• Thread starter Thread starter wooshta_9

Interestingly I have said a couple of times that I could see one of either:

Simmonds > Richmond
Ottens > Port
Carr > Freo
(+ a draft pick or two changing hands in there somewhere)

OR

Simmonds > Richmond
Ottens > Adelaide
Stenglein > Freo
(+ draft pick or two moving around as above)

Ottens apparently wants to go back to SA, we need that missing mid-fielder, and Simmonds is:
(i) not a FF
(ii) 3rd in line ruckman
(iii) surplus to our needs atm imo...

Another I can see being put on the table is Jimmy Walker ( :( :( :( ). His trade value would be at its highest right now. Everyone knows him as the "guy who runs 100m in 10secs, winner of the GF sprint by the length of the straight". He has also had probably his best year to date, including keeping Judd quiet and burning off him to kick a goal in the first derby. He may never have this worth again as he has been, at best, a solid contributor over his career prior to 2004.

Snake and Grandson are both Vics... I think they will both be on their way home in Oct.

Wouldn't mind seeing Snake go if we can get something good in return, but for sentimental reasons more than anything else, would like Jimmy to stay.

T. Lo is definitely going to Victoria according to ch9. I wonder how we'd use him in a trade? He wouldn't get too much on his own, but if we combine him with Simmonds...

RIPPER_46 said:
I just wonder if the Lo's are still a package deal.

Id take both in a second ...

Id prefer justin cos we need a ruckman, but troys a handy flanker ...

id offer whitnall + 2nd round pick ...

i reckon win win but the rumor is a swap for wirrapunda to eagles ... we dont need another back flanker, so i hope we go for a ruckman.

Don't think the dockers will be doing any trades for KPP. We already have one of the most talented talls list in the AFL. The only tall we are missing is a traditional FB.

Though i think you'll find that one of our picks may recruit such a player.

Basically looking for midfielders and it seems both Stenglien and Carr may be available. Freo will probably be trying its hardest to secure one if not two of these.

tiger of old said:
3 way deal:
Ottens->>>>>Crows->>>>>>Stinglien->>>>>>Freo->>>>>>Simmonds + Crows Pick 8->>>>>>>>Rich.

cheers!

Then the next part of the deal would be:

Stenglein>>>>>>>>>Well the f**k away from Fremantle

RIPPER_46 said:
I just wonder if the Lo's are still a package deal.

How about trading that imposter of a footballlayer known as sandilands instead, i would never trade any of the longmuirs if is was up to me .
Call me an idiot which you probably will but i just don't see what you see in Sandilands he is a bit like scott muller . cant mark ,can't run can't jump!

tico said:
How about trading that imposter of a footballlayer known as sandilands instead, i would never trade any of the longmuirs if is was up to me .
Call me an idiot which you probably will but i just don't see what you see in Sandilands he is a bit like scott muller . cant mark ,can't run can't jump!

What did Sandi cost us? he is hardly a big budget player that cost us a #1 draft pick. Worth sticking with I rekon. Doesn;t have to play every game, but certainly worth keeping.

tico said:

Chill out tico, I was just having a tongue in cheek dig at the Lo's manager who was trying to make Justins resigning dependant of whether Shortmuir got a gig a while back.

P.S. Statisically according to Champion data 211 is the 171th best player in the league. Considering that on any W/E 352 players take the field , I thought that was pretty good for a 2nd year ruckman.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,10657174%5E19742,00.html

RIPPER_46 said:
Chill out tico, I was just having a tongue in cheek dig at the Lo's manager who was trying to make Justins resigning dependant of whether Shortmuir got a gig a while back.

P.S. Statisically according to Champion data 211 is the 171th best player in the league. Considering that on any W/E 352 players take the field , I thought that was pretty good for a 2nd year ruckman.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,10657174%5E19742,00.html

sorry dude you are right, i am still really ********ed off with the 2004 season and its hard to let go . But he will never be a player i will like,hope he proves me wrong but i don't think so. i think keeping simmo and j longmuir in the ruck is all we need and having him as a distant backup would be fine. if we traded him wouldn't mind a bit. why if true are we persisting with potential coaches who are failures i.e the west today???

As an outisder i'd say go for armstrong. you'd probably pick him up for a 3rd rounder too, so he'd be worthwhile to give a go, by the way how is dylan smith going?

tico said:
why if true are we persisting with potential coaches who are failures i.e the west today???

http://www.dockerland.com/cgi-bin/t...opentopic&topic=9490&forum=Docker_Discussions

Interesting thread on todays article.

