To be dropped

Lightning_Mcqueen95

Mar 2, 2009
Footscray
I noticed a few people on here said Addison busted his ass against Melbourne and really tried hard. At times really put the body on the line. Also I have noticed a couple off other players doing the same. Names like Tim Callan, Callan Ward, Harbrow and a few others. Also look at Aker he his playing his best footy. There's no doubt he wants another year.

One thing they have in common is the a noose hanging over there heads. They do not know if they will be dropped or not week to week so the are going at it 100%.

This is why we must put others in the firing line. By that I mean senior listed players. Doing enough is not good enough. There is some very comfortable players in our team.

Form is not a switch you can just turn on when you want but complacency spreads like a disease and makes it really hard.

Eade needs to get tougher in my opinion.

Hypothetically if you were coach who would you drop out off the senior group off player?

Also your thought on the complacency creeping in?

Talk about positivity! We'd be better off talking about who should be retained rather than who should be dropped!

I suspect that dropping players can also have the opposite effect on many players - they are too nervous to take risks, which can be far more damaging.

Complacency? I reckon our players know we've got nothing to be complacent about.. I'm sure Eade is giving it to them behind close doors..

Talk about positivity! We'd be better off talking about who should be retained rather than who should be dropped!

I suspect that dropping players can also have the opposite effect on many players - they are too nervous to take risks, which can be far more damaging.

Complacency? I reckon our players know we've got nothing to be complacent about.. I'm sure Eade is giving it to them behind close doors..

Spot on, players feeling pressure to retain their position duw to players carving it up in the reserves is one thing, it pushes a player to try and do a bit more and play positively.

Threatening to drop players for no reason other than so they feel under pressure simply leads to a team of individuals trying not to do anything that will cost them their place, therefore playing conservative and negatively.

Being dropped can have a positive effect on players. Just as a negative thing like Eade tearing strips off Lake quite often has a positive outcome.

Spot on, players feeling pressure to retain their position duw to players carving it up in the reserves is one thing, it pushes a player to try and do a bit more and play positively.

Threatening to drop players for no reason other than so they feel under pressure simply leads to a team of individuals trying not to do anything that will cost them their place, therefore playing conservative and negatively.

Sorry but which senior player has ever been dropped for someone carving it up in the reserves. Kids have been in and out for kids and guess what they try bloody hard to stay in. Never heard of a conservative and negative player ever retaining there place. In fact more likely to be dropped if you play in that manner especially if the coach is asking for the opposite.

Obviously dropping players is to harsh for you. What would you do to bring us out off the form slump we are in?

I heard a wisper that he is struggling with really bad knees. Can anyone confirm this?

He along with any other player shouldn't be playing if they are not right when we have younger players playing well at Willi.(bad knees might explain why he can't get off the ground)

i'd probably start with dale morris, might add cross, boyd, cooney and griffen to the mix and then get rid of hudson, minson and lake to REALLY send a message...and jeez that murphy character is lucky he got himself injured or he'd be in my crosshairs too.

Sounds good. LOL. But serious you happy with everyone?

Thanks for the input:rolleyes:

We are not getting the same performance out of our senior players as we did last year and maybe some tough decisions need to be made for the good of the team. We are not playing well so dropping a player like an under performing Hahn would help the team.

Sorry but which senior player has ever been dropped for someone carving it up in the reserves. Kids have been in and out for kids and guess what they try bloody hard to stay in. Never heard of a conservative and negative player ever retaining there place. In fact more likely to be dropped if you play in that manner especially if the coach is asking for the opposite.

Obviously dropping players is to harsh for you. What would you do to bring us out off the form slump we are in?

I wasn't specifically referring to Bulldogs present situation, I was plainly stating that threatening to drop players just so they feel under pressure is just as likely to make them go back into their shells.

Negative and conservative means giving the ball off rather than taking on an opponent and trying to create play, or not taking the risk to hit up a team mate in a dangerous position and alternatively going wide to a team mate in a safe position, it means manning up on your opponent in a contested possession situation every time rather than backing your team mate to win the ball and putting yourself in an attacking position to receive it. They're subtle differences that the average footy follower probably doesn't notice and hence doesn't criticise the player for.

