GEELONG
I would be interested to see other people Top 5 favourite Players:

Mine are as follows:

Matty Egan - I really love watching this guy play the game. He is one of the most committed footballers around the club and is more than happy to put his body on the line to benefit the team. I.E His Debut. Round 1 V Richmond.

Looking forward to Matty developing into an All Australian CHB. IMO, he will overtake Harley as our second best defender.

Jarad Rooke - Likewise with above, he is a team player and is very hard at the pill. Most people/teams underrate which only helps his cause.

Brad Ottens - Endless amounts of talent. I am just waiting for the day it all clicks and his season is injury free. If he plays well, Geelong wins. It really is that simple.

Gary Ablett - Excitment plus, how can you not love this guy?

David Johnson - Refer to Rooke and Egan. Would be one of the first players i would pick in my team.

I agree with you that Egan will eventually overtake Harley as the premier second backman. Even before Tommy got injured i used to cring when Tommy Gun would do his little chip kicks that more often that not turned the ball over.

Don't get me wrong, I love the bloke and he works great with Scarlo, but I reckon Egos will develop to become an even greater player.

Top 5 favourite , mmm. a bit difficult, I suppose it depends on what characteristics one appeciates more than others.

Bravery is always impressive
Ablett, Milburn , Bartel , Ling : these guys have shown often the ability to put themselves under the pump, to back into a pack, keep your eyes on the ball is always brave act in my eyes

Game breaking skill , the type of demonstration that few players can do and fewer players can do when the side needs them to do it. Goals,Marks, assists
The Ablett name is the personification of this type of play.
Gary Jr, Kelly, Dog Johnson, Chapman

Reliability and ability to stop players from the other side
Scarlett, Ling , Rooke . Scarlett is Scarlett. The best FB, Ling and Rooke can shut down top players yet still play offensive on ball role play

Tough and hard at the Ball ( and the man)
Mooney, Chapman , Dog Johnson, Milburn have all shown some nasty grit

there is probably others but from this I seem to be saying :
Ablett, Johnson,Chapman,Ling and I'll throw in Scarlett because he is the best in the AFL

In no particular order (and a bit of guessing due to the fact everyone that plays for the Cats are my favourite players)

Cam Mooney - Love his aggressive style.
James Kelly - He's a bit of a laugh.
Gary Ablett - Growing up saying the name "Gabby Ablett*" you gotta like his son.
Steve Johnson - FREAK!!
Tom Harley - Nice guy.

* Yes, thats how I pronuned it back in the Senior days.

thehoff said:
Jarad Rooke - Likewise with above, he is a team player and is very hard at the pill. Most people/teams underrate which only helps his cause.

I bet Pavlich and Robertson don't rate him as highly as you.

I rate the defensive onaller role that Rooke plays very highly.

I believe he is extremely vulnerable as a defender on the last line.

1. G.ablett - Things just happen when he's near the ball
2. S.Johnson - Freakish ability and genunine matchwinner which we lack
3. M.Scarlett - Hardest spot on the park and he never fails to give it his all
4. J.kelly - Such class and talent which was evident during 2005 finals
5. C.Mooney - Showed how much the club means to him after swans game, great bloke a well

not sure how Ottens could be ya fave player, sure he can play and be a matchwinner at times but he is no chammpion, maybe needs to look at what Mooney has acheived and things may happen for him, lets hope he delivers somewhat this year

ahhh in no real order...