But that aside, Both Frawley & Swabb coached their team to a PF in 2001. That would indicate that they have something but it got away from them. Sometimes you learn more from failure, i.e. what not to do than having a dream run. If those bloke can honestly identify where they went wrong they could have valuable input. I liken it to someone who starts a business and goes broke, they usually come back the next time a lot wiser and more successfull.
Although it appears scary at first look , it may not be as silly as it sounds.
You only have to look at our own Cameron Swabb who had a failed stint at the Dees before taking us to new heights off field.

As for Peter Rohde he was a successful ASSISTANT to Terry Wallet at the Dogs before he got the senior gig.
As Drummie proved some people are born to be assistant coaches but senior ones.

RIPPER_46 said:
http://www.dockerland.com/cgi-bin/t...opentopic&topic=9490&forum=Docker_Discussions

Interesting thread on todays article.

But that aside, Both Frawley & Swabb coached their team to a PF in 2001. That would indicate that they have something but it got away from them. Sometimes you learn more from failure, i.e. what not to do than having a dream run. If those bloke can honestly identify where they went wrong they could have valuable input. I liken it to someone who starts a business and goes broke, they usually come back the next time a lot wiser and more successfull.
Although it appears scary at first look , it may not be as silly as it sounds.
You only have to look at our own Cameron Swabb who had a failed stint at the Dees before taking us to new heights off field.

As for Peter Rohde he was a successful ASSISTANT to Terry Wallet at the Dogs before he got the senior gig.
As Drummie proved some people are born to be assistant coaches but senior ones.

ok thats the positive perspective of it all i don't belive thats what we need at the club .a losing culture is something that can destroy a club , we cannot afford this any more than what we have. is this a potential risk we need to avoid. :confused:

BlueBoy83 said:
Id prefer justin cos we need a ruckman, but troys a handy flanker ...

id offer whitnall + 2nd round pick ...

This has got to be some sort of sick joke?
Fevola and 2nd round maybe..

Longmuir craps all over whitnall.

The shorter variety is probably around the pick 2 mark tho.

Get off 211's back.

It was only his second senior season and if you have been around footy long enough, it takes 4+ years for ruckman to get anywhere near hitting their straps.

I think people have selective memory with players like 211, Cook and McManus. They remember the bad things but their memory doesn't lock in the good elements. eg. good kicks, one handed marks, shepherds etc.

masai said:
Get off 211's back.

It was only his second senior season and if you have been around footy long enough, it takes 4+ years for ruckman to get anywhere near hitting their straps.

I think people have selective memory with players like 211, Cook and McManus. They remember the bad things but their memory doesn't lock in the good elements. eg. good kicks, one handed marks, shepherds etc.

you are entitled to your opinion as i am. i don't happen to agree with you. simple.....

We need more midfielders to free up Pav for going forward to CHF (adds a focal point and height to help Snake if we can even keep him) so we need a middie who can tag as well as generate some forward punch and another with some speed.

What Freo needs is more midfield clearances and improve our half forward line. 211 is a negative at the moment but will improve, so Simmo to ruck more.

1) Farmer to Dees for Armstrong (small forward or a middie) and $$$ savings.

2) Matty Carr to Port (keeps the Carrs together and must increase Mattys value to a reasonable degree) for Cassisi to Freo and a player suitable to Adelaide for Steinglein to Freo - Steinglein to Weevils for Kerr and our first round pick. Thats on the assumption that Kerr is a preferable trade for Weevils in place of Butler or Waters - seems illogical - but so did some of our previous trades.

3) TLo to Adelaide for their pick 8.

Farmer, M.Carr, TLo out, Freo's pick 11
Armstrong, Kerr, Cassisi in, Crows pick 8

Woods (our own long kick Heath Black - forget the fax) to wing to switch with Armstrong in forward pocket flexibility to go short or taller in the pockets - Grover to cover Splinter.

Pav to CHF with Snake at FF changing with JLo in the ruck. Polly or McPharlin to fight over CHB.

Cassisi to tag and midfield grunt, Kerr midfield speed and clearances

Sorry... but I basically disagree with all those trade options (or at least don't think they are likely).

Freo Shark said:
1) Farmer to Dees for Armstrong (small forward or a middie) and $$$ savings.

