Tom Boyd

What about your club?

Do you mean Gold Coast ;)

Will be a very interesting trade period for them. In the first couple of seasons you would have said they had the future midfield set and a very promising young ruck in Smith but jury out on the KPPs. Now KPPs looking pretty good but no ruckman and Bennell, Prestia, O'Meara, 3 players who looked sure thing mids at the time could be all gone over two off seasons. It will take a while to build a premiership standard midfield in the position GC is currently in I think.

Knocking on the door of the 8 next yr IMO.

Dodoro is a gun recruiter. Keep feeding him draft picks (and don't let him trade for players like shotgun Williams and Cooney)

I can see us being like Richmond, with a gun top 5 players which are surrounded by mediocre. Example Rance Martin Deledio Cotchin Riewoldt vs Hooker Heppell Parish Merrett Daniher. Really need to strengthen our bottom 6 or add more guns to that top 5. Dustin Fletcher's son is eligible for draft next year lol

Wow you really are a .

Freo Offered 600k

It's says 600 plus so you think he decided to go to the worse club in the league and not go home for the same money?? Or even a tiny bit more?

Stop being an arrogant flog and accept logic and not some garbage that was put in that rag that makes cr@p up. It was well known Clarke was on near 800k so get over yourself.

By the way your now on ignore don't bother responding
Can you please provide a link with Freo's said offer to Clarke? Because everything I've ever seen has been $600k at Melbourne. Please keep in mind that $600k per year at the time this deal was done was at the upper end of the leagues pay scale.

Unless you can actually provide some evidence that Melbourne offered $800k, or Freo offered $600k, your argument amounts to 'lol they offered that much because I said so'. That's not a particularly strong argument tbh.

Edit: oh dear, you've ignored me. What a weak as piss way to end an argument you're losing.

I can see us being like Richmond, with a gun top 5 players which are surrounded by mediocre. Example Rance Martin Deledio Cotchin Riewoldt vs Hooker Heppell Parish Merrett Daniher. Really need to strengthen our bottom 6 or add more guns to that top 5. Dustin Fletcher's son is eligible for draft next year lol

Chalk and cheese IMO. Richmond are shocking traders and recruiters. Worst drafting in the league IMO. Picking guys like Merrett with 25, Heppell. Parish, etc. well set. (In some ways might not be bad to get some nice picks for Hurley;)). On the other hand Tiges would be crazy to trade their guns as they'll only screw up their drafting.

That's true we might have a couple seasons that elevate us into top 4 contention, especially if we get pick #1 right.

Although are all irrelevant when there is a player like Marcus Bontempelli walking around. Is the most talented player in the comp by a mile. Also in my top 5 players purely on this year. I guarantee he will win a norm smith medal one day (winning side, I cannot guarantee).

Do you mean Gold Coast ;)

Will be a very interesting trade period for them. In the first couple of seasons you would have said they had the future midfield set and a very promising young ruck in Smith but jury out on the KPPs. Now KPPs looking pretty good but no ruckman and Bennell, Prestia, O'Meara, 3 players who looked sure thing mids at the time could be all gone over two off seasons. It will take a while to build a premiership standard midfield in the position GC is currently in I think.

Don't rate Tom Nicholls as a ruckman, now that he's finally having a relatively injury-free run at it?

Read the post with the initial ratings. Regardless of how his AFL career has tracked so far, he was extremely highly rated as an underage player and it would be wrong to argue otherwise.

It was actually a loaded question, one of the people responsible for that article was the bloke at Melbourne who was responsible for round 1 gems such as Toumpas, Gysberts and Lucas Cook.

Sobering thought, isn't it.

It was actually a loaded question, one of the people responsible for that article was the bloke at Melbourne who was responsible for round 1 gems such as Toumpas, Gysberts and Lucas Cook.
Pretty much every recruiter in the competition would have taken Toumpas in the first couple of picks, hips ruined his AFL career.
Boyd is getting there, is making good position which is more than we can say for pretty much every other KPF we've drafted in the past two decades.

We weren't. Just believe it.
Wright and Cockatoo were the ones we were going to take it's been bandied around by at least 2-3 posters on the board.

Umm no we don't take it personally it's simply a moronic argument for so many reasons.

1- no bulldog fan expects him to be playing like a million dollar player. We are not stupid enough to think he is worth that bit getting him to the club was about more than him being a footballer.
2- he is 19 years old for god sake!!
3- we have everyone signed up we have lost no one due to his contract and won't.
4- if he bombs he bombs we had a crack that's all we care about
5- why is it only a couple of clubs rest care about this kid???
6- we don't care!!!
Actually he's 20 years old and turning 21 in about 3 weeks so fast forward to this time next year when Boyd is still struggling and the masses will be coming even harder for Boyd .
If your going to say if he bombs he bombs that's OK at least we had a go then it's OK to say we ****** up by signing him to a long term ridiculously priced contract . But this thread is still going strong because you doggies are defending the club at every turn trying to justify what has been the biggest blunder since us signing Dale Thomas . But that's footy .

