Trade/Delistings/List Management 2010 Thread

Re: NRL 'converts' and salary cap

what?

i was saying that the only difference between falou and hunt compared to quinn, pyke and mcnamara is the big money that the NRL converts are getting paid compared to a Gaelic footballer, and Canadian rugby player and an american basketballer, yet nobody seems to be up in arms about the OS players getting on lists.

i know they are international rookies, but with GC getting an extra 10players on their list, more kids will get a chance anyway!

FWIW now that Melbourne is in Super 15's i wont see any point in watching League.

...because there is no need to be up in arms about it :rolleyes:
Your post implied that people should be, or that you are, a bit crook that these foreigners have taken places on the lists of some football clubs that Aussie kids have some predisposed right to.

I can certainly understand people being up in arms about the amount of money being thrown at Folau and Hunt. Two things:
1. I don't think anyone can blame either of them for accepting the money. Who wouldn't?

2. I think the people who are crook about it are those who are annoyed that they have to separate footballing ability from business. Unfortunately sometimes the big picture eclipses the immediate smaller one.

As I've mentioned before, once free-agency comes in, guns like Ablett, Judd and co will be demanding the same if not more. The AFL may have shot themselves in the foot I reckon. I can see less wealthy clubs hurting from the cost of the two signings in the long run. It was only a few years ago that Melbourne players were being asked to bring their own ice to training!

oh yeah, the games in such bad shape we can afford to spend millions poaching opposition codes stars, how terrible the state of the game must be.

What an odd conclusion to draw, that because we are so much more financially dominant than the other code, that we're in trouble. Odd.

As for it being a slap in the face for every kid working hard for his shot, what a load of unmitigated twaddle! They are two list spots! Two! Talk about puerile histrionics.

If the game is grown, there is actually more money to go around, for junior football etc.

I seriously can't understand the angst about this, it's remarkable

Exactly :thumbsu:

Re: Dons, Tigers armed for raid

I can't believe how many morons read the Herald Sun. I would love to see Griffen in an Essendon jumper though.

Don't take this the wrong way, Bazzar, because you make an interesting point, but I don't think end of season stuff is on our radar ATM. Our season is still about making finals, yours is about list development, so naturally your focus will be on improving your list.

We've been there as well.

Don't take this the wrong way, Bazzar, because you make an interesting point, but I don't think end of season stuff is on our radar ATM. Our season is still about making finals, yours is about list development, so naturally your focus will be on improving your list.

We've been there as well.

You make a good point :)

By the way, is does shit me the disrespect certain journos show not only us, but you lot as well.

For "former power clubs" we both have more flags in 50 years than Collingwood...

Lol... since about 1938, its 3 to the Pies and 16 the both of us. They really are a powerhouse... How does that bit in their club song go... "Oh, the Premierships a cakewalk" classic.

Those against signing these two-mega names are incredibly short-sighted. We are in NRL territory and this is a MAJOR coup to have the face of our two new franchises as renoun NRL converts. Do they deserve the money? Course not. Should the AFL being doing it anyway? **** yes. The marketing value of these individuals far outweighs having any AFL player moving to Sydney or the Gold Coast.

In fact even if Goodes moved from the Swans to the GWS ... he still wouldn't be as big as Folau.

FWIW, when the article came out, I tweeted this to Jon Ralph: ''Essendon a ''former power club''?? What planet are you on Ralph?''

And then he replied: ''Think I described them as a power club. Didn't realised they changed it''

I guess by ''they'' he means his editors. God I love it when somebody replies to my baiting on twitter.

Re: Bombers chasing Dangerfield, Boak, Sidebottom

Of course Essendon would be chasing these kids - all Victorian, all yet to enter their zenith, all quality in the making. They'd be stupid not to be asking questions. Actually landing them though...well I can only speak for Dangerfield here, but the chance is so slim I wouldn't imagine it registers as a chance in any reasonable metric.

When all is said and done, how many legitimate high quality footballers up and request to leave their clubs producing "dream trade" situations like this? Springing to mind are Judd, Hudson, Burgoyne and Jolly in the past what, 4 years? Fact is unless a club wants to get rid of someone, you're rarely going to find much on offer in terms of classy footballers. We -know- that Adelaide, Collingwood and Port would do everything in their respective administrative powers to keep their aforementioned young stars at their clubs; keeping this and hence history in mind, I'd be surprised if either of the three reached the market. Just Hutchy slapping another cheap story together.

Whilst I reckon we can land Boak or Sidebottom there are some players starting to really show signs of being that elite midfielder.

Myers - After injury problems he's been able to string together games and is pretty damn exciting to watch.
Jetta - Could be absolutely anything have loved his work since getting back in the side
Licka - Running machine but is much a confidence player
Melksham - Star in the making extremely silky
Howlett - Reminds me of JJ with his run and carry.

Watson is elite in the way Ling and Kirky are and Stantons needs to lift another level to start doing that famous number 5 some justice.

When you consider that Collingwood are on the precipice of a flag and Adelaide have got a very good side (forget the injury influenced ladder, they are capable of playing brilliant footy at their best by their 2009 form), the only player of the three I reckon might want to leave is Boak.

Whilst I reckon we can land Boak or Sidebottom there are some players starting to really show signs of being that elite midfielder.

Myers - After injury problems he's been able to string together games and is pretty damn exciting to watch.
Jetta - Could be absolutely anything have loved his work since getting back in the side
Licka - Running machine but is much a confidence player
Melksham - Star in the making extremely silky
Howlett - Reminds me of JJ with his run and carry.

Watson is elite in the way Ling and Kirky are and Stantons needs to lift another level to start doing that famous number 5 some justice.

Of these named, Winderlich is the only one close to the mark. Almost agree re: Watson, though I still hold my breath when he kicks... likewise Stanton.

I hate arguments about phrases like 'power clubs'.

Rather be 'successful club'.
Which we, right now, are not.
Let Pies' supporters continue to be happy with biggest profit, most attendances, blah blah blah. The club is there to win football flags, not turn huge profits.