathan Bock will never have an easier game on Jonathan Brown.

Scott Stevens… geez you’d think he’d be pocketing 3 Brownlow votes given the reviews on here. He was given no responsibility forward or back as usual and was serviceable. Easiest gig in the Crows team… either takes the 3rd best key defender or sits back as the loose man in defence. Does it fine but let’s not be fooled into thinking he is anything better than the 18th guy picked. An absolute minimum standard output game from him.

Jared Petrenko - as others have said looks a bit better spending some time in the middle of the ground. Like Cook I am a fan but I worry that he hasn’t done enough to stitch up his spot. A spell in the SANFL looms unless he can nail a 20 possession game soon.

Will Norman Gunston be our next addition to the One Game Then Dropped Club? Porplyzia and Tippett both quiet and we won which is a good sign. Ivan Maric looks exhausted. Can see James Sellar getting a game this week which of course would give the match committee an opportunity to jettison Gunston with criticism immunity.

Brent Reilly was solid. And I mean actually solid, not Burton solid. Had a good game.

Michael Doughty’s defensive efforts were good again, some excellent spoils/smothers and I didn’t spot one backwards kick or handball. Hallelujah! That said, he is barely hanging on. Looked sore a couple of times and hobbled off once but returned. Spoke to someone during the week who knows him well and (no surprises) said he has really been struggling physically this season to stay out on the park, perhaps more than we realise, and has already decided that this will be his last year.

Oh yeah, is Andrew McLeod getting younger?

There were a few "flag flying" examples today. It was good to see.

i'm surprised there wasn't more people talking about it given the obsession on this board.

Another thing that irks we with the AFC at the moment is the over the top "team act"

I reckon if your the best at doing something you do it, I noticed Walker got Porps into a position to be done HTB, he is the best shot at goal in the team surely the team thing to do is to take a step back and have a shot at goal?

Dangerfield is the same, loves brining others into the game, problem is some of them aren't as good as him so he should be doing it himself.

Loved the crowd today. 31,000 real fans. The 15,000 no-shows are the swinging voters. Meaningless, substanceless fans whose commitment to the club extends as far as a Crows bumper sticker. That’s why the atmosphere was still good even though the crowd was 25% down on normal. How many people left early today? I counted zero. Give us a sunny day against a Big Four club when we’re flying and the no-shows will be there with bells on (at least until the 20 minute mark of the last quarter anyway), decked out in the finest garments the Crows Merchandise Shop can provide (price tags still on).

Post of the year! :thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: (That isn't a transcript! :p)

The best game for crowd noise ever was the Fremantle QF in 2006 - and that was only around 40K, but today wasn't far behind for passion.

No doubt all the bandwagoners will be back onboard for the next home game against Fremantle if we jag a win next week. The sight of the returning bandwagoners almost makes me wish for a loss next week and a miserable, shitty Saturday afternoon for the Fremantle game.... almost!

If you're not going to come and support the team when they're struggling, well you don't deserve to see them play when everything is going well.

Sure some of the people there today might not have a very good understanding of the modern game, or they might get frustrated - I know I do sometimes - but at least you know their heart is in the right place, and they care.

To the 31K that went - you were awesome. To all the pissweak no-shows without a genuine excuse (who admittedly probably aren't on here) - don't bother showing up at all.

i'm surprised there wasn't more people talking about it given the obsession on this board.

Another thing that irks we with the AFC at the moment is the over the top "team act"

I reckon if your the best at doing something you do it, I noticed Walker got Porps into a position to be done HTB, he is the best shot at goal in the team surely the team thing to do is to take a step back and have a shot at goal?

Dangerfield is the same, loves brining others into the game, problem is some of them aren't as good as him so he should be doing it himself.

Walker just went too early with the pass. Had he waited a second or two it was a certain goal to porpy. Was the right move, wrong execution.

I thought Porps should have handballed back to Walker. The defender was fully commited to Porps and Walker would have had a free run into goal. I don't think there was another defender nearby.

in regards to the criticism of Walker i'd like to start out that the whole Taylor Walker debate has pretty much got out of hand.

