saintsrule
Paddy McCartin is 20 and shows heaps more promise than Boyd. Peter Gordon and his cash rule at Western Bulldogs.

LIVE: Hawthorn v Western Bulldogs - Rd 13 - 7:40PM Fri
Squiggle tips Hawks at 68% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 13 Games
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 13
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
yeah injuries are terrible (and Bulldog supporters know all too well).Yeah but when you throw in Shane Birss too you go way too far
Shame about Luke Penny though, he was shaping up like he could have been anything, him and Hudghton were a dynamic combo for a short time.
yeah injuries are terrible (and Bulldog supporters know all too well).
Always liked Birss, gave 100% every time he took the field. Suffered from depression in silence during his AFL career but 'came out' when he went back to the SANFL and was widely respected over in SA too.
Nicky Winmar for a year?Actually did not mind Shane that much, did not mind another ring in we got from another club either, Aaron Fiora, though think we alot more for him then we did for Birss.
Not sure if we have sent anyone good back your way in recent memory if ever though? I see you got Jordan Roughead with the pick you got for Farren Ray, we gave you pick 17 (Cameron Faulkner, who?) for Luke Penny too.

Nicky Winmar for a year?
Cam Faulkner was one of Clayton's special 700 or so first round picks that never made it - didn't help that Clayton declared him the second coming of Andrew McLeod and Cam could do anything on the football field except actually received the ball without fumbling it.

And heap more pressure on him in order to take the pressure off. Sure.Lure the guy with big money (the only reason he would have went specifically there) then expect him to take a pay cut.
Sure.
And heap more pressure on him in order to take the pressure off. Sure.
Trust Luke Everywhere-and-into-everything Darcy to stir the pot, toss pot that he is.
You're insinuating that it's the club putting pressure on him, when in reality it's just former players who would have no insight into the Dogs' salary cap structure or Boyd's actual contract.
I agree.A pay cut. Lord give me strength. This is all on the club. They waved the golden ticket. It's not up to Tom to fix something they did. FWIW I'd do the deal again every day of the week, but calls for the player to fix this are frankly insulting. What poor journalism.
I agree.
There's a little bit of the bizarro going on here. The pressure is not unusual - look at the scrutiny that Watts (and before him Goddard) copped. The Melbourne media loves to shit on #1 draft picks, and Boyd is the first one in Melbourne since Scully took his $6mil and ran. Up until then it was Watts, and before him Goddard. Scully would have had the same if he stayed at the MFC.
But the Dogs and Gordon amplified it by $7million. If he was on $750k we would not have the same criticism. But none of that is his fault.
Is it his fault for not performing? Yes. Is it his fault that the Dogs gave him $7million? No. Criticize him for his footy, but Gordon and the club should be wearing it for the contract. The pressure should not be on Boyd for it.
Yer Paddy has really on the set on fire so far. Hes dominated and won games of his own boot. Thats what we expect from key forwards in their third seasons. They should be winning games for their club otherwise they are crap and should be let go.Paddy McCartin is 20 and shows heaps more promise than Boyd. Peter Gordon and his cash rule at Western Bulldogs.
Totally agree. Moody has had a brain fart and frankly, to suggest that it is Tom Boyd's responsibility or moral duty to make room for Hurley is ludicrous. First it is way to early to make judgements about Boyd's output, second the Doggies horrendous run of injuries should not be a reason that Boyd needs to "hurry up and develop".
Dogs know what they are doing and so far it is working. Maybe the injuries will mean 2016 is not their year but they should take the 5 year view, not panic because the club had one particularly bad night.
Paddy McCartin is 20 and shows heaps more promise than Boyd. Peter Gordon and his cash rule at Western Bulldogs.
Yer Paddy has really on the set on fire so far. Hes dominated and won games of his own boot. Thats what we expect from key forwards in their third seasons. They should be winning games for their club otherwise they are crap and should be let go.
By what measure do we judge that? We, and the Bulldogs, don't have enough sample size to know whether he's performing. If the Bulldogs bought Zaharakis and his output dropped from 24.6 disposals to 19.5, you could attack him for lack of performance.Is it his fault for not performing? Yes. Is it his fault that the Dogs gave him $7million? No. Criticize him for his footy, but Gordon and the club should be wearing it for the contract. The pressure should not be on Boyd for it.
If you're not paying very close to 100% on your playing list, you're mismanaging your cap. If you're at the bottom floor, front-load contracts so you have more money available in future years. You don't get credits back for unused cap space.This.
Media sticks to it's stories despite the facts in most cases.
Dogs members know that the reason we paid much of Griffen's salary was because it was the way to pay 92.5% of the salary cap (after the movements of Griff, Higgins and Cooney who were on pretty good cash). We were way under.
Boyd's salary is being heavily front loaded (again, salary cap room), and will drop substantially when other young stars are ready for renewal.
Can anyone believe that the club hadn't worked this out in advance?
Well, the media doesn't get it - or chooses to ignore it.
Never let the truth stand in the way of a sensationalist article.
If you're not paying very close to 100% on your playing list, you're mismanaging your cap. If you're at the bottom floor, front-load contracts so you have more money available in future years. You don't get credits back for unused cap space.
Did I say that peanut? All I'm suggesting is that Paddy McCartin in his second year is showing more promise than Tom Boyd is in his third. Nor is Paddy on a long term multi million dollar deal. There is a significant disconnect between the terms of Boyd's contract and his performance.
You have to ask how is this situation going to affect contract negotiations with Bontempelli, Stringer et al in the near future. Will they be happy to accept less money than they would get elsewhere, just to prop up Boyd's contract?
I stand corrected. Cheers for the linkOn this, I believe you do.
From The Age: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...nded-exessendon-recruits-20160301-gn7ne6.html
"Under equalisation rules introduced in 2014, clubs can spend up to 105 per cent of their salary cap in any given season, provided they have underspent in any of the previous two years."
I stand corrected. Cheers for the link
What is wrong with you? What a weirdo.Bulldog fans sook and whinge more than any other fans on bigfooty when posters criticise their players. Is it a product of a small town team with no flags since the 60s? Strange.
Did I say that peanut? All I'm suggesting is that Paddy McCartin in his second year is showing more promise than Tom Boyd is in his third. Nor is Paddy on a long term multi million dollar deal. There is a significant disconnect between the terms of Boyd's contract and his performance.
You have to ask how is this situation going to affect contract negotiations with Bontempelli, Stringer et al in the near future. Will they be happy to accept less money than they would get elsewhere, just to prop up Boyd's contract?
Bulldog fans sook and whinge more than any other fans on bigfooty when posters criticise their players. Is it a product of a small town team with no flags since the 60s? Strange.
I live in MelbourneEr, speaking of small towns, how's all the umm, cousins, Jim Bob?
Besides, I think childish incest comments are best kept in the bay