Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 2 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

Why would there have been an offer he has done sfa for 3 years.

Take the last two weeks out and the best he was getting from any team was a rookie spot or the Suns maybe having a sniff.

They are not lining up for Bailey Dale who has straddled to get a game in a mid table team.

Couldnt disagree more that he has done sfa for 3 years, its the most bullshit narrative running on this website (sorry if im coming a little hard at you in this post its just everyone here seems to have a rage boner for dale)

he was our most improved player in 2017, played several really good games for us and has genuine goal sense. His 2018 and 2019 have been marred by injury, and the last month has been his first real clean shot injury free at least for this year. He dominated the VFL to get a call up and has since kicked 9 goals in 2 weeks. Itd be mindblowing to get rid of him when we have some much much more prime candidates to let go

I think with regards to Keath we would have to do some real due diligence.

Really only have a very small sample to go by. Not sure if he's played 30 games over the last 3 years and majority in one year. He's 27 already.

How was he going in SANFL when not playing in the seniors?

Keath is mature aged recruit because he was originally playing cricket after being a junior playing footy. His first few games at afl level in 2017 he looked bad. SANFL he continued to play well in, then this year because he had the oppurtunity he has played immense for the crows, and has been in All Australian contention - although I personally think with the crows slumping he'll miss

Couldnt disagree more that he has done sfa for 3 years, its the most bulls**t narrative running on this website (sorry if im coming a little hard at you in this post its just everyone here seems to have a rage boner for dale)

he was our most improved player in 2017, played several really good games for us and has genuine goal sense. His 2018 and 2019 have been marred by injury, and the last month has been his first real clean shot injury free at least for this year. He dominated the VFL to get a call up and has since kicked 9 goals in 2 weeks. Itd be mindblowing to get rid of him when we have some much much more prime candidates to let go

Haha go your hardest mate it’s no issue with me and don’t apologise for an opinion.

Ok let’s say two years he has done next to zero then

His stats from 2017 are average at best with one really good game so with 2017 being as bad a year as it was probably says his competition for that “award” wasn’t much.

Yes he has been injured but he has been fit all of 2019 and stunk it up until the last couple weeks

Ps I do not understand why some people translate ripping the VFL up to being successful at the top level. A lot of players rip the VFL up because that’s where they belong.

Happy to keep him but I wouldn’t be sighing a long term and around the 150-200k mark.

Couldnt disagree more that he has done sfa for 3 years, its the most bulls**t narrative running on this website (sorry if im coming a little hard at you in this post its just everyone here seems to have a rage boner for dale)

agreed - lots of posters on here have very short memories

He has the skill set we have been crying out for. He was always going to take some time to develop and have an impact at senior level

I think this is going too far in the opposite direction. I was on the fence regarding Dale at the end of 2017 (his best year to date) and he didn't impress me much in early 2018 before his foot injury (6 goals in 10 games). Apart from a reasonable game against West Coast he was pretty ordinary when given his chance (and fully fit) earlier this year. There was unanimity here that he had to be dropped after the Carlton game (Rd 13). And he was.

Credit to the lad for taking the message on board in the VFL, applying himself and then seizing his chance when recalled for the second time this year. He could turn into a long term good player.

However he needs to keep performing. Let's see how he plays the season out before saying he's a lock in the 22.
The signs are certainly much better for him right now than they were in mid-year.

Dale has always had exactly what we have needed which is a bloke who will take his opportunities when presented with forward 50 opportunities. His 2017 season before his injury he was very good in a few games that year.

Id love the club to get this one wrapped up pretty soon. Like others have said his injury was serious so he is only now getting some consistent footy into him. Would we rather lose Dale or Williams out of the Baileys? Not that I want to lose any of them

Just look at who you're replying to. That'll tell you everything you need to know.

Maybe Dale is the new Jong?

Dale has always had exactly what we have needed which is a bloke who will take his opportunities when presented with forward 50 opportunities. His 2017 season before his injury he was very good in a few games that year.