Walker turned 20 in April he has 20 games experience (should have had more IMO but thats another topic) so of course he has parts of his game that need working

but there are not many 20 yr old (by what 1 month) KPF who are capable of having an impact on a game let a lot over an umber of games.

Whilst consistency is the key his development to this point has been fantastic, he is becoming a target at 20...... 20 yrs old as a focal point of not only our team but other team defenders.

that is ottenesque.

That is spot on. Some posters love to pick out his faults and throw out one liners that he isnt the player we think all think he is or hes not going to be the saviour this year. No one has said that or thinks that. We just want to see him be given a chance to develop. As you have pointed out he is only 20. Hes kicked 5 goals in his 2 games back, which other Crow has done that? The anti-Walker mob on here are the ones expecting him to play like a 200 gamer, not the guys who here who have realistic expectations.

In a years time and Gunston has played 20 games, and had his good and bad games, I wonder if these same posters will be after his head.

Taylor Walker struggled in the first half for some intensity, especially at ground level. Has a high centre of gravity and got eased off the ball easily by Adcock and then Power which would have had the coaching box fuming. Clearly the time in the SANFL has had no impact on him whatsoever. You get what you pay for though. Yes, you pay the price for a couple of questionable efforts in the first quarter but then you cash in when you need it in the last quarter. With one point the difference he lands a bomb from 65m and follows it up with a left foot kick from fifty off one step. Amazing stuff. Game, set, match Adelaide. There are no other players on our list who could have kicked either of those goals. Maybe Knights the first one but definitely no one on their non-preferred from fifty. This is why he MUST play.

There are times in games when you absolutely NEED a goal, and you can only rely on certain types of players to deliver them. These players aren’t necessarily the ones who are the best at shepherds and smothers either.

He is absolutely no different to Fev, Jars, Franklin, the majority of the game breaking forwards who come through. He chases enough ffs, it's all about kicking goals and my word he produces some rippers.

Stay with him and he's good for 70 a year. Easily.

Also loved the way he confronted Staker after Staker's coathanger on VB in the final term.
did anyone else like Walker having a crack at the guy for taking VB high?

To be fair it was his man and he didn't apply the block and he let Staker have a free run at him. Tex was probably feeling guilty for letting him even get there. Still great to see tho.

remember a little show called "the simpsons"? It's adapted from that.

Also, I think I may have had a nearly perfect football weekend (well sturt lost, but you can't win them all)
1. Collingwood lost (w00tzors!!11!!one!:D:D:D)
2. Crows won!

My only regret was that a pretty major prior engagement kept me from actually going to the game :(

Walker can be a bit slack at times - does the George Costanza thing where he yells and points a lot so he appears busy, but is just slacking off... But I love him ;)

He's already got a fair strut going, definitely not short on confidence, I love watching him play.

Still has a lot to learn though, but he's going to be something special.

marginally passable game Brisbane are a serious rabble up forward, Adelaide still too slow much of the time plenty of outright idiocy handpasses to flatfoots facing the wrong way. Kickouts were shocking why kick to outnumbered players...
Reilly made up for his general field play from long kick clearances he was ridiculously panicy with the ball which resulted in several turnover goals where as cook is ****** and I can't stand his pathetic shirking of contests, downhill skiing iresponsibility, halfassed jogging pretend chases, constant useless 3rd man up attempts, inability to handpass when tackled and constant skill errors.

This guy actually took a step back from where an incoming ball was about to land and watched it drop in front of him. He generally seems clueless out there.

Walker was Koutaesque. he just walked through punks, made our candy ass panicy mids and opponents tackles look like a joke.
Honestly it's far better to get the possibility of holding the ball and holding up play for a zone to set the zone then to throw your hands and handpass up in the air like a pansie at the first sign of contact. Of course if your Cook you shouldn't be on the list let alone running with the ball thinking your faster then you are.