Jeff took a pay cut this year and towards the end of the season showed more heart than a lot of others. Actually applies defensive pressure too. Armstrong has really showed nothing. IMO dissappeared after the poor bloke was involved in the Bali bombings. Good luck to the guy but not worth Farmer.

Freo Shark said:
2) Matty Carr to Port (keeps the Carrs together and must increase Mattys value to a reasonable degree) for Cassisi to Freo and a player suitable to Adelaide for Steinglein to Freo - Steinglein to Weevils for Kerr and our first round pick. Thats on the assumption that Kerr is a preferable trade for Weevils in place of Butler or Waters - seems illogical - but so did some of our previous trades.

Cassissi isn't a bad midfielder but he is a stick man. Far from a physical enforcer (which we need). So trading for him and using one of our bigger bodies midfileders to do that is suicidal. I do agree in going for Kerr for the same reason that I believe trading away Carr would be crazy.

Freo Shark said:
3) TLo to Adelaide for their pick 8.

Now your just dreamin'. Maybe a third rounder for T Lo.

IMO we need to develop/draft/trade for aggressive medium to tall midfielders who actually have some skill and develop/draft/trade for a reliable forward KPP. And thats a forward KPP who is a forward and a forward only (i.e. Tarrant, Lynch, Lloyd, Nietz, Hall etc...). I'm really hoping Murphy might be that.

raffrox said:
Jeff took a pay cut this year and towards the end of the season showed more heart than a lot of others. Actually applies defensive pressure too. Armstrong has really showed nothing. IMO dissappeared after the poor bloke was involved in the Bali bombings. Good luck to the guy but not worth Farmer.

Cassissi isn't a bad midfielder but he is a stick man. Far from a physical enforcer (which we need). So trading for him and using one of our bigger bodies midfileders to do that is suicidal. I do agree in going for Kerr for the same reason that I believe trading away Carr would be crazy.

Jeff would be a loss but more and more I believe he'll go, too many pressures on him family, two team town, messiac expectations. Melbourne he can just disappear and not have a hostile biased media focusing on him continually. Basically if the Dees want him so badly then let him go whilst he has some value, he'll be retired soon enough.

Cassisi I dont really disagree with your comments but was a different look on the Matty and Josh Carr situation and how we might use it to our advantage and lever off Ports desire to keep Josh. Cant fathom how Weevils would even think about trading Kerr for Stenglein in preference to Waters and Butler but then if we could get hold of stenglein maybe we could dislodge Kerr or Braun.

johnnypanther said:
Yea they sure have proved that - "traded" a top player (Stevens) for zero :)

sorry mate couldnt resist that - but anyway agree with your comments apart from that last line

Sorry "JohnnyPanther", but I do not see your logic?

Port refused to accept ANY combination of dud players &/or picks, from Collingwood, for Nick Stevens.

They stood firm on the principle, not to accept duds for a gun player, they forced Nick into the drafting game, when he was available to all & sundry, depending on a selection number, most likely the Dogs or Blues.

Collingwood got nothing, because they practically offered nothing

Port received nothing, EXCEPT, the 6 years we had Nick, and the intangibles, all clubs now know Port wont be a trading bunny.

Nick missed out on his preferred destination

Carlton did win out, but Port could afford to let Carlton win, we couldn't afford to let Collingwood win.

One other thing, to all who are suggesting Port needs another ruckman, are, IMO, not looking at the facts.

Port has Primus, Lade, Brogan, Ackland, plus in the team Thurstans & Bishop

I can see the logic of your argument. Port has shown they are willing to cut off their nose to spite their face. So when it comes to trading time you have to make a realistic offer otherwise no deal.

But didn't Choco say they didn't want to give Collingwood a leg up because they are premiership rivals? Does this mean if a player wanted to go to a middle of the range club Choco would be less likely to turn down a bum offer?

For future trading Port cannot afford to keep cutting loose players for nothing. If anything, doing it once (to make you look uncompromising is just a poker play) makes you less willing to do it again. What happens if you lose another player for nothing and have a shaky season (unlikely as it seems now)? The knives will be out for choco saying he is too proud and stubborn.

"Carlton did win out, but Port could afford to let Carlton win, we couldn't afford to let Collingwood win." Howabout the idea that brisbane, St Kilda, Geelong, Sydney, Melbourne, Essendon, Westcoast et al. all win by the fact that Port are now weaker when they could have got something in return. Are not all these other sides a bigger premiership threat than Collingwood. I guess this means that Port are a very proud club and good on you for having ideals.