Trade or Draft?

Latest rumour doing the rounds,

Josh Toy to Essendon for Cale Hooker & pick #37. Sounds about right given Hooker's current form.

I doubt that would be anywhere near the money Sunny_, Hooker is entrenched in our best 22 whilst Toy is struggling to stay on the list. Would only be a sentimental trade, sure your second rounder wasn't suppose to be included in that trade? that might even the ledger.

Unfortunately have to agree, even though I would love an outstanding trade to present itself for Toy, the kid has played 13 games in 2 years and averaged 3 disposals a game this year... Ummm doesn't present itself as the best argument to obtain much in return!

Ran into Liam Patrick at the Gold Coast Show on Friday. Said he was playing with the Suns again next season. Was there with his misses and son, the kid was going crazy with my daughter on the bouncy castle. Bit of useless information ;)
Good luck to him, I must admit that I am surprised that he has managed to get another contract

Agreed, seems as likely as the Caddyfor Hooker and Pears trade, both are highly unlikely.

Unfortunately have to agree, even though I would love an outstanding trade to present itself for Toy, the kid has played 13 games in 2 years and averaged 3 disposals a game this year... Ummm doesn't present itself as the best argument to obtain much in return!

If the fact is true and he will come to Essendon, then perhaps a token trade might be on offer. Say our pick 37 for your pick 54(?) + Josh Toy. That way both parties dont lose out per sey, Toy gets to come home and Gold Coast are adequately compensated.

Hard to say mate. On paper he has the goods, a solid 6ft running backman... Hard at it, with a good footy brain. Never seemed to reach match fitness at the Suns, injury, home sick, family issues, heart/head just not in it... Who knows, but a new club has proven time and time again to be the motivator for many fringe players. And there should be a few Vic clubs willing to give him a contract. You never know, maybe a combined Caddy/Toy trade may be struck and we see them "flying up, up...?" ;)[/quote]

saw that in the paper too. they wrote the article saying he's gone, when the suns website/fb page posts an article saying they won't trade him.
Sorry to intrude but He was never all-australian that make the article BS in the first place
it's just a reporter trying to get his name in the news if you do try to trade him i don't think there will be any buyers and you would have to keep him or pay him out

What do posters think about us bidding on Viney with our pick #2? As a tough inside mid who has been playing VFL for half of this year, definitely suits our needs.

Melbourne have already dedicated to pick him up as a F/S, but they may not be willing to part with a first rounder for him. Man, the media reaction if Melbourne didn't pick up Viney would be insane! :eek:

Also, Kennedy has yet to re-sign with the Swans. If we could get him through a trade or somesuch... :eek:

no chance we would get him.. id love to see it but sydney would be crazy not to offer him a new contract

Also Stevens from the WCE still not getting a game. Tough inside mid that is a few years older than standard draft age, so has a couple of AFL pre-season in him. Could suit our needs definitely.

i like the idea of trading for players. but we have to cut a minimum of 7 players.. will we cut more? or trade more?

We'll definitely trade to get at least one player, of that I have no doubt.

Kennedy is a bit of a pipe-dream, but I really think getting someone like Stevens could be achievable, and very desirable if we do end up losing Rischitelli. Our inside mids plummet again. Would free Swallow and Ablett up a bit.

Also, Silvagni from Freo continues to be in trade talks. I hope we're in the hunt for him still.

What do posters think about us bidding on Viney with our pick #2? As a tough inside mid who has been playing VFL for half of this year, definitely suits our needs.

Melbourne have already dedicated to pick him up as a F/S, but they may not be willing to part with a first rounder for him. Man, the media reaction if Melbourne didn't pick up Viney would be insane! :eek:

If we did bid then Melbounre would have to take him with the No3 pick, or forfeit the rights to him, They would be pissed I reckon.

As a conspiricy option this could be a card to play if Caddy decides to leave and enter the PSD, we agree not to take Viney and Melbourne make it clear that they WILL pick Caddy up, proventing him from getting to a prefered club if he nominates one. Hard ball I know

Who would be interested in him?
I guess there is a possibility of one of the final 8 teams this season wanting Brennan on a 1-year contract to fill a void and giving them an edge for a grand finals berth in 2013? The old country footy theory of buying a premiership!

In a strong team, with stronger players around him, I believe he could be a far more effective player. He is a confidence player, and losing every week doesn't seem to suit his playing style ;)

Saying that, I don't think he will go anywhere by choice, only if the club wants rid of him. Media hype.

Sorry to intrude but He was never all-australian that make the article BS in the first place
it's just a reporter trying to get his name in the news if you do try to trade him i don't think there will be any buyers and you would have to keep him or pay him out

Brennan capped off his 2008 season with a top 5 placing in the 2008 Brisbane Lions club championship and selection in the Australian International Rules squad.

Brennan was first identified as a potential AFL talent during his All-Australian performance at the AFL National Under 18 Championships and was co-captain of the Northern Territory side

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jared_Brennan

i think the article has more credibility than you are giving it..

Being selected in the International Rules squad isn't the same as the AA squad, Tiger. They're very different things.

oh. i guess the scribe looked up the wiki like i did. on the side of the page it says "international team honours" 2008 australia. so either he is unaware of the difference, as i was, or he used some 'journalistic licence' to slightly sensationalise the story.

the restof the article has quotes from bluey ie; "McKenna said he had given Brennan enough time to prove his worth. As a senior player it's fair to say we expect more from Jared and he has certainly been given enough opportunities to show us that he deserves to play," he said.

sounds like the end to me....

we wont have long to wait to find out.....

As a conspiricy option this could be a card to play if Caddy decides to leave and enter the PSD, we agree not to take Viney and Melbourne make it clear that they WILL pick Caddy up, proventing him from getting to a prefered club if he nominates one. Hard ball I know
I reckon Melbourne would be rapt with that one. They could get Viney & Caddy & we'd get nothing. No thanks.

Poorly explained I grant you that, from my perspective we aren't going to get Viney anyway, I was thinking more along the lines of making the teams after Caddy cough up more in the draft to prevent him going into the PSD by having Melbourne declare their hand before draft week, plus if you think about it and a deal can't be done during draft week, Caddy to Melbourne is a likely outcome anyway unless GWS pick him up or we redraft him.

Trade or Draft?