Dangerfield another guy making the rest of the team look bad.
Even when he doesn't pick up the ball he keeps it moving our way and is ridiculously hard to bring down.

Douglas excellent again continously fining space, getting it in dangerous places contesting hard and making things happen.

Mackay is a very welcome return bringing back some mental stability to the mid-field.

McLeod went missing for a while but was brilliant when he was round.

The rest were either passable or poor Rutten had a decent game and Bock let down by mifielders in transition too often resulting in most of the Brisbane score with noone even left in the back 50 one on one these guys were much better. Davis was solid again looks to be running slow but actually seems to cover ground.

Vb was rather good, our veteran outside McLeod disappointed. Doughty's spoiling ability is all he has right now any possession he gets you just have to will it to somewhow end up to advantage his chase is substandard but he can negate reasonably at least. Goodwin made only a couple if mistakes was nothing brilliant about his game the only thing that stood out was a massive shank out. Edwards likes to run in circles seemingly.

Thompson still making me shudder, catch the ball, handpass it like your not drunk and quit spotting up oponnents running towards their goal please. Great athlete exceptional worker just something wrong with the hands.

Maric really needs to get rid of it sooner and to moving players he is doing alright as a link up for the ability he has, was injured and kept trucking along even with a moronic umpire gift goals.

Tippet was pretty good took a huge mark still no defensive game whatsoever but did the rest quite well even being constantly infringed.

Really the worst performer was Nichols the umpire that can't even pay enough attention to see a player bounce the ball as well as countless other missed frees and cheap ones... If you did your job well you wouldn't need an appreciation week.

hopefully adelaide can perform against a another rabble next week.

Bock and Rutten had their best games today. Brisbane played with two big forwards. (well 1.5 with Brown on one leg).

When sides have gone with small fast forward lines against us ( carlton, swans, nrth melbourne) , our defence have struggled, both to stop scoring and also in setting up play due to increased pressure.

We need a plan B.

:confused: Your delusional ......firstly we rarely talk because you have nothing to say that I want to listen to

Secondly what conversation about Thompson THIS YEAR! :confused:

No you dont want to talk because when your opinion is wrong you have a sook, I will post you a box of kleenex PM me your address.

I'll post some more thoughts shortly ....but good time to have a bit of a stir after the last couple of weeks

Douglas: For those majority of knockers on this board ......You were wrong!!!!! (DRUMMOND);)

Stevens: For those who said he had to be dropped and was useless .......You were wrong!!!!

help me out, just for the record so we can be clear.

which players are you a supporter of, and which ones will not make it?

I might be wrong, but my feeling is that you change in the wind. now that could be unfair, so can you just put it down now if you want to play the I told you so card subsequently.

Significant game today for many reasons:

1. Neil Craig did change his game plan in some significant ways:

- He had players at stoppages/centre bounces simply forcing clearances by foot .......no handballing out of stoppages

that's not a game plan change.

if you have time to throw in on the boot you have more time than is needed to execute a handball.

- Because we hanballed less and kicked more, players forward of the ball could run to position with more confidence .......the multitude of handballs often has the knack of find players out of position due to the merry go round type of handball we played.

we kicked more and handballed less last week.

I made a call last week that the number of handball receives was so down that I couldn't remember many and that was a fundamental reason for our slow play

you did. were they higher this week than last?

I was reliably informed it was a useless stat :rolleyes: .........someone should mention that to the footy callers who raised it regularly today as a stat of significance in quick ball movement

did anyone really say that to you? really?

I’m reading some criticism on here for Chris Schmidt shirking a contest. I must have missed it. Very steady. Schmidt could develop into that Jason Torney-type player in the back half. Unspectacular, unassuming, low maintenance, consistent… the player who just does the right thing all the time.

I could certainly see that happening.

he's not done too much wrong thus far.

It all boils down to decision making - something he's not really doing all that well - yet. Like I said, you can see why Craig gets so frustrated with him.