I think we'd all acknowledge our selection panel is too conservative, so we don't drop senior players for guys carving it up in the reserves, ie O’Keefe and Skipper. I’d like to see that change, but certainly not to the tune of 2 or 3 each week.

Wholesale changes are naturally too harsh for me, and quite clearly an unnecessary over reaction, especially when we're playing the top team full of seasoned and match toughened players. Check the thread titled "Geelong game is winnable" for my thoughts on how to get us out of our form slump.

I don't know if pressure to be in the side is what makes guys like Callan and Addison play hard. Thats just what Callan and Addison do

I do think Mitch needs to lift. I wouldn't drop him this week as he wasn't terrible on the weekend, and a big body like him is important against Geelong who are so physically impressive, and have big body's almost across the board

I wasn't specifically referring to Bulldogs present situation, I was plainly stating that threatening to drop players just so they feel under pressure is just as likely to make them go back into their shells.

Negative and conservative means giving the ball off rather than taking on an opponent and trying to create play, or not taking the risk to hit up a team mate in a dangerous position and alternatively going wide to a team mate in a safe position, it means manning up on your opponent in a contested possession situation every time rather than backing your team mate to win the ball and putting yourself in an attacking position to receive it. They're subtle differences that the average footy follower probably doesn't notice and hence doesn't criticise the player for.

I think we'd all acknowledge our selection panel is too conservative, so we don't drop senior players for guys carving it up in the reserves, ie O’Keefe and Skipper. I’d like to see that change, but certainly not to the tune of 2 or 3 each week.

Wholesale changes are naturally too harsh for me, and quite clearly an unnecessary over reaction, especially when we're playing the top team full of seasoned and match toughened players. Check the thread titled "Geelong game is winnable" for my thoughts on how to get us out of our form slump.

I can see where your coming from with this but I am not talking whole sale changes.
One thing is there should be in my opinion as this is a team game and that is none negotiables. Team oriented things that we know will never come up in most stat books. I think some senior players seem to want to do these things when they can be bothered. Thats great for them but it can become a habit. Like taking that extra 15mins for lunch or skipping breakfast. Habits are hard to break and thinking that some magic switch will happen this week and we will all off a sudden turn into the teams team and do all the 1% things is wish full thincking in my opinion. That is why to send a message some one needs to be made a scape goat. Who it should be is up to the coaches but a message should ring home and hopefully the player takes it on the chin and we get past this. If not I fear that some players will continue to carry others and unfortunately this leads to a few more losses.
StKilda did this with Nick Delsanto and I can tell you now going by Eades way off thinking if he was in our team he would never be dropped but StKilda did and now they are reaping the rewards big time. Even last year after he came back they started playing better footy.

Well thats my take anyway. Hope it makes sense.

Was thinking about this last night when Ross Lyon was asked about dropping dal santo last year. I thought it was a shocking decision at the time but the saints won the next week and it did seem to work.

In Dal santo's case though i think it was a case of his work rate and effort being sub par. Not sure if it will help us tho.

Time Will Minson was given the message after his last few games and about time Skipper was given another look in the seniors. the younger brigade such as Higgins, Ward, Addison etc. would bust their asses to be given the opportunity. However after the very lacklustre game against Melbourne the question is what are our coaches doing as regards an attacking and effective approach to goal?

Hasn't taken long to get on the scapegoats!

why is everyone worried about dropping players? I'll tell you why because hardly anyone else on the list has had any experience and i get back to a point i made about rockets contract. the list is getting stale and sometimes you have to make tough decisions for the TEAM not the individual! what if we get injuries to some inform players and the guys coasting along are still in! we then bring in kids(1st gamers) and we are in all sorts! Ross lyon made the hard decision with dal santo and milne and it shook the whole list up! imo it would have the same effect with us! in form-in, out of form-out! woof woof :confused:

To be dropped