Id love the club to get this one wrapped up pretty soon. Like others have said his injury was serious so he is only now getting some consistent footy into him. Would we rather lose Dale or Williams out of the Baileys? Not that I want to lose any of them

My preference would be keep both Dale and Williams.

With the events of yesterday regarding Moz and I’m not convinced Suckling’s body will give us what we need going forward I think Williams should be retained.

As for Dale I just want to see what he offers when he’s not hitting the scoreboard. As I am critical of our forward coach and the way the way the forward line functions I feel Dale can be very good in a structured forward line that is cohesive.

I would be disappointed if we don’t keep Dale. He has had an inconsistent career so far, some good games, some very poor. Let’s not forget however he has played less than 50 games and is only just building his body and tank to the required standard. The skill and forward nous is there, just needs games and a good run at it injury wise.

It is easy to forget how hard AFL is for most players and how long it takes to become a consistent performer.
I feel it would be a shame to put all the development work into to him for someone else to reap the rewards.

Im happy to say that maybe Im overstating Dales ability, but we really are a team crying out for natural goalkickers and to Dales credit, he is one of about 4 that I could genuinely say knows where the goals are. The people saying we should let him go are going overboard considering his foot injury which can be as significant as ACL's depending on the severity - and that we should enjoy his good form while hes got it back and hope he retains it instead of throwing him away for what hes worth now - a packet of chips and maybe a sausage roll

My thoughts on Dale are known, my belief in him has not waned but my belief that Bevo would give him just another go and use him right did. He would play ok, then go missing again, gets dropped, as he should, and then i just hope he gets another go. I'm over the moon that he has shown these past 2 weeks what he can bring if he is being fed the ball and what i always knew he could deliver.

I believe you take what a player has and play to those strengths with a hope to developing their weaknesses. Rather then focus on the weakness and if they don't fix it over night get rid of them. I hope it is a new understanding and not just by chance that he has been getting into a position that is not best for him, but best for his team mate to get it out to him. The 2 marks he took on leads this week suggests that it is indeed an understanding, normally he would have went to the open clear side not lead at the carrier. This is why he goes totally missing in games, he is in the best position for himself, not the bloke winning it. If you are not going to win it yourself, you have to make it easier for the team mate who does to find you. I'd say that is a greater weakness he needs to work on over becoming a hard ball get menace like Clay smith.

We are chock a block stacked with ball winners, some of the best and some of the most promising, and we need finishers... Dale is a finisher.

Whats going on with Jong?
Back playing VFL, in the typically Jong style. Will do something only 1% of AFL listed footballers can do, then something that makes you shake your head.

Whats going on with Jong?

He's been playing VFL the last few weeks, didn't this week with the bye. I suspect there's an agreement that he's not in contention to play AFL for his benefit, to keep any stress off him and just let him play and enjoy himself.

Wouldn't shock me to see us trade Jong. I still think he has some currency (a 4th rounder at absolute best, more likely just a meaningless pick upgrade) but he's struggling for opportunity in our side, and has been with us for a long time now. Someone like Essendon, Carlton or Gold Coast would likely find a space for him in their 22, and we'd have the list space to upgrade an extra rookie or speculate on an extra mature ager later in the draft

No real big fish available this year so what i would like to see.

Henderson from Geelong. Reckon it would only take a 3rd rounder at best and maybe 400k. Looks done at geelong and handy stop gap.
Butler from Richmond. Reckon he is only a 4th rounder and only need to give him 900k for 3 years. maybe 600 for 2 with a 3rd year optional.
Maybe a hartley as a DFA
Brad Hill would cost to much draft wise reckon it would be 2 1st for Hill and a 2nd as he has 2 years on his contract.

Would be happy to take a chance on S. Hill as a free agent if $$$ aren't to high high.

Take best available with our 1st pick ideally kpp if no so be it and maybe best small forward 2nd pick.

