Trade Time

• Thread starter Thread starter wooshta_9

ImperialPurple said:
Thompson (a former avid Port supporter) wants out of MFC and back to SA. Maybe a three way deal? It would mean sending someone that the Dees want to them, to get Thompson back to SA and Josh back to Freo.
Ports success may hinder your chances of gaining Carr. This article states that last nights PF win will make him rethink what to do at the end of the year. You can understand why it would with all the emotion involved after the final siren. Anyway heres the link:
http://www.footygoss.com/modules.php?op=modload&name=News&file=article&sid=14282

Port Adelaide's spine-tingling win in last night's preliminary final will weigh heavily on mid-fielder Josh Carr's mind as he prepares to make a decision on his future.

Speaking to Channel 10 after the heroic win over St.Kilda, Carr said the emotional win could impact on his decision about his playing career.

"Everything adds up and they're the things I have to weigh up at the end of the year," he said.

Carr has been strongly linked to making the move to Fremantle next year to join brother Matthew.

Before his season ends though, Carr has one more appointment to make, the AFL Grand Final.

"To get to a grand final is a great achievement," said Carr, praising his team for their committed effort in beating St.Kilda. "It was a real team effort, everyone put in."

Although jubilant after the win, Carr spoke of the need to improve before next week's clash.

"You always want to play in a grand final, but we still have got a lot of work to do," he said.

Port Adelaide will meet the winner of tonight's Brisbane and Geelong clash in next weekend's Grand Final.

I think that what that says is actually not very much at all. JC is playing his cards very close to his chest. I do not presume to know what he may or may not be thinking... But I would guess that a premiership may make it easier for him to come home. He will have achieved the ultimate with the Paps and he may feel it allows him to leave. However, a loss may mean that he stays to complete his "unfinished business".

So I am left in an agonising dilemma... Do I support PA so that Josh may come - or do I barrack for Brisbane in their efforts to go for 4 in a row (assuming Brisbane gets there)???

Fortunately (or unfortunately) who I barrack for will make no difference on the outcome whatsoever. ;)

I would love to have JC at Freo, but it won't be the end of the world if it doesn't happen.

Just out of interest, lets say that Carr stays at Port and Stengline goes to West Coast, who would you want Freo to go after then?

rgauci said:
Didn't think either of Dunn or Murphy could be traded after their 1st year, unless their are exceptional circumstances.

Why would Dunn accept Port as his destination given he's homesick from vic. Seems a little odd.

It can be done, Port traded Barry Brooks after only 1 year on the Port list.

What about Troy Simmonds for Heath Black. You get your midfielder and Saints get a Ruckman.

:confused:

I think alot of clubs would be lining up for Simmonds....sure he played FF this year, but is a better ruckman, & would be leading ruckman at alot of clubs in Melbourne & Sydney. He is Freo's Number 1 trade bait option & we would be stupid not to get the best offer possible...but I'm thinking he may be involved in a 3 or 4 way deal....possibly Simmonds to Sydney, Saddington to Richmond, Ottens to Port Adelaide, Carr to Freo?

West Coast Stre said:
What about Troy Simmonds for Heath Black. You get your midfielder and Saints get a Ruckman.

I have actually gone a bit cool on trading Snake. After watching the finals and seeing the imense value of "power forwards" like Tredders , Lynch , Brown , Revolt , G-train , BBBH , and even Jason Ball ,and the relative non events of the goal sneaks.
I am starting to think that maybe Snake is our best option for the moment if we want to win finals.

Midfielders are relatively easy to come by , but those big muthers are fairly rare.

Ripper I think you have apoint there, losing Snake may be a short-term option that hurts us down the track.

It appears tho Simmonds is being eagerly sort after and if as it seems he is wanting more money which we cant\wont match he'll make valuable trading currency.

The midfield is where we need work and work soon or finals appearances may not even happen.

Schwabby being the horse trader has some valuable Snake meat to play with. Ideally he can use it to get us Carr cheaply (assuming he wants to come home) or if he doesnt facilitate Stenglein to get home to the Weevils - Kerr, Braun, Morrison maybe prised from the nest.

Heath Black maybe an option but I'm unsure whether hes what we really need and whether you'd want a swap with him for Snake. I think a high draft pick maybe valuable too since we dont get one til ~11.