Signing Boyd wasn't a blunder. He's a 20 year old key forward. He's tracking fine for someone that age, I would absolutely take him the way he's developed.

Who is worth that much money then, and were they available at the time?
Can all the people bagging Tom Boyd not see any signs at all? Can't see any potential at all?
If that's the case then you are totally obsessed with the deal and are desperate for him to fail and this is blinding you.
Dogs didn't get him and expect him to dominate straight away because... surprise, surprise - history tells us that the big guys take time.
I'd argue that Tom Boyd is actually going backwards in his development has he improved at all since joining the dogs ?
Serious question I think I saw more promise and possibly results from him in his short time at gws ? Yes he had a pretty good game 2 weeks ago with 5 marks and 3 goals but other than that has their been actual improvement ?
Just an observation from an opposing fan that has been keeping a keen eye on your massive investment .

I'd argue that Tom Boyd is actually going backwards in his development has he improved at all since joining the dogs ?
Serious question I think I saw more promise and possibly results from him in his short time at gws ? Yes he had a pretty good game 2 weeks ago with 5 marks and 3 goals but other than that has their been actual improvement ?
Just an observation from an opposing fan that has been keeping a keen eye on your massive investment .
You must accept that opposition supporters don't watch the Dogs as closely as Dogs supporters. Dogs supporters are best equipped to judge him - because they have the most information - and the vast majority believe he is tracking fine.

I have opinions on most Carlton players but my opinion isn't as valid as yours because you watch them more closely and have more knowledge at your disposal.

You must accept that opposition supporters don't watch the Dogs as closely as Dogs supporters. Dogs supporters are best equipped to judge him - because they have the most information - and the vast majority believe he is tracking fine.

I have opinions on most Carlton players but my opinion isn't as valid as yours because you watch them more closely and have more knowledge at your disposal.
Thats actually another topic do supporters rate their own players more highly than their actual capabilities . When it comes to trade week discussion for instance which im sure is most likely starting in earnest on your board as is on ours , although maybe not yours because unlike us you have finals to think about . Their seems to be an over evaluation of what a player may be worth on the trade table compared to the reality of what will most likely happen if a certain player is traded . My point is supporters can be blinded somewhat in defense of or evaluating how a certain player is going . You are right in saying i havnt watched boyd as closely as what most supporters from your club would have , although this year i have taken a bigger interest in him and i just havnt seen improvement to any degree that id be happy with if i were you . Time will tell on this one and i will be a keen observer of how boyd tracks in the future .
Cheers .

Thats actually another topic do supporters rate their own players more highly than their actual capabilities . When it comes to trade week discussion for instance which im sure is most likely starting in earnest on your board as is on ours , although maybe not yours because unlike us you have finals to think about . Their seems to be an over evaluation of what a player may be worth on the trade table compared to the reality of what will most likely happen if a certain player is traded . My point is supporters can be blinded somewhat in defense of or evaluating how a certain player is going . You are right in saying i havnt watched boyd as closely as what most supporters from your club would have , although this year i have taken a bigger interest in him and i just havnt seen improvement to any degree that id be happy with if i were you . Time will tell on this one and i will be a keen observer of how boyd tracks in the future .
Cheers .
You're probably right about the over valuing but that's another matter. I watch Boyd, often at the expense of the game and I haven't missed a Melbourne game for 10 years. I would consider myself a Boyd expert, as there wouldn't be many who have seen more of him than me. You can tell me to get stuffed, but trust me, he'll be fine. He's improved absolutely heaps this year. I'm rapt in him and in 2 years he'll be a great player.

Pretty much every recruiter in the competition would have taken Toumpas in the first couple of picks, hips ruined his AFL career.
Boyd is getting there, is making good position which is more than we can say for pretty much every other KPF we've drafted in the past two decades.

I'm of the same opinion as Trav, the doggies did the right thing back then in going for Boyd. The deal itself was a good idea, obviously his salary was a bit over the top, but the thinking of it was sound. They needed a big key forward and Boyd was the target.

But to say that at u/18 level he was the best of his generation is just plain wrong.

You're probably right about the over valuing but that's another matter. I watch Boyd, often at the expense of the game and I haven't missed a Melbourne game for 10 years. I would consider myself a Boyd expert, as there wouldn't be many who have seen more of him than me. You can tell me to get stuffed, but trust me, he'll be fine. He's improved absolutely heaps this year. I'm rapt in him and in 2 years he'll be a great player.
Get Stuffed! :p

Kurt Tippett didn't make his AFL debut until he was a couple of months short of his 21st birthday.

Kurt Tippett was a poorer player in his debut season, where he was 21 (ie six months older in equivalent terms to what Boyd is this season), than Boyd has been this year. Boyd is averaging more goals, marks, frees for, tackles, than Tippett was in that year.

Tippett tracked okay after that below par debut season. Which, in that season, he was older than what Boyd is this year.

Boyd's performances this year are also arguably better than Hawkins' 4th year in his career, where he only kicked 21 goals from 18 matches in a top 4 team. Hawkins turned 22 in July of that year, ergo was 15 months older than Boyd in this season.

He's tracking completely fine.