End of next year i would hope we have a massive go at King/Moore/Cameron in that order.

We should be finals next year and entering a 3-4 year window. Plenty of $$$ available and would have 2 1st rounders as a starting point available to trade.

Given Dale looks more likely to be retained now instead of delisted/traded, thought I'd go through my predicted senior list changes this year

OUT:
Dale Morris (retire) :'(
Callum Porter (delist/trade for peanuts)
Fletcher Roberts (rookie list)
Liam Picken (retire)
Tom Boyd (retire)
Lukas Webb (delist)
Matt Suckling (retire) OR Tory Dickson (retire) - doubt it's both

IN:
Jack Martin (downgrade our 1st or find a pick at end of 1st round / start of 2nd round)
Michael Hartley (free agent)
Isaac Smith (3rd rounder)
Lachie Young (upgrade)
Pick 10 - Fischer McAsey
Pick 28 - Elijah Taylor
Later pick (assuming we spend all of our 3rd rounders on various trades) - Emerson Jeka, Mitch Georgiades, Sam De Koning, Ben Kelly. Any of these guys would be decent gets I think, depending on how they go for the rest of the year and where our other pick lands

I think these INs are realistic. No delusional massive pickups, just realistic players who fill needs on our list (Martin as a crafty forward, Hartley as a KPD, Smith for outside speed and on-field coaching during games).

The ones I find hardest to pick are Suckling and Dickson. Both look very near the end, but I also wouldn't be surprised to see one of them stick around. More likely Suckling, but he may want to pursue punting in the NFL before it's too late. Roarke Smith might be delisted, but he's on the rookie list anyway

Love Bailey dale. Always thought he would end up being the new Stevie J (Stevie J the forward not the midfielder). He ahs suffered from being thrown around too. now he is playing in his best position and I'm loving it.

I think this is going too far in the opposite direction. I was on the fence regarding Dale at the end of 2017 (his best year to date) and he didn't impress me much in early 2018 before his foot injury (6 goals in 10 games). Apart from a reasonable game against West Coast he was pretty ordinary when given his chance (and fully fit) earlier this year. There was unanimity here that he had to be dropped after the Carlton game (Rd 13). And he was.

Credit to the lad for taking the message on board in the VFL, applying himself and then seizing his chance when recalled for the second time this year. He could turn into a long term good player.

However he needs to keep performing. Let's see how he plays the season out before saying he's a lock in the 22.
The signs are certainly much better for him right now than they were in mid-year.

It’s like I was the only one that said Dale wasn’t up to it lol.

And 2 good half games against bottom teams proves Dale has made it.

Give the bloke a 10 year 10 million contract for 4 west of good footy in 2 years.

But forget the sarcasm I’m actually happy for the kid as I’ve said many times he has the tools just looked like he wasn’t going to use them. Let’s hope he continues to trend upwards as you said

Love Bailey dale. Always thought he would end up being the new Stevie J (Stevie J the forward not the midfielder). He ahs suffered from being thrown around too. now he is playing in his best position and I'm loving it.
Imagine how good he'll be when he hits puberty!

Wouldn't shock me to see us trade Jong. I still think he has some currency (a 4th rounder at absolute best, more likely just a meaningless pick upgrade) but he's struggling for opportunity in our side, and has been with us for a long time now. Someone like Essendon, Carlton or Gold Coast would likely find a space for him in their 22, and we'd have the list space to upgrade an extra rookie or speculate on an extra mature ager later in the draft
I can't see us trading a contracted player suffering mental illness,imagine what that would do for team moral?

You assume he's suffering a long term mental health issue. He only took 2 weeks off footy, and has been back for close to a month now (would be over 4 months by the time of the trade period). I am not suggesting Jong be dangled around as trade bait, but that he may recognise that he'll struggle for games going forward, and therefore we may help find a suitable home for him, much like Roughead last year