Great game to be at! :):thumbsu:

On the crowd - Carl, there were a few early leavers from the Northern Stand, but their scarves were maroon, not red! :D

On Walker – he’s going to be our Keep you guessing man now Burton is on the way out. Which Tex will you see next: the super-tanker turning circle as Maguire runs away behind him, or the strong, weaving, darting Tex cutting through 4/5 Lions to pass the ball off cleanly? The 30m shank at an open goal, or the 60m dead-straight bomb from the centre square?

I’m betting more and more of the latter. Which-ever it is, I’ll be coming back to watch. (BTW, Stabby – thanks Not for that “When you’re in Texas…” jingle. Couldn’t get it out of mind all afternoon).

On Rutten v Fev – I know Truck is part of our defensive unit which transfers the ball out of defence, and that means he will run off Fev when we have the ball. OK, but he was beating Fev 1 on 1, and Fev was on target when clear. So why did Truck, at the back of an 18 man zone, with the ball 100m away, move to guard empty space 15m in front of an unguarded Fev who had already kicked 2/3 goals? :confused:

Wasn’t in shot on the TV replay, but it was painfully obvious what was going to happen looking down on the action at the Northern end – and it did! Another Fev goal. Silly to slavishly follow a defensive zone plan in that case – and looked like Truck thought so too, both in his hesitation before moving away to leave Fev unguarded, and in his reaction after the goal.

On “Taking the game on…” – Cook got run down and penalized; Danger got run down and got a free kick (play on to advantage, goal to Macca)! :D

Either way, they both took the game on, and that attitude won us the game. Lots of times players made quick, attacking decisions; often to our advantage, sometimes not. I enjoyed watching it all.

On the crowd (again) - 'onya for turning out. Well rewarded! :thumbsu:

did anyone else like Walker having a crack at the guy for taking VB high?
That was right in front of me. The guy who tex remonstrated with went off with blood straight after that. it was a lovely moment!!

That was one of the coldest day's i've ever had at the footy, i'll probably end up sick because of it, but hell it's worth it!!

Much better effort by the boys.

Good to see some long kicks down the boundary on a wet day - well just good to see long kicks to contests as a change from sideways/backwards movement which results in lost ground! They'll get back to some sideways movement as we get our confidence back as when done with speed it can create space and opportunities. My concern is though - we always seem to play 'one-way' no matter what that 'one-way' is. It's almost like the players can't make decisions at times because they need to be playing to such a structured plan. Anyway - enough negative, boys put in a much better effort and that alone was probably enough of a difference to get us over the line.

Biggest concern for me was our use of the footy after a point. 3 or 4 times we kicked it down J Brown's throat. We do that little shepherd with a bigger guy and the other bigger guy nearby tries to mark it on teh boundary far too often. We all know its happening, opposition knows its happening and Brisbane picked it off time and again. Be interested to analyse the game and see how many scoring shots the lions generated from those mistakes - wouldn't suprise me if it was 5+. The huddle and find space worked a few times but looks like we ran outa legs to execute that later in the game.

