Tom Boyd

That's just bullshit, Boyd was the highest rated young key forward since Tommahawk, he was a better Junior than Paddy.

Had an interrupted final year. Was better than Boyd as an underager. Full season it would have been more evident IMO. But then again goals kicked and Champion data points aren't exactly what I'm talking about either.

Seems like Boyd was the instigator.

""The club is strongly against any form of violent behaviour and is extremely disappointed in the actions of both players, particularly by the actions of Tom." "while Boyd will undergo "appropriate counselling"."
NAh- I reckon it was like they were disappointed someone with a sensible name and good looks could stoop so low as to hang out with a battler like Cordy

Seems like Boyd was the instigator.

""The club is strongly against any form of violent behaviour and is extremely disappointed in the actions of both players, particularly by the actions of Tom." "while Boyd will undergo "appropriate counselling"."

That is worrying to hear. The Bulldogs drafted this kid to kick goals and win matches. At present he isn't even capable of doing either in the VFL. Now he is starting fights against his teammates. The decision to draft Boyd on a very high salary - when he was largely unproven - will go down as the worst decisions by an AFL club in recent times.

If you are actually going to look at the contract
So effectively this suspension changes nothing except a bit of chicken feed out of Boyd's pockets

In the same mold as Krakour's '6 week suspension' from Port Adelaide while nursing a broken jaw

What do you want? Port reviewed whether Krak had any involvement in the altercation and it seems that there was no fault on his part. The suspension was essentially for being out drinking while he was injured. Meanwhile Hodge got a fine for DUI.

That is worrying to hear. The Bulldogs drafted this kid to kick goals and win matches. At present he isn't even capable of doing either in the VFL. Now he is starting fights against his teammates. The decision to draft Boyd on a very high salary - when he was largely unproven - will go down as the worst decisions by an AFL club in recent times.

The Bulldogs didn't draft him mate.

Why isn't he capable of doing that in the VFL? He isn't available for AFL selection, he is for VFL

They didn't actually draft him, but I still respected the Dogs for taking such a large risk with Boyd with the trade. You don't see those kind of moves much from the smaller clubs. I still think he will come good. He is just a dumb 20 year old at the moment. We've all been there.

What do you want? Port reviewed whether Krak had any involvement in the altercation and it seems that there was no fault on his part. The suspension was essentially for being out drinking while he was injured. Meanwhile Hodge got a fine for DUI.

So I ask in the spirit of fair play.
Hodge punished the max by police for the crime he did.
Hodge punished the max by hawthorn, but not suspended for any games.
Would port have done the same to Boak ( any other player you wish to use ) if all the circumstances were identical?
No fan would say their club should if it was their team involved.
The drink drive culture would hardly be impacted by standing down a player. Not one person in the world would stop, think well I've had a few best not drive because so & so didn't get to play.

They didn't actually draft him, but I still respected the Dogs for taking such a large risk with Boyd with the trade. You don't see those kind of moves much from the smaller clubs. I still think he will come good. He is just a dumb 20 year old at the moment. We've all been there.

Mm, I don't remember my $1m/yr salary as a 20 year old.

Lol seriously Bulldogs fans are a punch of pussies. Always keen to put the boot in but when its their turn they have a cry

Still remains to be seen farm boy. As for not kicking goals or taking marks in the VFL, you are wrong there. Every time he plays VFL he looks twice as good as the three defenders they put on him. He is not even 21 yet, third season of AFL. Dogs took a risk paying an unproven player that huge salary. But time is on his side. Has heaps of ability. All of this shit will be forgotten about next week.

You buys something for $20. To pay for it, you give the cashier a $50 note. You get $30 in change from that $50 (following so far???). Just because you got $30 in change, it doesn't change the cost of the item. Think of Treloar as the $20. The 2 1st Rd picks plus the 3rd rd pick (68 or something like that) is the $50 you used to pay. The pick they gave back to you (28 I think) is the change. The figures I used are not indicative but the principle is that you paid for Treloar with 2 1st rd picks and got a 2rd in return. To say you didn't pay 2 1st rounders is just wrong- even my 5 year old can see that

I insinuated nothing of the sort. It may surprise you to know that there is more than 1 Bulldog supporter posting on this thread. Perhaps you should try reading it again

maybe you forgot what you said.

That's my point

This isn't a dig a Port or the Bulldogs or the Hawks. It's about how much these internal suspensions are dictated by the standing the player has in the team.

Boyd currently playing VFL - OK, we can suspend him indefinitely because won't effect the seniors
Krakour gets his jaw broken - OK, he's out for 6 weeks anyway, might aswell 'suspend' him til he's right to go
Hodge - Captain and top 5 in the club - Ok well we need him out there, let's slap him with a wet lettuce leaf

If it was Stringer who got into a fight, doubt we'd see an indefinite suspension
If Krakour's jaw wasn't broken, he wouldn't have gotten six weeks
If Hodge was one of those players in the 20-25 bracket in and out of the seniors, he'd be suspended by the club

and yes Adelaide has form all the way back when Bock clocked his misses and got 1 game suspended by the Crows

It all stinks

So I ask in the spirit of fair play.
Hodge punished the max by police for the crime he did.
Hodge punished the max by hawthorn, but not suspended for any games.
Would port have done the same to Boak ( any other player you wish to use ) if all the circumstances were identical?
No fan would say their club should if it was their team involved.
The drink drive culture would hardly be impacted by standing down a player. Not one person in the world would stop, think well I've had a few best not drive because so & so didn't get to play.

Ken has previously said quite publicly that he has chatted to players in quite negative terms for getting suspended before (I recall Westhoff in 2013, Hartlett (can't 2014). If Travis Boak had been suspended twice and then got pinged for DUI, yes I would expect a suspension even if it was a final. Let's be real, if a fringe player did what Hodge did, he would probably be at another club right now. Again Krakour is a pretty good example. By all accounts his only fault was to be drinking while injured and he was slammed by the club.

Only 1 threatened to retire if not traded- the other said he would honour the contract he signed. 1 would honour the contract, 1 would not. How do you not see that distinction?
On that, I'm not saying the Bulldogs were perfect as we did approach a contracted player (albeit one you were possibly planning to trade away later).

Have you just changed what happened in your head? Boyd said he would have waited 12 months and gone home then, Griffen said they're was no way we was coming back and he'd retire if we didn't trade him. You can't dispute these facts, it's what happened.
Pfft such one eyed bias.

If you cant see they are exactly the same then the joke is on you.

Oh wait not the same.
You actually paid Griff for us last year.
Griff actually is best 22 unlike Boyd

And now

Griff hasnt been suspended by the club.