But my major concern is can we afford to lose Snake ? It really leaves our forward zone vulnerable and particularly CHF where we suffered all season. Pav can go forward to CHF but that leaves a midfielder short, so we really need a Carr, Simon Black etc in the middle to help us out.

Snake leaves a ruck. JLo and 211(he isnt ready yet himself, cant mark and cant really play around the ground) so they cant really cover both positions and Murphy might not be ready yet either. So Snake maybe worth more here at Freo than away. Perhaps 211 is the trade ? (I'll get flamed on that comment) :D

If Farmer goes back to Demons we need another forward option, maybe Armstrong if hes available at the right price.

This trade period is going to be interesting and critical to CC's future.

West Coast Stre said:

Have thought about that one Streaker... Black for pick 28 would have been a more attractive option for us... *mutter, mutter, incompetent managers and stupid fax machine....*

I also see Ripper's POV too, although Simmo at 26 is not getting any younger and I believe that we'd be better to develop a FF rather than use him as a stop-gap. He has trade value, sometimes you have to use whatever advantage you have, rather than waiting then "taking whatever you can get".

McPharlin could play FF very well I believe (Polly has CHB covered), Murphy will be 20 next year and will hopefully add a few kilos over the summer, so he's a possibility too.

Maybe Murphy at FF, McPharlin at CHF, Pav roaming around the forward 50 - try matching up on that! Then Black could fit nicely into the mid-field. But JC would have to be the priority I would think.

The idea of McPharlin playing forward is interesting but exactly what experience has he up there. Polly at least played FF at the Sharks and was the leading goalkicker in the WAFL one year. I think I'd perfer Murphy when ready at FF, Pav at CHF and McPharlin @ CHB and Haddrill at FB. We have one too many KPP's, tho Pav's stay at Freo is questionable.

Polly to Weevils for Kerr. A hard trade to imagine doing but its a win-win for both sides. Our midfield is what needs work, getting first use of the ball and getting the forwards some opportunity to kick goals.

McPharlin is better suited to CHB, but so too is Polak, & McPharlin, at least McPharlin, CAN play forward, so I'd start him there. Would like to see Freo pick up Brad Smith, I think he is a guranteed 3 goals a match FF. Trade Farmer, as Medders plays better when he's not there.

To get Smith him we would have to pick him at with pick #11, & take the risk!
Simmonds would bring us Carr in a probably a 3 or 4 way deal. Then we could leave Murphy in the Wafl to develop with the odd game, move Pav forward with Carr & Armstrong going there & possibly Dylan Smith improving. All of a sudden we then have Medders, Smith, Pavlich & McPharlin as our goalkicking options.

We have to take the risk & get Smith at pick 11 though, if we don't risk the pick then, we may lose him to Wet Toast or another club. Smith is only 25, very experienced & could slot straight into Afl...I rate him very highly.

Freo Shark said:
The idea of McPharlin playing forward is interesting but exactly what experience has he up there. Polly at least played FF at the Sharks and was the leading goalkicker in the WAFL one year. I think I'd perfer Murphy when ready at FF, Pav at CHF and McPharlin @ CHB and Haddrill at FB. We have one too many KPP's, tho Pav's stay at Freo is questionable.

Polly to Weevils for Kerr. A hard trade to imagine doing but its a win-win for both sides. Our midfield is what needs work, getting first use of the ball and getting the forwards some opportunity to kick goals.

McPharlin played all his underage footy as a forward and was recruited to the hawks as a key forward (so I believe).

Polly to weevils for kerr... wash your mouth out!

ImperialPurple said:
McPharlin played all his underage footy as a forward and was recruited to the hawks as a key forward (so I believe).

Polly to weevils for kerr... wash your mouth out!

I know and my fingers barely let me type it but wheres our biggest problem...its our midfield clearances and where do we have currency...Polly and weevils ....Kerr. Snake gets us J.Carr in a 3 or 4 way deal with picks maybe.

Imagine Haselby, Bell, Schammer, Kerr, Carr - small but effective gatherers.

Freo Shark said:
Imagine Haselby, Bell, Schammer, Kerr, Carr - small but effective gatherers.

Too many short people. Dont forget we should have a fit Matt Carr next year and the very impressive One Melle Dodd to fit in next year as well.
This W/E has convinced me that we are not that far off. The thing we had in common with both the winners of the PF's was that even though they were both smashed in the inside 50's they managed to stay in the game and win.