Scarlo - Love to see him running through the middle with his opponent (ahem Lloyd when kingsley kicked 7) pulling his socks up in the square

Ablett Jnr - Gotta love his heart and soul he puts into the game and his 'x' factor

SJ - Its SJ

Ling - L'oreal.. BEcause im worth it! Love the hair and his engine, heart of our team

Bartel/Kelly - Cant seperate them.. Kelly makes fun of Ling but Bartel... geez i'll never forget that mark vs bulldogs 2 years back.. sensational.

della said:
not sure how Ottens could be ya fave player, sure he can play and be a matchwinner at times but he is no chammpion, maybe needs to look at what Mooney has acheived and things may happen for him, lets hope he delivers somewhat this year

Someones favourite player doesn't need to be a champion della, how does that work?? One of my favourite plaayers a few years back was Rahilly.. he put all he could into the GFC and always put in 110%. Trained hard, worked hard but just couldnt cut it with the best but in no way does a player have to be a champion to be someone's personal favourite player, thats just wierd.

My old favs were,

G. Hocking (loved his loyalty, way he played the game ((shoulda won a couple Brownlows at least)), and i thought i'd better have a different fav player to my mum, who of course was obsessed with Gazza), and once upon a time I was totally devoted to one with the initials LC, but we all know how that turned out... and i will always have a soft spot for Paul Lynch.. could have, would have been...

Current players would be: (in no order either)

- Bartel (for obvious reasons, that may not all have to do with footy!)
- Mooney (more than just about his abiltity and passion, have heard really good opinions of his character, etc)
- Linga, cause he's def a real character (please we need to see more of him on "Before the Game"!)

1. Enright - Good barometer for the club - When fit and firing we win.
2. Chapman - As honest a footballer thats out there.
3. Milburn - Unlucky not to make AA last year
4. G.Ablett - New tagging rules will suit this year - in for a big 2006
5. Kingsley - Our key forward and will be till someone else can kick 50+ a year - Get off his back

cats2rise said:
ahhh in no real order...

Scarlo - Love to see him running through the middle with his opponent (ahem Lloyd when kingsley kicked 7) pulling his socks up in the square

Ablett Jnr - Gotta love his heart and soul he puts into the game and his 'x' factor

SJ - Its SJ

Ling - L'oreal.. BEcause im worth it! Love the hair and his engine, heart of our team

Bartel/Kelly - Cant seperate them.. Kelly makes fun of Ling but Bartel... geez i'll never forget that mark vs bulldogs 2 years back.. sensational.

Forgot Dasher..... But cannot see who I would kick out.. ahh its all to hard. Since Benny left i still havnt decided which number to get on my jumper. I have slashed all the players down to about 7-8 and cannot decide.

1. Paul Koulouriotis - *blink*
2. Darren Milburn - dunno why I've always liked him, but I do.
3. Cameron Mooney - he plays with such passion it's impossible not to get into the emotions of a game when he does well.
4. Tom Harley - he never gives up. ever. and there's always room for an extra 10% effort at the end.
5. Ryan Gamble - surprise, surprise. :)

In no particular order...

Scarlett...he's just a gun
Gazza Jnr...see above
Dasher Milburn...cool, calm, collected, and angry when needed :)
Moondog...when he is on song, it's just great to watch
Jimmy Bartel...love his courage

Mooney: when the blokes hot he is commanding and can play just about any role on the ground.

Ottens: would the tiger supporter be sooking so much if they gave away a dud. His performance against Port last year was sheer brilliance and hopefully what we will see alot more of in 2006 and beyond

Chappy: in and under in tough situations and his defensive work in the forward 50 arc keeps opposition defences on their toes.

G. Ablett: his game busting goal against the Saints last year in traffic was pure Ablettness. He is a player who is a lynch-pin in geelong's premiership ambitions.

J Corey: even though this bloke won the B&F I still thing he is underated by a lot of Geelong fans and AFL fans alike. Workrate and drive out of the middle is fantastic

Scarlo: I know this is only supposed to be 5 players, but the bloke is simply the best reader of the ball in flight in the league. He makes the impossible look easy and has been Geelongs #1 defender for a very long time.

della said:

I am assuming he was one of your favourite players against Port Adelaide last year.

Brad is one of the keys to our side. When he plays well, we usually win the game. That, accompanied by his brilliant tap ruck work are the reasons Brad is within my favourite players catergory.