Walker - showed why we need to play him every week. Can turn a game and inspire the team (and himself!) to a victory. Also far easier to ride him and show him things to work on for some of the efforts (or lack thereof) in the first 3 quarters if he is doing them at AFL level and left more exposed because of it. Needs to play every week. His effort at half-back in the 1st (I think?) where he collected in traffic and broke through the pack and delivered a wide handball to a running player in space also showed his instinctive, skillful footy ability.
Tippett - bit worried about Tipsy. Without sitting in the goalsquare he seems to be struggling to find the footy. Needs to really learn to work smarter and present present present. Not harder, though that wouldn't go astray, but smarter. My brother recently got back into playing footy in the amateur league after not playing since primary school. I went out to watch him and he was busting his nut chasing from pack to pack. Just had no idea where to go and sit off the pack/contest and get easy possessions or already be in position for the next contest. I see Tippett playing CHF in the same way - really doesn't know where to go to be the next option. Doesn't help that we always seem to go over the HF leaders (as with Tex earlier in the year and as someone mentioned with Gunner this game when clear a few times). One piece of play where he lead up, marked, turned and delivered to Tex was a moment for the future. Look forward to plenty of that for the next 8 years folks :)
Porps - whats up with him? Struggling to be a constant presence for us at the moment.
Edwards - thanks for the memories mate! Unfortunately you just aren't as evasive as you used to be and you don't (can't?) run more than 3 or 4 steps to avoid tackles and its costing us atm. Please strongly consider a mid-season retirement mate.
Maric - needs support. Need a 2nd ruckman in to spell him more and allow Tippett to learn his forward role.
Goody - decent game. Type of game you would expect from him this year, bit more focussed on the harder stuff and less about winning a ton of footy. Also lacking a bit of distance in his leg.. Not as convinced he can go around again this year as I was a few weeks ago.
Macca - gold. Fades as the games to go but does enough early and consistnetly chipping in and out of games to prove his worth. Sit him forward all next year and he can go again. His left foot goal on the boundary was 'right in front of me ' (god that comment comes up alot these days!) and just pure class.
Gunner - showed some promise. Like to see him kept in for at least 2 more.
Cook - has a future but time for a rest as guys are coming back and he has a few things to work on. Confidence to attack the footy without worrying about team instructions would be a good one - best place SANFL for that for mine.
Mackay - great to have him back. Fantastic first quareter and faded but that was to be expected. One of our prime movers and showed it.
Thommo - showed his value again IMO. Few errors but his work in close to break the ball free was priceless as always.
VB - very good game though I must say I didn't notice him as much as his stats indicated he had it when at the ground. Needs to keep that form level up!
Dougie - great game. Love to see him running towards goal to win or use the footy rather than sitting under it or leading to it, very damaging player which offsets his occasional blunders for mine. Possibly one of the most damaging on our list.
Rutten - very good game for a guy who had 5 kicked on him. I'm still not as happy with our zone structure as i was last year after the bulldogs game. Felt we allowed for a bit more 'manning up' at the back end of the zone last year that really made a difference. Truck was exposed a few times last year by Fev playing cleverly off the back and zone and one on one i reckon Truck would have had him covered (as he did most of the day).
Bock - coming back into some touch, still a long way to go but Brown may have just played him back into some good form. Seriously brownie - take a few weeks off and get you're body right. You're killing my DT atm.
Dogga - very good defensive game. Like to see Symes given his job soon if he doesn't offer more offensively. Symes just as good with his defensive game but will run forward with abandon as well.
Danger - very good game but still wish he could find more of the footy. Do you think the club wants him to play forward for the majority of his career? He's shown he can do it. But instead of moving him elsewhere with a burst/change if we need it he still seems to be a key part of the forward structure when playing. Surely time to consider more midfield time or HBF if we want to develop him into that star midfielder we all dream/hope he can be? I'm a bit concerned the club maybe feels he won't be (and they may have just cause) and so persist with him up forward for long periods of the game.
Philthy - love his moments with the ball in his area. Just not enough of them atm. Designated sit behind the defense for the switch player atm. Glad to see that meant he had minimal possessions because of it - but as players come back he might need to take a rest. Had a few games, give him a few more and then maybe send him back to work on his ability to find space and run when he doesn't have the ball. Love him though - will be a fantastic player at this club, so smart and so good one on one. Probably come out when Sellar ready to come back.
Stevo - reasonable game, but as someone else pointed out had the easy role of floating defender or 3rd tall. Didn't like it when he went to the ruck, felt Brisbane always looked very dangerous when this happened (not his fault but get in the 2nd ruckman now).
Schmidt - look he has his issues but on the whole loved his efforts yesterday. Played very well and unlike some of the other rooks seems to know where to go/be far better. I reckon he will play out the year which if it happens is a fantastic achievement for the lad. Bit more hardness wouldn't go astray but that can come.
Super Pets - not so super unfortunately. 0 tackles bothers me given the intensity is what is suppose dto be special about him. Might be time for a rest soon when Bernie/Stiffy ready for a rest.
Reilly - solid game. Consistency this year has been outstanding.