We were much the same. Usually very efficient when we had the ball but didn't quite get enough of it to get over the line a number of times.

I would rather look at who has performed or not performed in big games like the EF & round 22 against the saints and assess who has the will to put in.

Other wise will will end up with a bunch of highly skilled front runners that go missing when the big games come around.

I think ripper has hit the nail on the head. We are not that far off. The key, in my mind, is releasing Pav to play forward, possibly CHF. Also McPharlin to play FF, interchanging with Pav at CHF. Simmonds to land us Carr and the rest to develop.

We should also pick up 2 young midfielders with our 1st and 2nd picks. At a glance i'd like freo to grab Priddis and Swallow. Priddis can make an immediate impact and Swallow left in the WAFL to develop.

Wholesale changes are not needed. The above is fairly simple, and should see us break into the top 4 with a bit of luck.

rgauci said:
The key, in my mind, is releasing Pav to play forward, possibly CHF.

Dead right. That means a better midfield effort which may improve with a fresh approach from a proven midfield coach (Broadbridge).

Our defense is very solid, we have numerous talented KPP & small options for the forward line. The one bugbear is connecting the ends which should be the easiest to correct.

Plugga said:
We have to take the risk & get Smith at pick 11 though, if we don't risk the pick then, we may lose him to Wet Toast or another club. Smith is only 25, very experienced & could slot straight into Afl...I rate him very highly.

I doubt that anyteam would entertain the thought of picking him up with a first round draft pick. Maybe a late round pick but it seems we already have an overabundance of key position players, even if they aren't able to nail down a forward spot.

Our lack of team balance is what is keeping us from playing our best tall in his favoured position, and running Polly into poor form. We should trade at least one of our talls for a midfielder for the sake of team balance but the idea that once he leaves he will become a superstar is holding us back.

So who goes? With all our underdeveloped talls it seems slightly absurd that we would trade away our most physically imposing and aggressive tall. Snake has had a pretty good learning year at fullforward. Kicked a few against Scarlett and is one of the better shots for goal. And still has the potential to become a power forward.

There are various reasons for keeping all of our tall stock but some hard decisions will be made. I wouldn't oppose the Polak for Kerr idea or the Murphy + something(not Dunn tho) for Carr proposal.

One thing I'd like to see is Daniel Gilmore playing in the midfield.

I think we've all mentioned our midfield as being the key to improving and sending Pav forward. But in so doing we further weaken our midfield clearance issue. Where we are differing is seeing another solution.

Without a functioning midfield our whole performance is under threat, instead of getting drive and opportunities for Medders\Farmer or Smith(assuming we draft him) to kick goals we are on the back foot defending and putting ourselves under continual pressure. How many games did we see this season where we broke down in the midfield and didnt get the clearances (has anyone seen how we rated on our clearances) and if we did kick forward we put our half forward line under pressure. Pav might help the issue either at CHF or HF.

Look at Brissy they have Voss, Black, Lappin, Akermanis and Power all top 10 AFL midfielders. We need to bolster that area with the likes of Carr and Kerr. Mind you I think Splinter is more a winger than a defender but thats a whole different thread.

Plugga said:
To get Smith him we would have to pick him at with pick #11, & take the risk!
Simmonds would bring us Carr in a probably a 3 or 4 way deal. Then we could leave Murphy in the Wafl to develop with the odd game, move Pav forward with Carr & Armstrong going there & possibly Dylan Smith improving. All of a sudden we then have Medders, Smith, Pavlich & McPharlin as our goalkicking options.

Smith at 11, god uv got to be joking. I reckon we should take him with our 3rd round pick. He'll be around at bout 40 - 50 i reckon.

And with the midfield guys remember we've got a fit Luke Webster with a full pre-season under his belt next year. Webby will add a lot of toughness and bite next year mark my words. he has potential to burn and will be a very good player for us next year if he can get his knees right.

Doubt very much Smith will be there near pick 40 & beyond...for the sole reasoning that there is a dearth of key position players in this years draft & available via trades...all clubs are crying out for a tall marking forward. If we dont get him early, we can kiss him goodbye...Snake is not the answer at FF, Murphy maybe, but is 2 years away from holding that possie.

Like the Polak for Kerr option though...

Smith has made it clear that he's happy where he is and won't move to Victoria or South Australia, so unless a club is willing to take a huge risk, he'll be there for us with our third rounder.